We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #6 of 70 Hotels in Ischia
Certificate of Excellence
Atlantic Ciy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed at the Excelsior for my daughters wedding in Ischia. The service, accommodation and location could not have been better. We had 32 people from our group at this hotel and without exception it was a 5 star experience. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful and kind. From lost luggage, restaurant recommendations and arranging water taxi's, they went out of their way to help us. I hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kathy1655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    36
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
63
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

A really cosy hotel. Very good restaurant with a brilliant cheff. All the staff is very proffecional and friendly. Very green. Beautiful garden. If you plan to swim in the sea - this hotel is not for you. The sea beach is tiny and not too nice.
The SPA is not worth the money. The don't really know how to do it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Katique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2006

This is without doubt and outstanding hotel on a beautiful island. The hotel was stunning and the service and food excellent. The short walk through the gardens to the beach was about 1 minute and unlike many hotels there were plenty of space and sun lounges. Drinks on the terrace were very relaxing and the hotel is a short walk from the lovely pedestrianised main street. For those who stay in August there is an opportunity to go to a Gala Dinner night, mid August. This evening was exceptional. Well worth a stay and I cannot think of any complaint whatsoever. Even our Garden View looked out over the lovely garden, hills and part sea view with the Castle visible. The car park is only a staff car park and is well hidden and small…..

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank adyhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2006

We just come back from one week stay in Ischia.
Hotel Grand Excelsior was a great choice.
Very nice room (please remember: Italy standard are not Asian or American standard) exceptionnal food and service, great service with very nice attention from all staff, nice view on the sea and swimming pool, perfect location on the beach and 200 meters from the nicest shops of Ischia, open late in the evening.

Eveything to have a wonderfull stay and memories !!!

We will return next year for sure.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dansti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
195 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2006

We are a couple in our fifties. This was our first visit to Ischia. We loved the place. The hotel was probably the best on the island. Our room had a balcony but overlooked the gardens rather than the coast. It was not a problem though as we spent to little time in our room. The pool was ideally located with plenty of loungers and excellent views of the gardens. We went half board and the restaurant was as befitting a 5 star hotel and the waiters looked after us very well. Breakfast on the terrace was brilliant with the sea in the distance through the trees.
Only grumbles concerning the hotel were the they tried to only serve the local Ischian wines which whilst they were OK we wanted sometimes to have something different. We eventually got a wine list (more like a book) but 98% of it was Italian wines only and at a mega price. Also the waiters could not grasp the concept that we wanted a white wine with one course and a red with the mains. They seemed to only want to give us one glass each. very strange. Also the drinks served on the terrace each evening were expensive. To be fair we guessed they would be as there was no drinks price list. They were served immaculately though by a very smart waiter. The other grumble was the use of the spa. We used it once and an assistance showed us how to use the sauna, shower etc and then we had to sign a slip (that should have been a clue) and on checking out we were presented with a bill for several pounds. They should have warned us that the service was chargeable. Nevertheless we enjoyed an excellent week at the Hotel Excelsior and would certainly go back if in that area.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gallavanting Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTH WEST FRANCE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2005

We spent part of our honeymoon at this hotel and it was not what we expected. The first week of our honeymoon was spent in the Grand Vittoria Excelsior in Sorrento which was a truley 5 star hotel in every sense of the term. However, both the hotel and Ischia itself resulted in an awful shock for our second week. Be warned - even booking a superior room does not mean anything better than a dark, small twin-bedded room overlooking the carpark. We complianed bitter every day and were eventually moved to a better room. The food is below average and is served in what can only be described as a school refectory type affair with the service to match.

I could go on and on but surffice to say - avoid, avoid, avoid.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank SKCIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2005

We enjoyed our honeymoon at the Grand in September and found it a classy place, although somewhat expensive.
Maybe it's the island life, but the hotel we came from on the Mainland (Bellevue Syrene in Sorrento) was equally, if not more impressive for half the price.

What you do get for your money is a quiet hotel in a prime location with an excellent pool (although the choice at the pool snack bar leaves a lot to be desired).

If possible ask for a room with a sea view as the alternative is overlooking gardens and a car park.

The bedrooms were immaculate and cleaned daily and the walk in wardrobe we had in our superior room was bigger than some rooms I've stayed at in the past!

The staff were courteous and always willing to help with any query.

We booked B&B only as we like to eat out, but the breakfast looked comprehensive enough to convince me that you would have no worries with the food.

All in all, a hotel to get away form it all if you don't mind spending a bit more for quality.

Darren (40) and Helen (39), Lancashire, England

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Lancashire_UKDaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ischia hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Punta Molino Beach Resort & SPA
0.6 mi away
Aragona Palace Hotel
Aragona Palace Hotel
#1 of 70 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
0.4 mi away
Miramare e Castello Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Il Moresco Hotel
Il Moresco Hotel
#9 of 70 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Durrueli
Villa Durrueli
#2 of 70 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ulisse
Hotel Ulisse
#4 of 70 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Excelsior

Property: Grand Hotel Excelsior
Address: Via Emanuele Gianturco 19, 80077, Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ischia
#2 Family Hotel in Ischia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ischia
#4 Spa Hotel in Ischia
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Excelsior 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ischia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing