We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Spoilt by the food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Resort Grazia Terme
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Lacco Ameno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Having just returned from hotel Grazia my wife and I felt we had to write a review. What a let down. Having read the other reviews on trip advisor for this hotel we were very disappointed in this hotel. Our main areas of disappointment were the food and the majority of the staff's attitude.
Firstly the food: This is classed as a 4 star hotel. Well the food would be lucky to reach a 2 star rating in our minds. On our arrival at about 10:30 on the first night we were greeted with a late supper of salad and a variety of meats. This we found really pleasant and thought firstly it was a nice touch to have this prepared for our arrival and secondly bode well for the forthcoming meals. How we were disappointed!! Breakfeasts were extremly poor. The meat offered was as if it had come out of a packet from Tesco and the cheese (only every one type) was like Kraft slices. Cereals were poor quality and the choice of cakes whilst a few remained somewhat unattractive. There were times when the selections ran out (namely the ham/chesse and hot selection of which was a poor scrambled egg or boiled egg) and was not replenished. And this was not at the last moments of the breakfeast timings but a good 45 minutes prior to the end. Dinner was not a lot better: there was a choice on the majority of nights of 4 main courses, one of which was an ommellete....in a 4 star hotel. The meal stated with antipasta buffet. The worst selection for antipasta we have ever seen Revolving around a multitude of courgette dishes and abourgines. Occassionally there was a plate of whitebait and/or a plate of tuna on offer, however if you were as much as 5 minutes after the 19:30 hours start to the dinning time you would find both these dishes empty and they were not as a rule replenished. In fact very little was relenished at either meal times! Other items on the antipasta buffet were tinned peas and shredded carrot along with two types of olives. Most of the courgettes dishes as were the main courses were laden with oil, which we appreciate you can expect a quantity in a place like Italy, but this was way over the top. We are sorry whilst the Hotel may market itself as a 4 star hotel the food is nowhere near 4 star quality. The management need to source a new chef we would suggest. The manager was informed of our comments regards the food and he made a note of our room number and he "would speak to the chef". Alas that had no impact at all.
Secondly: We have seen comments that the staff were very attentive and helpful. Our experience was the complete opposite. Praise should be given to the chambermaid who kept our room very clean and tidy and a credit to her always smiling. The Head waiter was a character and we believe trying to make the best of a bad job. The wine waiter/pool barman was also a jolly and pleasant gentleman always smiling and helpful. However that is as far as it goes the remaing staff to us were just there to do a job and in fact seemed misserable. As for the reception staff what a let down. Perhaps a course of happy lessons may do them all a favour.
The hotel in general is set in an area with nice views across to the mainland and with the extinct volcaneo behind. That said there is little other bars/restuarents around if you fenture out for a luchtime/evening beer. During our stay (last week of September) whilst we know it is towards the end of season it did appear as though the place was full of geriatrics who wanted early dinner and bed!!
In summary been there and wont go back. A big dissappointment and we will certainly not return.

Room Tip: Do not go!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alemstaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 535 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

I have just returned from this hotel and I cannot fault it, the staff are very attentive and polite. The outdoor pool was so warm, food excellent and staff, especially the maitre d were so attentive, My room, as a single room was good but had double bed and shower and although no balcony a lovely area with a table and chairs on the veranda at the front. The hotel bus down to Lacco Ameno ran all day and was much needed as it was a steep hill back to the hotel.

Not much more to say all be it to recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vickilancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Grazia Terme offered a rare balance between comfort and beauty - wonderful apartments, a warm, delicious volcanic water pool, a large swimming pool, gardens, vistas to the sea, and easy-access location ( believe me, in Ischia some hotels must be reached using only 3 wheels of a small car on a sharp-incline narrow alley!!). Hotel staff are friendly and helpful. Lemon trees you can reach for those succulent enormous lemons and ask for a cool fresh lemonade squeezed on the spot! Relaxing on healthy volcanic waters with the moonrise. Such moments make a vacation unforgettable. I highly recommend Hotel Grazia Terme!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marjanacello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

From the amazing views across the Bay of Naples to the warm waters of the spa pools and the well kept rooms, this is just what you need to recharge your batteries! There are local buses (and a free bus down to Lacco Ameno from the hotel) and you can tour the island either by bus or boat. Lacco Ameno, with its excellent Archeological Museum, and bars facing the sea; Forio with its interesting churches; the quaint Sant' Angelo; Ischia Port and its shops; the garden -Giardini Mortello - created by Lady Walton, the wife of the composer, Sir William Walton, are all places to spend a morning or afternoon if you can tear yourself away from the hotel. The hotel service is impeccable.

Room Tip: Ask for a view across the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I have stayed at the Grazia Terme several times now, while coaching at the Ischia Chamber Music Festival, in both the main hotel and the separate 'Covo di Borboni'. I echo the excellent comments of the other reviewers. It is a superb hotel, with truly excellent facilities. The rooms and apartments are extremely comfortable, the views superb, the heated pools wonderful, the meals excellent and the staff simply the best. It has become a highlight of my year.

Room Tip: I personally like the apartments at the Covo di Borboni, which is about 10 minutes walk from the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Keith_clarinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

I am back 2 weeks to a rainy Ireland from a wonderful 2-week holiday in Hotel Grazia Terme (from 10/07 to 25/07) and I don’t think I’ll ever want to stay anywhere else. We had a fabulous stay here. Set in a stunning location with a terrace that has a backdrop of the gulf of Napoli from one side and the Epomeo mountain from the other. A totally relaxing stay a wonderful place to get away
from life and de-stress.
It has a great spa area, indoor thermal pool and equipped with gym area. They
also provide tennis court, bowling, pool area, table tennis and a beautiful bar area by the pool with Wi-Fi.
We ate almost all our breakfast and evening meals on the terrace and what meals!
The cost of the meals are included in the room rate if you choose half board, which is great value for money.
The food is absolutely fab even by Italian standards; particularly the insalate buffet, which was amazing and served by a wonderful staff of quite a few characters all delightful and helpful even with my spirited 2 year old boy. We had a wonderful room just 10 steps from the pool with air-conditioning and sky tv. Very clean and the staff would re-check if you needed anything in the evening, all very friendly and nice. In fact the hotel is blessed with a wonderful staff that just makes your stay memorable. The pool area is excellent with no shortage of sun loungers, thermal pools. The hotel also provides entertainment about 3 times a week after the evening meal by the main pool area. On both Saturday nights they had complementary drinks and finger foods by the pool before everyone had the evening meal on the terrace followed by a Gala show or an entertainer later by the pool.
The hotel is at most a five minute bus ride from Lacco Ameno village and the hotel provides a free shuttle bus service, with an average of 9 trips each way at various times of the day from ( 7.30 a.m. to 11.30. p.m.). They also will take and collect you from a local beach that you have free access to as a guest of the hotel (as Italian beaches are mostly private so you normally pay).
We met some wonderful people staying there a lot of them return every year. Its mainly Italian and German clientele but some of the staff can speak some English
and are always very helpful.
In conclusion I think all the trip advisor comments do not do justice to the beauty of the hotel and the excellence of the service. Even though I read the trip advisors before I book a hotel I normally do not write a review but I was so impressed by this
hotel so much I felt I needed to on this occasion. It is also remarkable the quality and professionalism of the staff and service provided. I still do not understand how come a place like Ischia is not so appreciated by English speaking tourists as much as Sorrento and Amalfi Coast or Capri, which is a twin island on the gulf. The place is outstanding and it is much more various, comfortable and last but not least so “ cost effective ” for what you get.

Great hotel far exceeded my expectations, am hoping to go back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CarolineKirwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

I have been to this hotel for the 3rd time and I hope to come back really soon. The different relax areas and the nice staff of the hotel made our holiday one of the best. I can recommend Hotel Grazia AND Covo dei Borboni Residence, here you can find two tipes of perfect relax in a beautiful surrounding. Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnninaBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lacco Ameno
0.9 mi away
L'Albergo della Regina Isabella
0.8 mi away
Albergo Terme La Reginella
Albergo Terme La Reginella
#3 of 18 in Lacco Ameno
444 reviews
1.0 mi away
San Montano Resort & SPA
San Montano Resort & SPA
#1 of 18 in Lacco Ameno
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Aragona Palace Hotel
Aragona Palace Hotel
#1 of 70 in Ischia
1,606 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA
Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA
#3 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
1,473 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Le Querce Terme & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort Grazia Terme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Grazia Terme

Address: Via Borbonica 2, 80076 Lacco Ameno, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Lacco Ameno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#2 Spa Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#3 Family Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lacco Ameno
Price Range: $135 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort Grazia Terme 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Grazia Terme is situated in a green area of 20,000 square meters and it is surrounded by the beauty of its thermal area. Located in Lacco Ameno, on the Borbonica, the most beautiful residential street of the island, the resort offers an overview of the island's panorama and it is located within short distance of the historical center, as well as Casamicciola and Forio. An oasis of wellness with large spaces, gardens and several thermal water pools. Your stay will be a unique and unforgettable adventure in the world of well-being, good food and total relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Resort Grazia Terme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grazia Terme Hotel
Resort Grazia Terme Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Lacco Ameno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing