We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo Il Monastero
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Ischia
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Stunning location”
Reviewed March 15, 2008

This was a gem of a place to stay. We arrived at midday and because of a festival had to walk down the causeway with out luggage - quite a novel way to get to our accomodation. Be warned that the taxis are very expensive - the buses are a much cheaper option. For 30euros you can purchase a weekly bus ticket that gets you anywhere on the island!!

We had reserved a superior room - the private balcony with the most spectacular view really mae this room. Otherwise the bed was possibly the most uncomfortable I had ever slept on and the walls, as you would expect in an old castle, were a little damp. The bathroom was very seventies! On the whole I think that the standard rroms were all refurbished and to a very nice standard - although a lot smaller with no balcony - how long do you actually spend in your room when you have this beautiful island to explore!

Breakfast was lovely - only taken on the terrace three times (which was a joy) unfortuantely the time of year meant that it was a little chilly the rest of the mornings. he homemade cakes were delicious!

The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and able to give some great tourist information.

Ischia has got some amazing beaches and spa's - we'd recommend Ngombo and San franscisco. A trip to the summit of Mount Epomea (i think it was called) is worth the slog uphill for the amazing 360 degree view from the top - the restaurant near the summit did the most amazing tomato and mozzerella salad.

In all this was a fantastically relaxing holiday and the port was a great place to dine in the evening. If you are lucky enough to go at festival time - then I suggest drinks on the terrace to watch the fireworks! Truely a magical place to stay - you feel like you have the island to yourself when you let yourself therough the gates to the lift! great stuff.

  • Liked — the views
  • Disliked — the bed
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappysuzieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    55
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
25
219
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2007

This converted monastery is ALL ABOUT THE VIEW! You walk through a museum in castle (which most pay to get into), ride an elevator up through a mountain, to take you to a private, peaceful, quiet, clean, comfortable room. The room is small, spartan almost, but romantic in its our cozy way,

Breakfast is served on what must be the terrace with the most breaktaking view. It's good too - cakes, cereals, fruit, kept us going all day.

The front desk is helpful - they booked us spa outings.

If you want luxury, complete indulgence - this is not your hotel. Go for the unique experience and the view.

They weren't available when we were there, but the rooms with the balconies are definitely worth it (we peeked in).

  • Liked — The view!
  • Disliked — I emailed the front desk - 1 month in advance - to book us dinner at a vineyard. They replied that it was no problem to do when we arrived at Ischia. Once there, they were fully booked which wa a big disappointment for us
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcplaywright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Albergo for a belated honeymoon vacation this summer, and we loved it!

We booked directly with the hotel by e-mailing Giulio (hotel manager). From the start he was extremely helpful and friendly. His English was great, and he was a great source of information about the island's activities. By far, Giulio exceeded the levels of service that we have received at any other hotel in the past.

It was a once-in-a-lifetime experience to come home to our own room in a castle every night. We had to climb up a lot of steps to get to our room, but for all of the eating we were doing it probably did us some good! Our room was simple, clean, and had a breathtaking view of the island and the water.

We were there in mid-August, so there were times when the weather was unbearably humid and hot. Our room had a small fan. Along with an open window (absolutely no bugs even though there was no screen), this fan did the job of keeping us cool. We slept well, and since we were so high up we weren't bothered by any outside noises. The shower was a bit small and the toiletries weren't abundant, but again, it was simple and clean.

There is an excellent restaurant at the Albergo that serves a set menu for dinner (changes every day, I believe). When we booked it, it was 30 Euros each for a delightful three-course meal made with local ingredients. At breakfast, guests can read the daily menu and decide if they want to reserve a spot for that evening. We highly recommend taking advantage of this lovely meal. Ours was served outside on the terrace, with soft music playing and a beautiful view of the night-lit island.

We absolutely recommend the Albergo to those who are looking for a getaway that is unique and memorable! The price is very reasonable, the service is outstanding, and the experience is charming.

  • Liked — the view
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CandMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2007

Spectacular experience staying in an old monastery building. Room 8 had a private balcony several hundred feet above the cliffs with the most amazing view from a hotel room ive ever had. the room is simple but staying here is a once in a lifetime experience. dont expect a luxary hotel but for a 100 euros this is incredible. enjoy watching the sun set from your private balcony.
the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — spectacular views and unique experience
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Edward T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2007

After returning recently from a two week vacation from the Amalfi coast area of Italy, it's safe to say that Albergo il Monastero was our favorite hotel. Our hotel room was simple, yet elegant, airy, and clean. For staying at the most beautiful hotel on the entire island (part of the Castello Aragonese) the price for our room was a steal. Yes there are some steps... but you don't have to be an athlete. There is an elevator that will carry you up most of the way to the hotel reception area. The staff were superb even when compared to hotels we stayed at that were twice the price. If you don't mind missing some fancy schmancy decor in your room and want to stay at a stupendously beautiful location for a bargain, you want to stay at Albergo il Monastero.

  • Liked — Location, staff, views
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank thomascristopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ischia hotels
1.4 mi away
Aragona Palace Hotel
Aragona Palace Hotel
#1 of 70 in Ischia
1,577 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Durrueli
Villa Durrueli
#3 of 70 in Ischia
1,173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ulisse
Hotel Ulisse
#4 of 70 in Ischia
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Miramare e Castello Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hotel Le Querce Terme & Spa
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Punta Molino Beach Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Il Monastero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Il Monastero

Property: Albergo Il Monastero
Address: Castello Aragonese, 80070, Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ischia
#6 Best Value Hotel in Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Il Monastero 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Albergo Il Monastero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Il Monastero Ischia
Albergo Il Monastero Hotel Ischia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing