We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, lovely island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Continental Mare Hotel
Ranked #31 of 70 Hotels in Ischia
Certificate of Excellence
Bromborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, lovely island”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We recently visited ischia & stayed at the Continental Mare on a two week break.
Quite close to the harbour, with views across the bay. The hotel was very clean, food was good, nice 3 course meal (with choices for all courses plus salad buffet), good choice of wine, at reasonable prices. The menu seems to change after 2 weeks, with a gala dinner on the Thursday evening. You can swap your evening meal for lunch. Breakfast is standard continental.
The staff were very nice and helpful. Mina ,the Thomson rep was very good, professional and certainly knowledgeable of the area., a credit to Thomson.

Rooms are situated across the grounds, and have all the usual amenities. Two nice pools, larger one, and a smaller one set in the gardens.
There is a gate at the back of the hotel which leads out to a path which takes you down to the harbour. It goes past residential properties, is tarmac’d and lit up, on most of the path, at night. A little bit steeper at the bottom. Walk takes about 10 minutes or less and brings you right out by the harbour. Local bus stop is situated at the main entrance to the hotel, tickets can be purchased at hotel reception. Trips and boat excursions can also be arranged at reception. The hotel also has a shuttle service, which will transport you to the harbour and back.

About a 20 minute walk will take you to Cassamicciola , and further on to Lacco Ameno. Also in the other direction to the castle , Ischia Ponte. If you don’t fancy the walk, then you can catch the bus. A 5 minute walk takes you to Castiglione Spa, consisting of 11 pools, at different temperatures (entrance fee, 27 euros all day).

Downside: The covered terrace’, an extension to the dining room, does allow smoking. So we found it difficult to sit and have a meal without being engulfed in smoke fumes.

Room tip: We upgraded to a superior room, so before we travelled had a pretty good idea of what the room would look like. When we were given our room , nice as it was, it was definitely not the room grade we had paid for. On approaching the reception staff, was told it was a superior room as per our booking. Not convinced we got in touch with the ‘rep’ who arranged for us to speak to the manager. The hotel manager was very nice, and apparently the hotel was fully booked, but he did arrange for us to view another room, which was a lot better, and we accepted it.

Despite our initial issue with the room, I would recommend this hotel and Ischia.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WirralLady_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    91
    39
    20
    11
See reviews for
32
169
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We do not actually leave here until tomorrow but have to say everything about this place is first class hotel has views to die for, rit is clean, food is excellent and the staff willdo everything in their power to make your stay comfortable special thanks to Mario for his help in the route planning of the next stage of our Italian adventure!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaroldKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have recently visited ischia & stayed at the Continental Mare its quintessentiall charm was a real treat. The hotel was very clean, food was Italian (not English) brilliant staff - Mario (manager) Luigi (Matre'd)l Mario,(barman) Roberta (reception), Rafielle (waiter) all made our stay feel like home from home. Mina was exceptional from meeting us from the plane and accompanying us to our hotel from Naples to Ischia - she was on hand and advised us on excursions and the best of everything that Ischia has to offer (so so much) A credit to Thomson.
We met so many lovely people and will stay in touch with them all.
We will be back. Thank you Continental Mare and everyone associated with our holiday.

Thanks Gilli and Kaz

Room Tip: Lower rooms hear footstep from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We and two couples had a wonderful week in this hotel. Stunning views from all our rooms, and when eating and drinking down by the restaurant. Our room was higher up (even better views)- but there was some walking to do, with lots of steps - we didnt mind this - but warning to others if they have any health problems! when I joked about needing Oxygen - they asked if I wanted to move! - how good is that! We didnt because we loved the views!
All the staff were great - helpful and had great sense of humours!
Definitely a place to visit!

Room Tip: Most of the views should be good, but cant say for all - if you have one higher up - ours was 405, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank failteCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was our second visit to the Continental Mare. Fantastic to see that the same staff were all there including Mario the Manager and Luigi the restaurant manager. Everything ran as clockwork and the food was just as sumptuous as before. Stunning views from the Hotel making this one of the most desirable positions on the island. Close proximity on foot to Ischia Porte and Ponte. Convenient bus service also outside Hotel entrance. Would highly recommend, top place and excellent value for money. Not forgetting the wonderful Mina who was always on hand to advise on travel arrangements. I am sure we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank whiteprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

we have just spent a fabulous week at the continental mare in Ischia, we have holidayed in
ischia on and off for over thirty years, but this was the best yet!
The place, the staff the kindness shown to us by particularly Angelo the manager,
Luigi the head waiter, Mario the barman, nothing was too much trouble and the weather
was superb too, hoping to return again in September for a week we so enjoyed it.

Room Tip: we had a garden room which was so easy and just close to everything absolutely great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ives54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I have just spent a delightful week at this hotel with my daughter and teenage granddaughters. The facilities were good and the food excellent. The staff were helpful and friendly and we all had a fantastic time. The Castiglione Spa is only 5 minutes walk away and reception have discounted tickets, well worth a visit. The only drawback is that is it on a hillside and there are a lot of steps to various levels, which might be a problem for some people. There is also a long walk into Ischia Porto and the shopping area, a shuttle bus runs during the day but finishes at 5pm and it would be useful for it to run in the evening as shopping when it is cooler is much better. Ischia is a fantastic island and we have visited before but out usual hotel was no longer a package option, but this was a lovely substitute.

Room Tip: We had a three person room, which had a large ground floor area with sitting area and single bed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janbp1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ischia hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Continental Ischia
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Querce Terme & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hotel San Valentino Terme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Hermitage & Park Terme
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ulisse
Hotel Ulisse
#3 of 70 in Ischia
401 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Regina Palace Terme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Mare Hotel

Property: Continental Mare Hotel
Address: Via Baldassarre Cossa 25, 80077, Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ischia
#19 Family Hotel in Ischia
#22 Luxury Hotel in Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Continental Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Continental Mare is situated on the hillside below the main coastal road approximately two kilometres from Ischia Town and from the resort of Casmicciola; frequent local buses run along this road. The hotel is set in extensive, lush gardens‚ with stunning views over the Gulf of Naples and Italy’s coastline. The island of Ischia is the incarnation of natural beauty and is the perfect place to relax and rejuvenate with one of the many spa treatments available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Continental Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Mare Ischia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing