We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place, the people, the service - perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo Il Monastero
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Ischia
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The place, the people, the service - perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed one night and had a great experience. I need not even mention the wonders of the location - simply look at the pictures of the castello aragonese, and imagine the view from a beautiful, clean room up there. As I have just mentioned it was clean - not huge - but all we needed. The personnel, from the ticket lady at the base of the castle, to the bar staff, the cleaner and the lovely man at the hotel reception were all courteous, helpful and always smiling. Aside from the wonders of the castle itself, the hotel also has beautiful grounds including hidden gardens through which one can wander and rest up in. Furthermore the whole building/construction has been very well restored with informative exhibitions and an interesting insight into the european resoration institute located there. Ottimo!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samoflaherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    55
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
23
202
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I saw the Albergo Il Monastero in an article a year ago about ten little known places where you must stay -- and the article was absolutely correct! What a fantastic time we had here. We arrived on our anniversary and the meal in the hotel was extraordinary and befitting our 41 years of marriage. Wonderful and helpful staff, extraordinary views, relaxing afternoons on the terrace - it was well worth the 105 steps from the elevator to our room. :-) This was a once in a lifetime experience!

Room Tip: Room 21 has a little balcony from which we enjoyed some incredible evenings just sitting and enjoyin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Ischia has escaped us for many years... having first read about it 2 decades ago it's been on my Italy-travel list. Several times we tried taking the ferry from Positano or Sorrento and weather caused us to cancel. Finally I decided to do more than just a day trip and through a friend in Positano (Pasquale Romano - he has the best place to buy ceramics, and is right in the center of Positano - Maria Grazia is the name of his shop) made a recommendation. When I looked up his recommendation, Albergo il Monastero, there was no decision to be made. At first they were full, and I called many times and they agreed to let us take their one suite, one of the most magnificent rooms we've had in our travels.

We made it our first stop, and I'm glad we did. Our flight from Boston was 3 hours late; our layover in Madrid caused more delays; the rental car in Rome had problems; and traffic... allora... il traffico è stato molto intenso!!!!! il Monastero is on a small island off Ischia (with a stone walkway connecting the two. The history of the tiny isle, Castello Aragonese, is fascinating and still unravelling. We dropped the car off in Naples and took the ferry to Ischia and a small cab to il Monastero. It was late, but the manager, Giulio was fantastic. We took the small lift up inside the rock island, and then took a few steps to reception. When we were shown our room, we were torn because although we loved the idea of all that space, we wished we had invited friends to stay with us!

Giulio and the staff were everything you would want or expect in hotel. The hotel restaurant was so enjoyable, we had our dinners there (breakfast included) and found many wonderful lunch spots throughout Ischia. In this review, I am trying to convey a feeling you will experience at il Monastero... it's a very special place run by some very special people. At night, you overlook Ischia and in the morning as the sun rises the views are nothing short of spectacular. It is a place that you will want to relax in, explore, and now and then venture out to see the beautiful island of Ischia and all its healthful mud baths and hidden coves and beaches.. Ischia is more like a fine wine, to be savored and enjoyed, than a glass of limoncello to be drunk quickly (and enjoyed too). A day trip there would be a mistake. I think 2 to 4 days is the minimum one should plan to get a flavor of Ischia, its wonderful people, and especially Albergo il Monastero. You will not be disappointed. here is the English web url: http://www.albergoilmonastero.it/

Room Tip: We stayed in suite l'Altana. 2 b/r, d/r/l/r lg hall and 2 baths. Plus, 2 exceptionally large a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alfredo1898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a six week tour of Italy and it's islands. We'd already been to Capri so this year we decided to stay on Ischia. This place leapt out of the Rough Guide as a great place on Ischia in the Ponte area not far from the port but still quieter. Also when we did our research on Trip Advisor it just seemed the perfect place for the week while we were away that we were celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary and also our birthdays! We weren't wrong. Don't have any illusions about this place. You're staying in what were the cells of the original residents and are such the rooms are fairly sparse and the bathrooms can be really quite tiny. There's a lift that gets you so far and then you walk through and up mostly up the Aragonese Castello to get to the hotel. There are no TVs in the rooms. But the hotel restaurant, the service, the free towels, the discount to the spa, the location, the prosecco! I could go on and on and we really can't thank Giulio enough for his kind and wonderful help during the week we were there! Do you aspire to be the king of the castle? Go stay at Il Monastero!!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms don't disappoint - if your a/c unit is noisy tell them. We did and they fixed it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MTS_London186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

In the summer and fall of 2011 I enjoyed 2 different stays at Il Monastero in Ischia where I found everything I had ever dreamed of in Italy. Loved the quiet place, especially my small blue room with view over the bay and the fishermen in the morning and evenings, the beautiful gardens, the fresh food and most of all the hospitality and friendliness of Giulio and his staff. From the fresh bread at breakfast to well thought dinners, spa tickets, taxis, ferries, reservations, and help with lost luggage. Looking forward to my next return.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria-teresa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had a fairly mixed experience of hotels and an apartment on a recent trip to the bay of Naples. This hotel was the highlight and a truly memorable and exciting place to stay. The location is stunning but it is also a very well run hotel. We had one meal there and it was delicious. Not the cheapest but unlike much else of Italy in August, it was value for money. We absolutely loved it. It is a special place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

First impressions as we arrived at the castle really did say it all. It's spectacular setting overlooking Ischia from the sea is second to none - there's no way you could possibly better this - and for the price it was most definitely value for money. The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble, and they gave good advice and suggestions.

The lift up to the castle itself (walking up with luggage is not an option unless you're mad) is a little bit daunting - it's a tiny lift built well within the depths of the castle and is apparently prone to occasionally) breaking down (or so we were told).

The rooms are very basic, but if i'm really honest, you're not here for luxury or opulence - it's all about the view and the location, and you get that in spades. Saying that, our room was very clean and spacious, with air conditioning.

We only stayed one night - and to be honest that was enough for us. It's a bit of a trek to get to and from. After spending the evening in Ischia, we couldn't get in through the gate to the lift, so were essentially 'forced' to walk up the steps back to the castle. Be warned - there is NO lighting up the stairway - essentially a hazard if you had to leave in an emergency - and we had to use a torch on my iPhone.

The breakfast left quite a bit to be desired , but we found a similar situation across Italy.

But otherwise we had a fantastic stay and I would have no hesitation recommending it to a friend or family member. Ischia island is fantastic, so much to do and see - and would recommend it over Capri.

Room Tip: - Book early!! This hotel books up VERY quickly. We had a basic room but it did come with a view - c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank journotraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ischia hotels
1.4 mi away
Aragona Palace Hotel
Aragona Palace Hotel
#1 of 70 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Durrueli
Villa Durrueli
#2 of 70 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ulisse
Hotel Ulisse
#4 of 70 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Punta Molino Beach Resort & SPA
0.5 mi away
Miramare e Castello Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hotel Rivamare
Hotel Rivamare
#7 of 70 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Il Monastero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Il Monastero

Property: Albergo Il Monastero
Address: Castello Aragonese, 80070, Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Il Monastero 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Albergo Il Monastero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Il Monastero Ischia
Albergo Il Monastero Hotel Ischia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing