We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable first class service and food”
Review of Gardenia Mare

Gardenia Mare
Ranked #2 of 161 Restaurants in Ischia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $67
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Always open for LUNCH & DINNER. There is a small sand bay peeking the Aragonese Castle, where time passes slowly and enjoyable. You can pamper yourself at the beach or choose the lawn, swimming among the rocks of Sant'Anna and explore the beautiful seabed. You can relax amidst the scents of the garden and enjoy delicious Mediterranean cuisine of our chef, in the evening, for an intimate dinner and enveloping. The Gardenia Mare every moment of the day is pure pleasure.
Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

This restaurant is part of a water front resort. It is reached by a free water taxi from town. The seafood here is as good as it gets. The service is world class. The views from the searing veranda of the water and castle are quite enchanting. And you will not find a meal of this quality for such a reasonable cost, around 150 euros complete per couple, anywhere I know of.

Date of visit: September 2018
2  Thank shelterform
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (763)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 763 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2018

We stayed at Gardenia Mare for two weeks in one of their lovely apartments and ate everyday at the restaurant. Every meal was sheer perfection and fine dining at its best every evening and more relaxed dining and beach snacks available during the day.

Gardenia Mare has it all. The quality of the food is superb yet reasonably priced. Service was always first class reflecting hospitality that was sincere, warm and so friendly. The setting is breathtaking - from our table we could see the magical Castle Aragonese together with Vesuvius, Sorrento and Capri. Below the restaurant there are sun beds and a small sandy bay that is perfect for swimming.

Gardenia Mare is an outstanding restaurant serving freshly caught fish that is perfectly cooked. This included Blue Lobster, Sea Bream and Tuna Carpaccio. We also enjoyed marinated fish, mussel soup, superb pastas and delicious deserts that were genuinely homemade including Tiramisu and Nonna Pina's Chocolate Cake which deserves special mention - you just have to try it!

We stayed in one of their apartments and experienced the warm hospitality of Mauro, Silvano and their family. Nothing was too much trouble and the view from the apartment is unbelievable - you could spend all day admiring it. The apartments boast a private garden and only a few steps take you down to the private beach.

Gardenia is an incredibly special place and we recommend it to all visitors to Ischia. We enjoyed every minute of our stay which was so relaxing and are looking forward to returning next year. We have travelled extensively through Italy and this is our favourite place.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank john_kate13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2018 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended to us by a friend who has a vacation home on the island. We were seated on the beautiful terrace that looks over the water and has a spectacular view of the Castello Aragonese.

We had the eggplant balls (a “must” as recommended by the waiter), paccheri with lemon, pecorino, clams and mussels, linguine with shrimp and a salt-crusted fish in two - all delicious and beautifully presented.

The waitstaff was professional and courteous, always a plus!

We got there by taxi boat from Ischia Porto - 5 euros per person in the evening and very romantic.

Price-wise, a pasta dish runs about 15-18€, but worth it for the food quality, service and the view.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank cislee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2018

Had an amazing experience here. The views are amazing of the ocean and the castle. The boat ride finished off a fantastic night!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kenneth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

Fabulous food, an amazing view and wonderful service! This was easily the best dinner we have had during our week here.
We arrived by water taxi from near the castle bridge, which was paid for by the restaurant (must book) and enjoyed the most gorgeous view out over the water from our table.
The food was divine, beautifully presented and servied by amazing, knowledgeable and attentive staff.
Although a little more expensive than other meals we have had, we felt it was well worth it!
Then a day after our dinner, our hotel told us that Gardenia manager Mauro had been in touch. Apparently we had mistakenly been given someone else’s bill and so had paid €25 more than we should have. As we were off out for the day, the lovely Mauro arranged for the money to be left at our hotel for us.
So, a wholehearted recommendation for Gardenia: for its amazing food and for a level of service that was definitely above and beyond!
Thank you Mauro!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Samantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gardenia Mare also viewed

 

Been to Gardenia Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing