We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An English lady alone!”
Review of Hotel La Villarosa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Villarosa
Ranked #23 of 70 Hotels in Ischia
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An English lady alone!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I booked this holiday at the last minute on the Internet. The island is lovely and the hotel has many good points. The location is excellent, the rooms are spotless, the gardens are attractive, the pool is super and the meals are good.
However, being English does have its problems. On my arrival I was the only English person in the hotel. Socially this didn't matter as the other guests were very friendly. The problem came when I wanted to book one of the many excursions offered by the hotel.
"Not possible! Only Italian and german! You are English!" The man in reception was really determined not to make my booking.
Infuriated I got on to the Thomas Cooke agent in Sorrento. ( there isn't one on Ischia.) The young man there sorted it out in 5 minutes . No problem.
The man in reception was furious . In fact, he hardly spoke to me. Out of devilment I remarked to him -- " Sir, you underestimate English women!" I had a good trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lancshiresally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    94
    24
    11
    3
See reviews for
56
119
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

At first arrival it seemed like an oasis with narrow stone pathways lined with mature trees overhanging. Unfortunately it went downhill from there. The food served at the hotel is not very good. The air conditioning was not working and it was hot. They kept saying they were fixing it but it never cooled down. The TV remote didn't work. The wiring on the lamp was just plain scary. There was hair on the bathtub and ants on the bidet. The stucco was crumbling under the heater and there were ugly exposed pipes along those pathways. I didn't love Ischia anyway but I would not stay at that hotel again.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend Ischia at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nonni07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

our trip to villarosa was brill we had a great holiday.not many English visitors mostly Italian and german but it didn't matter .the staff were lovely very helpful with the menus and what we were ordering for dinner. the food was excellent really enjoyed each nights meal and the roof top dinning room was beautiful fantastic views .our room was also very nice size and the bed was very comfortable slept like a log each night . if your not sure about picking this hotel go ahead its very special

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My friend and I enjoyed a much needed break at this delightful hotel at the beginning of August.
Perfectly positioned in the centre of ischia port it is an oasis of peace and tranquillity.
Comfortable bedrooms, marvellous thermal pool ,sunbathing terrace & sitting rooms furnished with antiques where we spent our time without even having to venture out of the door.
We booked in just for breakfast but enjoyed the food so much we ended up dining in the hotel every night with lunch on the day we checked out. High quality food,served on the hotels roof terrace which has an amazing view of the bay .The hotel staff were very attentive and all in all
it suited us perfectly , we will most certainly return !!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Emary85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Villa Rosa for a week from the 5th July . The hotel is a very unique place to stay, full of original paintings furniture and artefacts. It is set in beautiful gardens, a quiet oasis but only a few yards from the shops and restaurants within the resort. The top floor restaurant offers amazing views and it was lovely to have breakfast and dinner outside with such breath taking views. Breakfasts are quite basic , eggs being the only hot food however the evening meals were first class. The starter buffet was extensive and a meal in itself, we did not have a problem choosing our main course at breakfast time each day. It is in keeping with other Italian Hotels and is commendable is saving waste. The rooms are large and have plenty of storage.
The local beach was a little disappointing and very crowded but the local bus service is easy and serves Maronti Beach which is a different experience. If you are looking for a more unique, quiet traditional hotel with good food and friendly service then this is the place, if however you want a more sleek modern 4 star hotel then you may want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeE372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2013

we stayed for a week in Ischia and this hotel is charming with beautiful tropical gardens and a delightful natural warm pool. in a great location for harbour side bars and shops and within walking distance of main bus stops and the ferry.
the room we had was a good size and very clean with a big bathroom.
we were half board and the meals were plentiful, the fish is a better choice than the meat.
but the hotel is mostly geared up for Germans and Italians, very little information in the reception was in english so I had to keep asking the staff.
the local beach is disappointing and the free thermal spa is small, best to take a bus ride to lovely beaches on the west and south of the Island. but the bus ride is not for the faint hearted!

Room Tip: room we had was number 35 under the dinning room so I was woken up early every morning by the staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nw040748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Just returned from our second visit to La Villarosa, it was just as lovely as before, great location, gorgeous gardens, nice thermal pool, lovely restaurant and bar staff, great view from the restaurant, nice simple food and plenty of it but oh those awful beds. I even took my own pillow this time but the mattresses are just so uncomfortable I don't think we'll be going again, such a shame.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimiboo1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ischia hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Parco Aurora
Hotel Parco Aurora
#17 of 70 in Ischia
292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Terme
Hotel Royal Terme
#16 of 70 in Ischia
391 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Querce Terme & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ulisse
Hotel Ulisse
#3 of 70 in Ischia
408 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aragona Palace Hotel
Aragona Palace Hotel
#1 of 70 in Ischia
1,566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Giovanni Terme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Villarosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Villarosa

Property: Hotel La Villarosa
Address: Via Giacinto Gigante 5, 80077, Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 70 Hotels in Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Villarosa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Villarosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing