We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our recent holiday to Ischia and the Amalfi Coast”
Review of Villa Durrueli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Durrueli
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in Ischia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We commenced out trip to Italy with a 2 night stay at Villa Durrueli. We received a warm welcome from the reception staff, whom throughout our 2 day stay were ever so helpful. We did not eat dinner in the Hotel, however breakfast was amazing, and staff were so helpful. A good hearty breakfast was served.. which included scrambled egg and bacon, which we got no where else on our 1 week trip to Italy. The bar in this hotel was not very inviting. This was the only area of the hotel to offer WIFI and it just wasnt very cosy, like most reception areas.

Room Tip: We did not have a sea view room, however we were looking out to a nice park.... Our room was beauti...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eilis40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durrueli, Direttore at Villa Durrueli, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you to sharing your review. I am very happy that your vacation was so good!

I hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Filippo Cervera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,192)
There are newer reviews for Villa Durrueli
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 1,192 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed in Villa Durrueli at the tail end of our holiday and it didn't quite live up to the promise on the website and in Trip Advisor reviews. There were positives -- a large clean room, excellent pool and spa facilities and friendly staff. But the negatives outweighed the positives. Breakfast was disappointing - coffee was dreadful, fruit came from a tin (we think) and eggs and sausages were tepid and had sitting there fir hours. There was only internet access in the reception area, not in the rooms as promised. This might sound like nitpicking but given the four star rating and the price bracket, we had expected a lot more. Our Trip Advisor ranking is probably too generous - it probably deserved 2.5 (if that was possible) rather than 3.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Aileen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durrueli, Direttore at Villa Durrueli, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

first of all I'd like to thank you to sharing your reviews. I really don't understand where are written " WIFI in the room " beacuse in all web sites is highlighted " WIFI in the lobby, and internet services available via LAN cable in the room " . About breakfast service I'd like to inform you that all the amenities are strictly controlled step by step before, and canned fruits is obviously, a product, I personally found in all 4 stars hotel also in UK, with the difference that we have in to our buffet breakfast, daily season fresh fruit.

Best Regards,

Filippo Cervera
General Manager


Ma gli aspetti negativi compensati dai lati positivi. La colazione è stata deludente - caffè era terribile, frutta proveniente da una scatola (credo) e uova e salsicce erano tiepidi e aveva lì seduti fir ore. C'era solo l'accesso a internet nell'area della reception, non nelle camere come promesso. Ciò può sembrare come fare i difficili ma dato le quattro stelle e la fascia di prezzo, ci aspettavamo molto di più.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Definitely a great place to stay in Ischia. It's half way between the main shopping street & Castle; both being easily walkable.

The staff are fabulous ; very friendly & helpful. The restaurant is divine; you won't need lunch after the amazing breakfast spread, and you don't want to fill up before dinner.

There is a great spa, free Wifi and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. A winner on all fronts.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwi089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durrueli, Direttore at Villa Durrueli, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

first of all I'd like to thank you to sharing your experience at Hotel Villa Durrueli Resort & Spa in Ischia Island. Of course our Restaurant style is excellent and I personally thank you again. A range of menu items are perfect to eat at our little dining room.

Best Regards,

Filippo Cervera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Fantastic views from this hotel, particularly from the roof looking out over the castle. The hotel itself ticked all the boxes but the food is worthy of a special mention - every course, every meal absolutely superb!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ringtailmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durrueli, Direttore at Villa Durrueli, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Villa Durrueli Resort & Spa. Our Roof garden, face to the ocean and to the Aragomese Castle gives an amazing pictures, it is considered by our side a little paradise corner in Ischia...and we jealously guard it... Obviously I'm kidding and I appreciate all of your review!

Thanks again and Best Regards,

Filippo Cervera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

What we wanted, we found in Ischia, and exactly at the Hotel Villa Durrueli Resort. Amazing Hotel, with big room with terrace face on the ocean, where we saw Aragonese Castel . In the morning you can taste fresh milk and a good selection of croissant. Breakfast start at 07 Am and stop at 10 AM in their breakfast room situated one floor down to the lobby. Not far away is situated spa: Turkish bath, thermal pool, relaxing area . Staff was very helpful . Just making a summary… “ A very nice Hotel, in a quite area “ and we suppose to be there once again next year.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Urmoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durrueli, Direttore at Villa Durrueli, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

first of all, thank you to sharing your review. Our staff is going strictly to work on it self to guarantee best satisfaction to all our Clients. This is our realy mission, and we are very happy you wacht out this important aspect of our company.

Best regards,

Filippo Cervera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our two week stay at the beginning of October was obviously the end of the season for the beautiful island of Ischia.

What a pity that the biting midges and mosquitoes had not left the island!
It became a nightmare trying to avoid them, despite using every insect repellent known to man!

The hotel was quite busy for the first week, but almost empty for the second, great for getting a sunbed but not for creating a friendly or relaxing atmosphere.

Overall the hotel was clean and comfortable, but lacked atmosphere, especially in the Lounge and Bar areas which were deserted , before and after dinner, making the occasional couple who did want to enjoy a quiet drink feel like they were ‘lager louts’

We just gave up and retired to our room !

The half board Dinner Menu was exactly the same for both weeks we stayed there, so it became rather boring having chosen ‘something different ‘ the first time round and looking forward to more exciting Italian dishes for the second week on this our first visit to Southern Italy.

The salad bar (Antipasti) was quite varied for week one , but the second week there was very limited choice and not replenished when almost decimated by guests who arrived as soon as the dining room opened. Anyone wanting a late dinner would have had very little to chose from. We very soon learned that it paid to be one the early diners!
Main Courses were Italian Nouvelle Cuisine with not a hot vegetable in sight, apart from a foam of creamed parsnip or pea on which rested a small portion of meat. Nice for an occasional meal, but we found a fortnight of Nouvelle Cuisine very uninspiring, what we would have given for a huge plateful of plain old Spaghetti Bolognaise!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tilly096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We went mid-October after making a "last minute" booking and flew from Bristol a week later. Our choice of venue was partly dictated by the convenient fying times there and back with Thomson. There were no problems with the journey and it all stitched together well. But note that the ferry trip from Naples to Ischia (via a stop at Procida) takes the best part of one and a half hours. We concur with many of the favourable comments about the hotel. Our room and the hotel as a whole were very clean. We payed extra for a room with a balcony and a sea view. We got room 302, which is probably the best of the lot, with a good view over the pool and the sea and castle beyond. Yes, the rooms are quite small, but that did not bother us. The beds are quite hard and we brought an overlay with us which was put to good use. The shower was excellent with plenty of hot water. Now the food: breakfast couldn't be bettered - a large selection of everything you could want. The evening meal 8pm+- first, you are presented with a wonderful cold selection from countless dishes of delicious food, which seemed to change from one day to another. No wonder there was a queue to get into the dining room at 8! Then there is a selection of starters from the menu followed by the main course. As has been said before, the portions are small, but of excellent quality, but just, say, a portion of meat or fish decorated, but no accompanying vegetables. However, when we arrived, there was little, if any, vegetarian choice. We complained about this and for the rest of the week a vegetarian menu was pruduced - problem solved. When we arrived, there was a pianist in the foyer 7-11pm. The music was monotonous in the extreme and so loud that you could not hear yourself speak. This music penetrated into our room upstairs, which we found disturbing. We were not the only guests who did not like this. It took a day or two to sort this out. We spoke to the management about this and our excellent rep Mina did likewise. Peace reigned for the rest of the week. The outside pool is very good, if rather cold. The hotel is well placed with an easy walk down the main street past all the shops to the harbour and to the castle in the opposite direction. Ischia must be very busy in high season, but in October we found it quiet, populated largely by locals, which added to our enjoyment. We did a tour of the island and visited the gardens "La Mortella" on the other side of the island, both well worth while. We had several days of hot sunshine. We were disappointed that a trip to the neighbouring island of Procida was cancelled, allegedly because the sea was too rough for the small boat. Overall - yes, we did have a couple of significant problems, but the way the staff, always courteous and eager to please, dealt with these issues lead us to give this friendly little hotel almost full marks. Finally, our departure in the early morning and crossing the bay of Naples at sunrise was pure magic!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NandJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ischia hotels
0.8 mi away
Aragona Palace Hotel
Aragona Palace Hotel
#1 of 70 in Ischia
1,590 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Querce Terme & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ulisse
Hotel Ulisse
#3 of 70 in Ischia
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Miramare e Castello Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hermitage & Park Terme
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Punta Molino Beach Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Durrueli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Durrueli

Address: Traversa Vincenzo Mirabella 27, 80077, Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ischia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ischia
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ischia
#4 Business Hotel in Ischia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ischia
#24 Family Hotel in Ischia
Price Range: $96 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Durrueli 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to La Mandra Beach and the ancient fishing village of Ischia Ponte, Hotel Villa Durrueli Resort offers a thermal swimming pool and a spa center. The grounds are full of exotic plants and flowers. The Resort overlooks the pine forest and has a fantastic view of Ischia's Castello Aragonese. Guests can relax on the sun terrace, take a dip in the large, thermal pool or in one of the smaller pools with hydro-massage and aromatherapy. Rooms are complete with all modern comforts, including free high-speed Internet access and wifi. Some rooms have a balcony or furnished terrace and an LCD TV. The spa center was opened in 2007 and includes an indoor pool, Turkish bath, and a variety of massages and beauty treatments. Meals at Villa Durrueli's restaurant are often accompanied by music from the piano. The dining menu includes fresh fish dishes, local specialties and a generous buffet of starters and vegetables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Durrueli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Durrueli Hotel Ischia
Durrueli Hotel Ischia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing