We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Punta Molino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel Punta Molino
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Ischia
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2010

Was at Punta Molino last summer for 5 days. I know Ischia quite well and this was the second time at Punta Molino. It's a pleasure to stay at this hotel. Great position very close to the beach, very good food and an excellent spa.

The rooms are very nice, we got a superior.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oluna_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    50
    29
    12
    8
See reviews for
74
159
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

We spent two lovely weeks at Punta Molino in July 2009 with my spouse and our middle son who turned 5 at the resort. Surely we enjoyed the place! It was recommended to us by a friend and I did not regret a single second and I still owe my friend a beer.
This is not a place for those who wishes to have enternainment all around. It is certainly not a large piece of property as this is not the case for almost every property in Ischia.
Having read all reviews before I became a bit worried (as always) before flying out there. Thanks God many of the worries dissapeared. The details? Here they are:

Accommodation.
We stayed at Junior Suite Villa. This was a far better choice for us than regular rooms in the main building. First we liked the ground floor and we got that. Second the suites in the Villa have patio - the fact that we loved immensely. Third you enjoy a piece of privacy there. There are two significant disadvantages though about accommodation at this hotel.
First is the service. Don't get me wrong, it is good, but not perfect - it was the first time when we get into situation when we hung out "Do not disturb" and went for breakfast but when we got back, our room was serviced! I assume they were very anxious to finish service on time disregarding what their guests want.
Second is the sound. The term 'soundproof' is, well, not about this place at all. Often we fealt like living in a cardboard house. You hear almost every noise upstairs and outside of the room. A friendly chat of gardener and service maid in the morning (if you now Italians) will certainly wake you up if not it was the same maid moving chairs upstairs ten minutes earlier.

Dining.
This is absolutely the hotel catch. Forget about breakfasts and lunches - although they are good overall - dinners at Punta Molino are something worth the trip. At dinners you get the same reserved table - a very rare feature at many luxury hotels, though a regular at cruise ships. The menu varies and it is stunning. Food is delicious as well as wine and the service is really first class. After couple of days you get used to that and you start to really looking forward to the next dinner. The food is not everything there though. Somehow the staff managed to create a truly dolce vita atmoshpere. Guests are elegantly dressed (apart from few Russians :-)), food is serviced by the table, you do not need to finish you wine - they will bring it tomorrow, view is majestic, staff knows you by name - what else some of you expect from a perfect holiday? Because the hotel is small and everyone is sitting at their own tables, you, as well as other guests, start to recognise each other and appreciate the company of each other. I wish I could speak Italian...

Beach and leasure.
To my mind the beach is absolutely enough in size for this hotel. Beachmen are lovely and there was never a case when we were left without sunbeds. There are two main areas at the beach (I skip the place around the pool as this was not our goal). The one to the left has more difficult approach to sea for kids when the sea is rough as there are some stones in the water - though there is an easy access there through the public beach. The one to the right is free from any stones, but for some reason we only used that when there were waves.
The good thing to do is to hire a small motor boat through the beachmen (I suspect this is the major source of their revenue for living) to go around the island - these little boats have tents and showers so they are good for snorkelling and just sightseeing We did that for our son birthday and we were all happy.

Other hotel amenities and services.
The hotel is furnished in style and actually did not leave me with an impression of being tired as was mentioned in some reviews. Public areas are well maintained, staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel CEO is an absolutely lovely character who adds a true charm to the place. Again, the hotel is relatively small and hence they track down the birthdays of each guest and present them with a birthcake at dinner!

Around hotel.
This is Ischia at its best to our view. This island is not splashing money around - the main shopping area is far from Capri or Sardinia. But it is full of Italian charm and hospitality. Safe and relatively quite. After the second stroll the owners start to recognise you and greet you.

Pool and spa.
Pool is nice. Someone wrote that it is shaded in the afternoon. As a Russian family brought up in a place where 30 sunny days a year is a fortune, we actually enjoyed swimming in the shade in the afternoon. The other attraction is a thermal water pool which is always really warm (+37C) and is under the sun and yes, it bubbles if you press a button. My wife tried the spa but was not extremely impressed about it, though I met a lady from Yorkshire who was visiting this spa for 24 years in a row - something remarkable I believe.

Getting to and from the hotel.
Group transfers are normally organised by buses and ferries. We strongly recommend to use personal transfers. It took us around 5 hours after we touched down in Napoli airport to get to the hotel. On the way back we were supposed to be picked up from the hotel at 3.50 am to get to the first ferry to get to the airport at 6 am to spend two hours at the closed check in desk. Instead we booked a private transfer through the hotel reception for few extra euros. We were picked up at 6.10 am and were in the airport by 7.45 to check in in 15 minutes.

All in all - this is a genuine one of the best small hotels of the world at least among those that I visited - and I saw a few. I felt priveleged of staying there and being able to feel the true Italian hospitality. It is not cheap, but for sure worth it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexander_Z_Russia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England
Level Contributor
220 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2008

Our third visit to this comfortable and relaxing hotel and the more we return the more it feels like home. As usual the staff are wonderful and the atmosphere very friendly. Do not be put off by the hotel brochure which makes it look very formal, it is far from being so. Casual dress is apparent everywhere and ‘smart casual’ dining is accepted as the norm.

The hotel does hold a ‘special dinner’ evening which has been taken on the garden terrace when we have stayed there and the invite to this advises guests that ‘a little of your elegance would be appreciated’. Having said that ‘T’ shirts and slacks were still worn by some male guests but did not look out of place.

Our room this time was not as immediately appealing as earlier visits, when we had a bath / shower, and the room was of quite generous proportions. This year we had only a shower and the room, although with a sea view, appeared a little tired with its dark stained furniture and stained doors. It was however comfortable enough, although slightly on the small side. This would not put us off going again but to be sure of getting a bath rather than just a shower it might be worth going for a room upgrade.

At the beginning of our week’s stay the availability of sun beds around the pool was a problem as in previous years but the hotel appeared a little quieter just prior to our departure on the 5th September when a wider choice of sun beds was available.

The food was, as ever, excellent (part buffet and part waiter service) with good quality meat and the tenderest of beef but also traditional Italian pasta, fish and an excellent varied buffet) as a first and sweet course.

Ischia is so appealing as an island and the ferry transfers from Naples, in both directions, via Citalia, were smoothly executed without any delays and only a few minutes wait at the ferries. Flights from Bristol with Thomas Cook, all via Citalia, were equally as good and on time.

Hotel guest are of mixed nationality with a few British guests, some who have returned to the hotel a number of times.

The hotel’s location is excellent and our visit coincided with a festival on the 1st September which was spectacular, involving a procession of boats and fireworks in front of the hotel followed by a procession through the streets and a finale firework display at midnight. We unfortunately missed the midnight display due to my wife sustaining a serious head injury in a fall in the street on the night of the festival, having to spend two nights in hospital on the island. An Italian hospital stay is not an experience we would recommend whilst on holiday but was one which was made more acceptable by the kind help of the Citalia concierge ‘Mena’ who gave us her total personal attention, visited the hospital and assisted with the communication. She was brilliant. This is one of the benefits of booking via an agent and not booking independently. We would also thank the hospital for the care she received whilst there and although language did prove to be difficult at times we were able to get by, one nurse at admissions speaking some English and an Irish, Italian speaking, male ward nurse helping considerably.

The island itself is still as beautiful as ever although a little marred, in part, by an apparent increase in graffiti in Ischia Port, the main town where the hotel is located.

A few pointers regarding your visit.

Traffic in and around Ischia Port is manic and more akin to central London than a relaxed island but does have that Italian charm of chaos. Incidentally Italians seems to accept that cars and scooters might appear from any direction and they do not display the English ‘road rage’ characteristics.

Beware of taxi prices, these are very expensive £20 for a short journey from one side of town to the other (ask for a price before you get in), or better still get a weekly bus ticket if your going further afield via the regular services which circle the island. Alternatively negotiate a deal but be sure that you get the service you are expecting. My hospital visits cost between £20 - £30 for each thirty minute journey.

Also, beware of restaurants offering ‘true Italian food’, particularly at Ischia Port. We heard stories of guests having two main fish courses, costing £40 each, and two other guests who were treated to a typical Italian lunch at the port( lasagne we understand) costing £120 for the two!! Ask for a menu or better still lunch on the beach in Christina’s Bar ( close to Punta Molina), where Calamari, melon / ham, water, wine and coffee for two cost us no more than £30 for two. There are other similar beach bars close to the hotel which are equally competitive and provide that unique Italian style.

Also, if you fancy some clothes shopping beware, you might think Mayfair is cheap after visiting these shops!!

If you going out and about some essential visits are:

The Aragonese Castle, A characteristic castle on the outskirts of town, which is an imposing construction some 115m height on a tiny island connected to Ischia by a narrow dam. The castle contains a serene but uncultivated garden, a terraced restaurant, a comfortable café with spectacular views and is within easy walking distance of the hotel.

Mortella Botanic Gardens at Forio, created by Sir William Walton, the English composer which lies on an enormous volcanic rock, hosting more than 800 rare species of plants. Catch a bus just above the port and stop at some of the coastal towns on the way for a bit of shopping and coffee or enjoy an evening concert.

Sant Angelo .A busy but attractive beach destination, which is located on the southern coast of the island and is a pretty mixture of hotels and houses, piled higgledy-piggledy on the hill facing the sea.

To summarise an island to either visit and site see or stay put around your hotel and soak up the true Italian character.

  • Liked — the relaxed ambiance
  • Disliked — no bath
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Papabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2008

This is a good hotel , but to be honest it is not a 5 star hotel.

The hotel is set in its own well kept grounds and is meticulously clean, which is not the case outside the hotel where the surrounds are dirty, grafitti adorns walls and you take your life in your own hands avoiding vans and cars on narrow roads. The main town is about 10 minutes walk, which older people in heat may find taxing

The rooms are smaller than you would expect, the bathrooms are not up to modern standards and must be considered basic . The pools at the hotel are small and suprisingly lie in the shade in the afternoons, the beach is outside the hotel grounds and is only a couple of square yards, however there are other places reserved for guests on pontoons and a small rocky headland. Getting a sun bed for the day is an early morning exercise.

The reception and housekeeping staff were excellent, being helpful, friendly and efficient. The restaurant and bar personnel were however of a more unpredictable nature, I suspect that they are not a happy team. The food was average, and not up to 5 star standard. Even though we were on a half board basis , we eat out regularly.

This is not a child friendly hotel and I would not recommend it for any children.

  • Liked — grounds
  • Disliked — pool in shade pm restaurant
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pikoupanese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2008

After spending a week at the Tramontano in sorrento, which was supposed to be 4 star, but only delivered 3, we were looking forward to arriving at the supposedly 5 star Punta Molino. Our initial impression was good - the staff are all very professional and efficient and the location is ideal - just a five minute stroll to the main street.

This hotel calls itself a beach resort - this is very debatable - with taht title you would expect a vast expanse of beach with water sports and facilities, when in fact all you get is a few rocky outcrops and man made beach areas which have loungers and umbellas regimentally positioned by two or three beach/pool attendants. You do not have to fight each day to get the best postion as everyone is very civilised and once you have been 'allocated' your loungers they are yours for the duration of your stay as long as you take up residence before about 1pm - you can just pop down before breakfast and put a book or some other item of personal property on your chair if you do not intend using it until after lunch. there were plenty of loungers to go around and there are no 'bad' positions. We preferred the beach as the pool area was small and rather lacking in atmosphere and only had about twenty loungers.

The evening meal was superb with a vast array of hors d'oeuvres which was buffet style. You then chose a starter from achoice of five and also a main course from a choice of five - always one fish and one vegetarian. this was all followed by a buffet table of desserts which were all rather similar, but there was a good choice of cheese and biscuits and fresh fruit.

The breakfast however was very disappointing. There were only unappetising scrambled eggs and boiled eggs on offer, with an occasional sausage thrown in. The main chioce was pastries and a good selection of breads and buns - although no toast or toaster!

There was a choice of tinned fruits and a bowl of fresh fruit salad. The coffee was the best part of the breakfast.

We ate at the little cafe on the beach most days and it was delicious and reasonably priced, freshly made pasta dishes and salads.

We loved Ischia, but once you have walked up and down the main street afew times, there is very little to do.

The biggest disappointment was on our last day. We were being collected from the hotel at 2.20pm so had a morning on the beach. We had to give up our room at 12 noon and were told we could use the facilities in the 'Therme' (spa). This consisted of a pathetic and rather grubby shower, where you had to run around to get properly wet. when I asked for somewhere to plug in my hairdryer (lucky I had one because there was none offered by the spa) I was directed to the diabled toilet which had a mirror over the sink and a plug nearby. this was also grubby and there was no air conditioning - supsequently I could have used another shower as I was hot and sticky by the time I had blown my hair and got dressed. We even had to go to the pool/beach attendent to get towels!

  • Liked — Dinner
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HazelBagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2007

Spent a relaxing week here and found the hotel very acceptable although would question its 5* rating. Staff were extremely helpful and polite and could not do enough to help us. The real weakness was the beach which was rather narrow and crowded. Sunbeds were available and could be reserved but the best ones seemed never to be available.......and rarely used! Perhaps a hefty tip might have improved our prospects. Giant sized Russians obviously had the where with all to get the best! I wasn't going to agrue with that! The pool was OK just, but the thermal pool was fun 35 degrees mostly but 39 degrees on one day. Our superior villa were very good...tidy clean and extremely comfortable etc. Air con was fine. as was the small private garden. But no view of any merit. Food was great. Excellent buffet starter, fish was fantastic. Avoid steaks which were rather fatty. Those with a hefty appertite will certainly not be diasappointed. Did not try the Gourmet Restaurant. Sadly breakfast came too soon after dinner but there a great selection to tempt all.
Hotel location is superb (for my wife) ... only a few minutes walk from an array of fashion shops. D & G, Prada, Armani, Hermes, Versace but sadly no M&S or Matalan.
For those who want a quiet restful break and for whom good food is important with some designer shopping thrown in then you can't go wrong with this hotel. But don't be dazzled by the 5*, more a good 4*.

  • Liked — comfortable and clea
  • Disliked — view from view
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Historyman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island & VT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2007

We had a short stay at the end of our Summer holiday. Staff was very polite. Hotel very old and a bit run down. Took a junior suite and the air conditioning totally inadequate. They were very sympathetic at the front desk but did nothing about it! $700 a night and we had to sweat between our sheets!

Pool was nice but the beach as most in Italy, was a joke. Walking distace to town, lots of shops and good food. Very busy in July and HOT!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank TaitSKi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ischia hotels
0.7 mi away
Aragona Palace Hotel
Aragona Palace Hotel
#1 of 58 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
0.3 mi away
Miramare e Castello Hotel
0.3 mi away
Villa Durrueli
Villa Durrueli
#2 of 58 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Excelsior
#6 of 58 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ulisse
Hotel Ulisse
#4 of 58 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Querce Terme & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Punta Molino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Punta Molino

Property: Grand Hotel Punta Molino
Address: Lungomare Cristoforo Colombo 23, 80077 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ischia
#3 Spa Hotel in Ischia
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ischia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ischia
#12 Family Hotel in Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Punta Molino 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Punta Molino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ischia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing