We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flavor Explosion”
Review of Al Pontile

Al Pontile
Ranked #9 of 132 Restaurants in Ischia
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Flavor Explosion”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I'm still trying to figure out how Spaghetti con Vongole can have that much flavor. Perhaps it was the amazing product that was caught a good 10-15 feet from where we were dining. The family owned restaurant is well worth a trip for lunch or dinner. We paired our lunch with a local Ischian wine. A great experience and the weren't so bad either!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MMBBE99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    286
    92
    61
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good location, bad service and average food”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We picked this restaurant on the basis of rough guide recommendation. The location is good - it overlooks the castle and is generally impressive. However, the positives end there - the waitress was rather unhelpful and when we enquired whether there was an English language menu (which every decent restaurant seems to have in Ischia) her response was a sharp "no". She was curt and unwelcoming. All the tables (other than ours) were given bread. The bruschetta that we ordered was badly burned. The main meal was average. The majority of guests were Italian and they seemed to have received the waiters' full attention - it took us over 2 hours to get the meal served and we had to leave before getting our coffees as waiting for over 30 minutes and a couple of reminders, we still did not get it. The waiters prioritised cleaning empty tables over fetching simple coffee that we've just reminded them about. We decided to leave and in order to pay had to physically walk into the restaurant. The manager did not seem to care and was rude when we asked for the coffee and tea to be cancelled as we could not spend another hour waiting for them. Overall, I would recommend other restaurants in the area (we liked Da Ciccio - which is opposite) who seem to be more welcoming to non-Italian tourists.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GMSLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level Contributor
277 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Lovely food - served in a relaxed way”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Nice setting right by the sea and very close to the castle. Tables outside have a lovely view. Fish and pasta dishes were both lovely - grilled fish was large. We should have specified starters and mains when ordering as all came out in Italian way with starter, primary, secondary and main - as a consequence I didn't share a single course with my fiancée. Service is slow and we had to ask for everything twice - that said if you want a relaxed meal and not in a rush this place is lovely. We paid €80 for two for 2 courses with a bottle of wine and couple of medium beers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Haribo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely small restaurant”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great place for simple but fresh food. We had several lunches and a lovely glass of wine here/ Very friendly staff too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravellingBarbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice place, poor food”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

First day in Ischia and wandered past this place in the afternoon...is a great location overlooking the Castello and recommended in the Rough Guide so we reserved a table for dinner. Then given a lovely table at the end with a fantastic view and the menu looked perfect, Trattoria pasta dishes well priced with plenty of fish options as you would expect. At this point I expected to be coming back again another night. But on this occasion it didn't work out...a home-made seafood scialatielli the pasta was terrible and the seafood all squid tentacles and not much else. The secondi was a veal cutlet that was inedible. The Missus ordered a penne al Arrabiata that was OK but very oily. They also didn't serve the courses together so while we both ordered 2 courses they served the Missus first, then her primi and my primi together, and finally my secondi. Service was slooow so I waited well over an hour before my primi arrived, in fact the Missus had been served both her courses by then. The fact is a table of 10 locals had turned up and were the centre of attention. After my inedible escalope had been served it sat there for 40 minutes and then we had to attract the waiter and owner twice before they came over. They were very apologetic and took the veal off the bill but it wasn't a great night. Somehow this restaurant is one of the most highly rated in the area, I'm not over critical and have eaten all over Italy and rarely had a bad meal but the other restaurants we ate in were better and in general found the restaurants in Ischia to be below par compared to other regions.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robocob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Pontile also viewed

 
Ischia, Isola d'Ischia
 
Isola d'Ischia, Province of Naples
Ischia, Isola d'Ischia
 

Been to Al Pontile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing