We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing moments in Ischia”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Durrueli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Durrueli
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Ischia
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing moments in Ischia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I chose Villa Durrueli for my holiday in Ischia with my wife. We booked a superior room. The room and bathroom were clean and well-kept but very small.The room had a balcony with a great view.

The hotel has a large swimming pool and a spa. The spa is small but well cared. Staff is always helpful and attentive to everyone's needs. They offered free drinks.
Restaurant was good and we also had the opportunity to know and appreciate the chef.
Good location although the hotel is hard to find.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LopezM26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    298
    71
    35
    29
See reviews for
153
693
26
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We holidayed here the second week in September. Weather was very hot.

We travelled with Thomsons. The flight was short - about 21/2hours - and we had a coach transfer to the ferry port about half an hour away for a one hour ferry crossing.

The hotel was a short transfer - 15 minutes of so which allowed you to see some of the island. It is a small and friendly hotel and that really sums it up. The staff are all very friendly and courteous. We found the hotel nicely quiet - so always a space to get a sun lounger by the pool and just the right number of tables at dinner and breakfast. The hotel was mainly Italian and English guests with a few Germans, and mostly people in their 50s and 60s.

The room was basic by the standards of some other countries with the furniture perhaps a little old fashioned but it was kept very clean. The pool was very clean too. The views from the balcony were stunning and in fact you could see the castle and sea from bed! Some people have said the beds are too hard but we slept really well. There is also a lovely rooftop terrace with seating aned great views.

We were half board and evening meals were excellent. You help yourself to anti pasti or starters and there were plenty of vegetables. Then you have waiter service and choose a first course which was a soup or pasta and then a second course which was meat or fish. Out of all the different meals we had there was only one that my partner and I did not like over the whole week. We tried lots of different things that we may not otherwise have chosen and all were lovely; some exceptional! Breakfast was ok - we had mainly the nice fresh bread and rolls but there was scrambled egg and bacon and yoghurts, cheese, cold meat etc. Lunch was fantastic. We had intended to eat out but often ended up eating by the pool which served the best bruschetta and melon with parma ham. Delicious!

The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the castle which was really interesting to potter around and we spent half a day there including having lunch. It's about 5 minutes to the closest beach but I found the sand a bit grey and gritty as it is a volcanic island so we preferred the hotel pool. Walking the other way takes you to the main shops and bars, restaurants etc and the port. This takes about 15-20 mintues to the first real shops and cafes.

As well as visiting the castle and shops we took a half day boat trip round the island for 18 euros which lasted about 3 hours with an hour stop at Sant Angelo. The commentary wasn't very good and the boat was crowded but it was nice to see the island and the breeze on the top of the boat helped with the heat. We also visited the botanical gardens on the opposite side of the island, about half hour away. These were outstanding even for people like me that know very little about plants.

All in all I would recommend this hotel for a quiet holiday, relatively good value for Ischia (Italy is always quite expensive) and in a good location.

Thanks to all the staff for making our stay!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view - it is a side view but stunning looking over the castle and hotel pool wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeggySueUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

The short version:

There are just three words needed to summarise this hotel: “Marvellous. Bloody marvellous.”


The longer version:

Of a selection of only four hotels offered by Thomson on the beautiful island of Ischia we initially decided from the online brochure that Le Querce was the one for us. But cross-referencing with TripAdvisor indicated that the Villa Durrueli was impressively ranked at 5th out of 60 hotels in Ischia town and that, together with its adoring reviews, pulled our attention there. It turned out to be a good choice and its high ranking is well deserved.

It’s quite a trip to get there. We landed at Naples and transferred to the port for the ferry across to Ischia at sunset. Adding a sail across water always magnifies the atmosphere of the start of a holiday and entering Ischia port after dark was exciting, the ferry drawn towards the shimmering lights of the small and chaotically busy harbour. We were met by Mina, Thomson’s competent and professional travel rep who had us quickly delivered to the hotel in time to drop our luggage with the very helpful girls at reception and head downstairs to the restaurant for dinner.

What a heavenly grotto of calories the restaurant is. It is almost windowless and the lack of scenic distraction obliges you to focus on the art of conversation with your dinner companion and the food. Ah, yes, the food. It opens its doors at 8pm and the guests parade in to their room-numbered tables. Ours was 304; an extremely good number in that hotel. If, like us, you consider yourself a bit of a foodie then this is the hotel for you. It serves fabulous nouvelle Italian cuisine of an international standard. Every morsel of food served is divine with a fair balance of fish, meat and vegetarian choices. The menu simply eclipses any perception you might have had about “normal” Italian hotel cooking; this is creative cuisine at the top end of the scale. The format is very civilised; having taken your wine order – the list was divided into the various Italian wine regions offering plenty of choice and is very sensibly priced – you might move to the buffet which displays a wide range of sophisticated salads, fish and cold meats to enjoy while your ‘primi plati’ is being prepared in the kitchen. For your two main courses the chefs are adventurous, artistic and inventive and every evening we enjoyed food worthy of a detour by Michael Winner. A choice of simpler homemade desserts such as panacotta, ice cream or mousse followed to conclude the four courses. You could have coffee too to round it all off.

Breakfast is an international style continental buffet which every morning gave us a great start to the day. It could be taken either in the restaurant or by request a table would be set on the outside terrace. We didn’t sample lunch as we dined out while visiting the various attractions across the island, getting on with our holiday.

Our room was on the small side at about 3.5m square but very clean and presentable with an attractive modern and colourful bathroom and a small balcony. The hotel simply hasn’t enough space (see below) for large rooms or suites so makes the best of its principle feature; the main bedroom wing enjoys outstanding views over the pool thence across the bay of Ischia Ponte towards the Castle Aragon, the dominant and impressive main tourist feature of the island. This was most definitely ‘a room with a view’ by day but especially when illuminated at night. In fact, we could admire the view from our bed, we didn’t need to get up. The walls must be quite thin as it was easy to hear noises in adjacent rooms. Our neighbours kindly pointed this out to us on the second morning.

Let us tell you about the rest of the hotel. It is located on a quiet backstreet in Ischia Ponte about 100m from the beachfront. We suspected that it is called ‘Villa’ rather than hotel because of the relatively small size of the plot it stands upon. It is not very large and with just three floors is, in many respects, rather like a reduced-size grand hotel with all the main parts laid out in a compact form. There are, we estimated, about only 40 or so rooms (24 are in the main accommodation wing) and this helped engender a very friendly atmosphere within the hotel. At this “grand hotel in miniature” the pool area is the main daytime hub and is very popular but in a quiet and restrained way. There is a pool bar and next to that a couple of Jacuzzis which summarize the main daily activities for those not venturing out.

The spa in the cellar is another great asset to the Villa and, for us, helped pass that lost part of the day when you have returned from the beach but it is too early to dress for 8pm dinner. While we didn’t try any of the specialist treatments on offer we very much enjoyed the Japanese foot massage, hamman and thermal bath. Everyone seemed to like this combination of water, heat and relaxation. Complimentary tea and biscuits are on hand to refresh you.

On a slight note of disappointment there is a large roof terrace with superbly commanding views which was closed. Although you could access it if you wanted to take photographs its bar was never open; this was a big missed opportunity by the hotel to offer pre-dinner drinks which I am sure would have been very popular with guests.

The standard of service, whether in the restaurant, reception, bar or wherever is something the hotel management can be rightly proud of. Throughout our stay we were well treated and any request was dealt with efficiently and smartly. It would be unfair to single out individual names, as we are tempted to do, as all the staff were very helpful.

As the week passed by and we saw other parts of the island we realised just how important is the position of the Villa. The three other Thomson hotels are, we are sure, very good and possibly much bigger but are all located quite far away from the local mature nightlife. The Villa is much better placed if you want to go out for a drink after dinner each evening and we very much enjoyed wandering down into Ischia Porto (hectic and cosmopolitan) and Ischia Ponte (quieter and prettier). Returning home late at night by the beach could be very romantic on a starlit night.

This is a hotel which you can recommend with confidence to friends who like good - no, make that great - food and wine matched with a terrific location. Its prices for drinks and extras are sensible too (extras cost us just Eu240 for the week yet we had drinks, aperitifs and good wine daily). It’s probably better for couples and grown-up families rather than children as there appears to be little for the kiddies to enjoy but lots for adults to savour. All in all, bloody marvellous.

Room Tip: The sea-view rooms on 3rd floor are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rhs01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Noisy! Persistant loud music in the late evenings. The blandest rooms, rude staff.
Claim high speed internet- nope slowest ive ever experienced. Cold rooms if yr staying on the cusp of low season/out of season.
Pretty clean though. Spa is average.

If you want a spa holiday id stay closer to poseiden in forio. Hire a car/ get taxis in to ischia for main town needs. It was the best spa day we had, and same price as the other resorts.

We had the best food in aglio olio e pomodoro on luigi mazzella - Near ischia ponte. Italians seem to love that place too... And was cheap comparatively to the others.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mistrycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for just one week from 17th August 2012. The hotel is lovely. The staff are exceptional and can't do enough for you. Breakfasts were sumptious but we did struggle with the evening meal. It is served at 8pm in August, mainly to cater for the Italians, which we found quite late. The buffet is amazing, everything you could think of was there for the taking but we did struggle with the rest of the meal. It was really not to our taste. I am a vegetarian and seemed to have difficulty getting food that didn't contain either meat of fish. I have never had a problem in Italy before. My husband is not a fish eater and does like his veggies with his meat but they weren't really served although he could get a bowl of vegetables ( no potatoes !! ) or cold veggies from the buffet. We never went hungry though saying that. The entertainment was first class and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at the Villa Durrelli for one week. From check in till check out, one excellent experience. The room was overlooking the Ponte and the swimming pool. it was small but very clean room. The food in the restaurant was excellent and had service match. One beautiful island, well worth a visit. We will definately stay there again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Rugbygeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband & I, 2 teenage girls and 3 year old boy have just returned from 2 weeks at Villa Durrueli. It was our 7th time in the Bay of Naples Region (5 of those visits being Positano) & this hotel was one of the best we have stayed in. The public areas are cool & airy with attractive nautical colours. The superior rooms (we had 2) were, clean comfortable with plenty of clean towels & good maid service. We had an enormous balcony & great air conditioning. We had decided prior to the holiday not to take advatage of our half board (as can often be dissapointing) and eat out every night as we are big sea food foodies being from Jersey. We were offered the option of taking lunch instead, as we were spending lazy days by the pool we thought we would give it a go. We were amazed, The food was ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS. They were happy to cook different dishes for our toddler & the waiting staff spoiled him rotten the whole fortnight. The waiting staff were exceptionally friendly & helpful. The food was so good we decided to eat at night as well about 4 - 5 times. The ambience at night was lovely, dinner was served outside, lovely little lanterns, very pretty. There was a good choice and everything was authentic Italien, well cooked & well presented. The bar area was also pretty and the barman Mario was great ..again spoiling our toddler rotten! There was live music one night which as great. The pool was lovely with plenty of sun loungers and little bubble features that entertained the kids.The spa area was also relaxing. This was a wonderful holiday, Ischia was beautiful and we will most certainly return to Ischia & this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bella00Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ischia hotels
0.8 mi away
Aragona Palace Hotel
Aragona Palace Hotel
#1 of 70 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miramare e Castello Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Punta Molino Beach Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ulisse
Hotel Ulisse
#4 of 70 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Delfini Strand Hotel Terme
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Querce Terme & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Durrueli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Durrueli

Property: Villa Durrueli
Address: Traversa Vincenzo Mirabella 27, 80077, Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ischia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ischia
#2 Spa Hotel in Ischia
#4 Business Hotel in Ischia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ischia
#24 Family Hotel in Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Durrueli 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to La Mandra Beach and the ancient fishing village of Ischia Ponte, Hotel Villa Durrueli Resort offers a thermal swimming pool and a spa center. The grounds are full of exotic plants and flowers. The Resort overlooks the pine forest and has a fantastic view of Ischia's Castello Aragonese. Guests can relax on the sun terrace, take a dip in the large, thermal pool or in one of the smaller pools with hydro-massage and aromatherapy. Rooms are complete with all modern comforts, including free high-speed Internet access and wifi. Some rooms have a balcony or furnished terrace and an LCD TV. The spa center was opened in 2007 and includes an indoor pool, Turkish bath, and a variety of massages and beauty treatments. Meals at Villa Durrueli's restaurant are often accompanied by music from the piano. The dining menu includes fresh fish dishes, local specialties and a generous buffet of starters and vegetables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Durrueli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Durrueli Hotel Ischia
Durrueli Hotel Ischia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing