We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, clean, friendly family run hotel”
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #34 of 70 Hotels in Ischia
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I am shocked at some of the negative reviews, after spending a week at this hotel. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff are friendly. It almost feels like you are staying in a family villa. The air conditioning is remote controlled and works beautifully.

The breakfasts are plentiful, including toast, cereals, home-made cakes, cheese, ham, eggs and drinks such as orange juice, tea and coffee. The hotel is very well located, and if you are not eating in the hotel then there are many places to eat nearby.

The pool looks funny when you first see it, but it is amazing. The water is emptied and refilled daily, and is full of all sorts of minerals. All in all the hotel is a clean, friendly family run establishment and i would recommend that anyone stays here. Visit Ischia and stay the Hotel Europa. Oh, one more thing, the beds are veeeeeery comfortable :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark_and_Char
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaBuono, Proprietario at Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you very much and we hope to meet you again in the next future!

Warm greetings from the Europa staff: Sandro, Raffaele, Nino, Antonio, Pasquale, Veronica, Filomena, Anna, Franco e Timmy :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Europa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 407 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

The hotel is easy to get to from Ischia Porto, just walk across the road to the bus station on the right and get a number 7 bus to Ischia Ponte, ask when to get off, takes about 5 minutes.
We had booked a budget room which was very good, and of a high standard. In particular the owners and staff were very friendly and helpful making us feel welcome. Breakfast is buffet style and included excellent home made cakes. The dinner was a selection home-made Italian dishes and was also very good.
The spa pool was nice and is changed every day and changes colour due to iron in the water reacting to sunlight. Overall a really good hotel for the price and would not hesitate to go back to the same hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CSAquino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaBuono, Owner at Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Thank you very much! We're very pleased you had a great time in our hotel and we hope you will come back next summer :)
Buono family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in June and planned to send in a similar review as it was through Trip Advisor that we found Europa. The mineral pool was a highlight and the helpful staff as well. After touring many cities prior, this location proved to be a nice reprieve to rest and enjoy the quaint scenic area. The hotel was an excellent value for the price. I would definitely go back and am comfortable recommending to others.

Stayed: June 2012
1  Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

We'll thank you for these kind words about our service and accommodation.
It was a pleasure that you stayed here in our hotel and you enjoyed your trip to the island.
We hope you come back soon!
Best wishes from Ischia :)

Famiglia Buono

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The hotel is easy to get to from Ischia Porto, just walk across the road to the bus station on the right and get a number 7 bus to Ischia Ponte, ask when to get off, takes about 5 minutes.
Alibus goes from the airport to the port making one stop at the train station and stopping just by the fast ferry booking office at Naples Molo Beverello, it is a quick walk to get to the slow ferry port to the north east, slow ferries are about half the price of fast ferries.
We had booked a budget room but were upgraded to one of their standard rooms which was very good. We stayed for 7 nights and were very comfortable. The room had a small balcony overlooking a side road and pleasant views. There was no ac but there was a ceiling fan. In particular the owners and staff were very friendly and helpful making us feel welcome.
Breakfast is buffet style and included excellent home made cakes and jam, there is free internet access and relaxing by the spa pool is nice - don’t worry about the colour of the water, it is changed every day and changes colour due to iron in the water reacting to sunlight. Don’t miss going upstairs to the terrace which is great in the evening.
In summary we had a lovely week in Ischia and would not hesitate to go back to the same hotel.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank k m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Hello,
thank you so much for this great feedback!
We hope to see you soon in our hotel on Ischia and we wish you all the best.
Take care and best regards,

The "Europa" staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

That was the second time I stayed at this cosy and hospitable Hotel. And myt second staying with my friends was wonderfull as before. The hotel is located very comfortably for sightseeing round the island, the room was spacious with sea, Aragon Castle and the sun up and down view. Every day cleanining and meal are very good, thermo-pool is very nice and relaxing. The staff is really perfect, friendly and helpful in all our requests. I would advise the hotel to all my Russian friends wishing to have a holiday on Ischia. I would like to stay at it once again. Galina.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

The hotel was clean(except for carpet on the stairs) and the room was adequate with a little balcony to sit on overlooking the pool. Sitting room area inside with a small bar and also large outdoor patio off the dining room were nicely decorated. Included breakfast was quite good-fruit,juice,pastry,cold cuts and cheese etc. with nice made to order coffee or tea. We only ate dinner there once and didn't care for it. The staff were friendly but no one spoke enough English to be of any real help booking any tours of the island. If you speak Italian or German you'll be fine-otherwise find out ahead of time what you want to do and book it yourself. At 48 euro/night the hotel was definitely a good value but it would have been really nice to have some one there who was able to give us proper directions and or book some excursions for us.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C0lleen61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We were very impressed with the Hotel Europa and had a lovely time staying there on holiday in Inchia. The room was spacious and clean and we nearly had a full sea view. The bathroom was roomy and clean. The hotel is cosy and welcoming, there are some small, cosy relaxing places to sit inside as well as a terrace and round the pool (not a big area). The thermal pool is lovely and relaxing. The food is very good, there were two choices for starter and main course for the evening meal. The first course pasta was always good, portions were as big as you wanted. quite a few fish options. The main courses were well cooked meat or fish with sauce with potatoes and vegetables. Dessert is always cheese, fresh fruit or ice cream with occasional cakes. All the staff at the hotel are pleasant, friendly and helpful. There are a few good beaches nearby and the bus stop is just outside the hotel for Ischia Porto, from here you can catch the bus all round the island. The buses are very regular if a bit packed in June.
We enjoyed going to La Mortella gardens, a trip to Procida is a must, lovely beaches at Citara and Maramonti.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sueymaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ischia hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ulisse
Hotel Ulisse
#2 of 70 in Ischia
429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Noris Hotel
Noris Hotel
#35 of 70 in Ischia
183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hermitage & Park Terme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Durrueli
Villa Durrueli
#4 of 70 in Ischia
1,188 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Valentino Terme
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Capannina
Hotel La Capannina
#19 of 70 in Ischia
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Via Antonio Sogliuzzo 25, 80077, Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Ischia
#26 Romantic Hotel in Ischia
Price Range: $52 - $617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cousins Sandro and Raffaele Buono are proud to be the third generation of their family to extend a warm and enthusiastic welcome to their guests, especially the many who regularly return to enjoy a stay at the Europa. In the early 1950s, their grandfather Antonio opened a restaurant here - the "Ristorante l'Aranceto" - and by 1956 the popularity of the location so close to the historic borgo of Ischia Ponte and the fortunate discovery of an underground thermal spring had persuaded him and his sons Tonino and Gaetano to add their first few rooms, creating the Hotel Europa. Over the years the building has evolved and grown but their warm family welcome and perfect hospitality have never changed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Ischia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing