We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, friendly staff, amazing island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Punta Molino Beach Resort & SPA
Ranked #11 of 70 Hotels in Ischia
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great hotel, friendly staff, amazing island”
Reviewed March 16, 2006

This hotel is great, i had my 19th birthday there and didnt feel to young at all (they supprised me with a birthday cake after dinner on my b'day which was a nice touch), i was treated the same way as everyone else. I felt more out of place in the shopping area on the island being the only person with blonde hair and pasty white skin lol then being to young.
Me and my partner stayed in one of there suites, we had a bedroom and seprate lounge both with 2 armchairs and flat screen tvs, we also had 2 bathrooms, one with shower and one with a whirlpool bath. On arrival the staff were extreamly friendly and spoke ok english as we dont know any italian at all. Room was imaculate cleaners came in twice everyday, once to clean and once to lay the beds in the evening and leave us bedtime treats.
They have 2 pools both clean, one with hot thermal water. There beauty farm is quite small but there treatments are to die for (the only downside is that the beauty theraphist didn't speak to much english so we found it slightly hard to comunicate at times)
The food was also to die for, a buffet starter of a wide range of meats, vegitables, oils and dressings, mini pizzas, fish rolls ect... chioce starter and main course, and a buffet desert of at least 20 fresh cakes, ice cream, crackers and cheeses ect.... on our final night they layed on a spectacular buffet and brought out a pig, veal, turkey, fish, volancano ect.. all alight on fire, and the dessert was also full of masterpieces , carved flower water melons ect...
There piano bar is quiet most nights, but the singers are good and the floor is bigger enough to do a waltz and a cha cha cha on lol.
All staff were very very very friendly and yea we were the youngest couple there but there were a few familys with children there also.
The island is great for shopping, "SALDI" means sale lol although they dont mark there items down like selfridges over here do, i was buying things and getting to the counter to realise there was up to 60 %off some of the items which was great when i was about to pay 800 euros for a satin suit, and it was 300 and somthing lol. Gucci is no cheaper over there though even thou i thought it might be because its italian.
Ischia castle is a must see (10 mins walk from the hotel) , they have a lovely cafe at the top as well which is nice to eat at. The local pottery is really cheap, we brought some lovely hand painted dinner plates and its nice because you can see them making them. We also went to the st maria festival on the 26th of july which was lovely all of the island got together around the castle to celibrate and it was nice to see there local culturebeing displayed there.
Going back to the hotel, there beach is small but theres public beaches all around there island what are clean. I have visited lots of hotels and places around the world and i did really enjoy it here very relaxing!. The hotel is 5 star exculsive in its own means, its on a small quiet island which isnt the richest place around, if the hotel was in london then it probably would only be 4-5 stars, but its probably the most exclusive place on the island.
Would indeed go again.
please veiw some of my pics of the castle and hotel (i am not a professional photographer and i have not altered any of the pics)

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    56
    33
    13
    10
See reviews for
81
177
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2005

I too had misgivings about staying at the hotel after reading some of the reveiews from guests staying earlier in the year, however I can say that it was one of the best places I've stayed at in Italy (and that includes around 10 hotels including 4 that were 4 or 5 star establishments - only Palazzo Sasso in Ravello beats it and thats about twice the price!).

The previous reviews are in my opinion a bit misleading on a couple of matters - firstly re the hotel having 20 feet of beach. This is true but it also has an area next to it with about 20 sunbeds, and additional sunbathing pier with another 20 or so sun loungers, and a further sandy area to the right set above a different section of the shore with around 30 sunloungers / umbrellas which also gives access to a small (public) cove which was usually quiet and great for swimming. This is more space that most hotels in the area have and the sunbeds can be booked in advance (no need for the early morning towel race!). Even at peak times there was always space to sunbathe.

Re watersports being on the other side of the island this is true - however the island in question is the big lump of rock connected to ischia ponte on which the Castello de aragon stands. On the other side of the causeway - an easy 20 min stroll from the hotel - is a place that rents out motorboats and kayaks.

Re age group agree that most are on the declining side of 50 but there were quite a few (around 30%) that were I would guess under 40

As far as the waiters are concerned they were some of the best I have encountered in any hotel, with just the right blend of friendliness and professionalism.

The food was as good as any other similarly starred hotels with 4 choices per course and plenty of variety each day, the hors d'ouvres that could be had before the meal were similarly good (Palazzo Sasso may have been better but that was michelin starred!)

As far as our room was concerned we had one in the main part of the hotel which was very well furnsihed always kept clean and of a good size. The public areas of the hotel were impressive with antique furniture and paintings in abundance. Finally the hotel arranged all our transfers which ran faultlessly and also booked excursions etc as required.

All in all an excellent stay at a well run and upmarket hotel

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank mike196288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2005

Having read some of the Trip Advisor reviews about this hotel (after booking), we were a little apprehensive about what to expect. But the hotel is much better than its critics allow. The staff were wonderful, and made allowances for an unexpectedly late arrival, providing a late dinner. Although the rooms are not huge, they are tastefully decorated and well equipped; we had a nice balcony too. The four-course table d'hote lunch - which we often opted for from our half-board deal - with several barbeque choices and an excellent starter buffet - was good; dinner was sometimes not as good as might be, but was a lot better than many other half-board offers. The outdoors bar, with nightly singers, was better than many similar offerings - there were 100 people there some nights, plenty of them dancing. The Terme was limited - especially with great alternatives a bus ride away; and the beach area is small, though staffed by helpful 'beach masters.' But if you want a hotel close to the shops and restaurants of both Ischia Porto and Ischia Ponte (do try Catriona's restaurant there!), but offering a bit of peace and quiet, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank bristolreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2005

The location is great-away from the noise.The facilities are very good particularly the massage spar.\the "private beach" is a bit of a joke . It is sandy but only about 20 feet wide! The food was a let down. The main course was very limited,not always well cooked and often served cold by the time it rached the table.The hotel was very clean and the rooms were spotless albeit on the small side. The extra charges for a sea view were not worth while.We had a pleasant holiday and the island itself is well worth visiting.For music buffs the William Walton concert is a must.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2004

We stayed at the Punta Molina for the last week of our Honeymoon in August 04. After staying in a fantastic 5 star hotel in Sorrento we were looking forward to an even better experience at this hotel. We were so disappointed. On arrival the staff watched us struggle into reception with all our bags and didn't help us. We were then shown to a rather small, dark, totally unimpressive room with a tiny bathroom. We found the pool area shabby and cramped. Some of the tiles around the pool were cracked and the steps into the pool were hanging off the wall! Not what you'd expect from a five star hotel.
The so called beach was a strip of sand with people packed like sardines- awful!
Most of the staff were rude and definately favoured Italian guests. We felt totally out of place. As one of the other reviews points out - alot of the guests were older.
The food was bland and tasteless.
After two nights at this hotel we felt totally depressed. We decided to leave and couldn't get any money refunded. We ended up paying out more money and went back to Sorrento to a four star hotel. The four star hotel (the bristol) made the Punta Molina look like a three star- which in my opinion it is! I don't know how this hotel was ever rated as a leading hotel of the world. Don't pay five star money if you are expecting a real five star hotel. You won't get it at the Punta Molino.

Helpful?
14 Thank Barbie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2004

We stayed here for a few days on our Honeymoon last June. The idea was to live it up in Capri, Positano, and Ravello first, and then stay somewhere cheaper, more relaxed on the water and enjoy some beach time and water sports.

This hotel should not be included in "The Leading Hotels of the World" group! There is nothing "leading" about this hotel. The beach is TINY and therefore crowded. I would actually hardly call it a beach -- it is a "swimming area". The pool is very small and not impressive.

Everyone at this hotel is OLD! We made friends with the 1 other young couple we met there. We felt as if we were in a geriatric institution. Which brings me to the food -- overcooked and bland. We only ate there b/c our package included meals -- but by the end we paid on our own outside instead.

The brochure shows that the hotel provides or is close to water sports -- like windsurfing, kayaking, etc. There are none of these amenities on the resort. When I confronted the hotel on the brochure of water sports nearby - they indicated that they were nearby --- on the other side of the island!

You are close (walking distance) to the main town in Ischia - so if that is most important, you may consider this area - but I would look for another property.

Where to stay: We enjoyed the area around St. Angelo. There were many quiet, nice hotels, good relaxed dining options, views, and close to beaches and boat and paddleboat rentals. Our favorite activitiy on Ischia was renting a boat (which we took over to Capri again) and renting a paddleboat with a "deck" to lay out on and jump out into the water --- we could sit on the paddleboat all day.

Helpful?
16 Thank wrldtrvlrgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ischia hotels
0.7 mi away
Aragona Palace Hotel
Aragona Palace Hotel
#1 of 70 in Ischia
1,577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Miramare e Castello Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Querce Terme & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Durrueli
Villa Durrueli
#2 of 70 in Ischia
1,169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ulisse
Hotel Ulisse
#4 of 70 in Ischia
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Excelsior
#7 of 70 in Ischia
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Punta Molino Beach Resort & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Punta Molino Beach Resort & SPA

Property: Grand Hotel Punta Molino Beach Resort & SPA
Address: Lungomare Cristoforo Colombo 23, 80077, Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Ischia
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ischia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ischia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ischia
#13 Family Hotel in Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Punta Molino Beach Resort & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Punta Molino Beach Resort & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ischia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing