We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“San Montano - heavenly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Montano Resort & SPA

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
San Montano Resort & SPA
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Lacco Ameno
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“San Montano - heavenly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Second visit to San Montano, the setting is glorious, outstanding service, exquisite cuisine. All the team go out of their way to be cheerful, professional and helpful. Vicenzo, concierge; Francesco and Peitro, chauffeurs are immensely kind and helpful.
The Terrace Bar is beautifully located overlooking the mountain and Lacco Ameno's harbour. Cannot speak highly enough about this Resort. Maggi N.

Room Tip: Recommend a sea view room to enjoy the harbour of Lacco Ameno.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ancasterLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurizio O, Direttore at San Montano Resort & SPA, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear guest,
thanks a lot for the nice words that I will share with all my employees. It's a pleasure that our hardwork is recognized even if there is no limit to the best service to be provided. We hope to see you back at our Resort. In the meantime GRAZIE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    66
    16
    12
    6
See reviews for
68
213
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

My third trip to Ischia and I think this hotel is the best on island because:

1. LOCATION. It's on top of a mountain with 360 degree views and lots of quiet and privacy.
2. SPA. Has 6 different thermal pools and a saltwater pool. Other hotels seem to have only 2-3. Also many treatments at prices lower than other hotels (hour long massages for 60-80 euros, vs. 100-120 euros elsewhere)
3. GOOD MANAGEMENT. Mauricio the GM is ex Four Seasons and it shows. Staff seem motivated to work harder and more attentive than other Italian coastal hotels.
4. NICE ROOMS. Seems it was built in early 70s but renovated in last ten years. Large and comfortable, all seeming to have balconies or terraces.
5. GREAT FOOD. Two restaurants (we tried both) serve great local dishes and lots of fresh seafood. Wine list extensive and surprisingly reasonably priced (for Italian wines).

It's easy to give these guys 5 stars.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank philip s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurizio O, Direttore at San Montano Resort & SPA, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Mr Phil,
your comments are very appreciated and I really hope to see you back to thank you personally. On the behalf of the entire staff we would like to express our sincere gratitude.
Grazie
Maurizio Orlacchio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

I just spent three days at San Montano- since arrival I had a fantastic experience. The staff at San Montano makes you feel at home, taking care of every detail. The hotel itself has amazing 360 degrees views and the food its mazing. Ischia is the right place to unwind and enjoy without being in the classic "scene places"... Anything you need Vincenzo at the reception, old school concierge he will sort you out.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezequiel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurizio O, Direttore at San Montano Resort & SPA, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Mr Ezequiel,
thanks a lot for the nice words that I will definetely share with my employees. In the meantime I really hope to see you back at our Resort to thank you personally.

Grazie
Maurizio Orlacchio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

High recommendations for this lovely hotel. The staff at this hotel are wonderful. The thermal and sea water pools are beautiful with the most gorgeous views.The lunch buffet is excellent value for money. Free shuttle service to many destinations.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slavinna022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurizio O, Direttore at San Montano Resort & SPA, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Madame/Sir,
I would like to thank you for the nice comments and mostly that you enjoyed the island as well.
I will share this nice review with all the staff and we really hope to see you back at the San Montano Resort&Spa, where I am sure even the Spa experience will be positive.

Grazie
Maurizio Orlacchio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton
Level Contributor
125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent a week at this hotel. This was our first visit and we were impressed with many aspects.

The positive aspects were the superb location, friendly and efficient staff who worked tirelessly to ensure that our holiday was enjoyable.
Special mention to Vincenzo on Reception. Nicola, Franco and Oksana in the restaurant and Nicola in the bar area.

The shuttle bus system worked well and was a real bonus. The pool area was always well maintained by the attendant. The pool was always warm the Spa was well equipped.

The small negative aspect was that some of the evening meals were not of a 5 star standard. The manager dealt efficiently with this issue. We hope that the necessary changes will be made.

Overall a very good hotel that we would have rated higher without the food issue.

Would we return again, yes we will. We returned home well rested and overall very satisfied.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Birdie2boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurizio O, Direttore at San Montano Resort & SPA, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Madame/Sir,
first of all I would like to thank you for the nice and constructive comments that I will personal bring to all my employee's attention. Compliments are always welcome but in order to improve our quality of service we need to know where to concentrate most , and your observation will have a follow up with the department involved.
Once again thank you very much and I really hope to see you back at our Resort

Grazie!
Maurizio Orlacchio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

For Americans Ischia is not a top destination as a matter of fact non of our fairly well traveled friends had even heard of it. We were traveling with our daughter who is studying for the semester in Florence. We have been to Italy over the past years and wanted to do something different. We took a train from Rome to Naples (1 hour) and then a ferry to Ischia (1hour ). When we arrived in Ischia it was easy to get a taxi to San Montano Resort. Wow! Breathtakingly beautiful!! The staff although not all English speaking made us feel right at home. Our room and the entire property was meticulous. The service and the food excellent. On our last day they let us stay in our room past check out time to go down to the beach for a few hours and then return to shower. Even though we came at the end of the season the staff and all those around were exceptionally gracious. We can't wait to go back!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurizio O, Direttore at San Montano Resort & SPA, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Ms Wendy. An happy guest ,after the first visit at San Montano Resort&Spa, is for all of us a great satisfaction. The season is ending in few days but I will share your comments with all my employees to prove that an attentive service is the key of succes in the hospitality business, and we strive every day to accomplish any guest wish.
Looking forward to welcome you back at San Montano Resort&Spa I send you my best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Found this hotel on Secret Escapes and had a cheeky week in July. Flew to Naples then took the ferry to Ischia. The ferry ticket area was a little chaotic, Italians don't queue! And standing on the port felt like you were emigrating to America..

On arrival the chaos faded away, we were met with a limo at the port courtesy of the hotel. On check in we were allocated a sea view room with views over the sea towards Vesuvius through some huge scots pine trees in the gardens, absolutely stunning!
We had booked on a dinner B & B basis. Dinner was 5 courses (3 served and 2 buffet service), the restaurant terrace overlooked the mountains and the sunset, the waiters were all very friendly and helpful and very attentive. The food was excellent and different every night, enough choice for all tastes. We swapped dinner for lunch one day and the lunch was superb, needed an afternoon nap to recover!

The pools are fantastic (7) , all have great views and do not get crowded. A few of them have spa buttons so you can outdoor jacuzzi to relax. The lunch bar was great for drinks and you can be served around the pool if you wish. The setting is just superb on the top of the hill overlooking the bay of Laco Ameno. Truly stunning.

A courtesy car will take you into town anytime you want and the hotel also has sun loungers on the beach free to use, again a car will take you and bring you back.

The rooms are quite old fashioned, but classic. All you need and cool out of the sun and heat. The cleaning staff bring you cakes when they change the towels!

This hotel is a real hidden gem, if you want something special then this is it. Go for the DBB option, it is worth it, you will not be disappointed with the food.

Room Tip: Don't miss out on a sea view, go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainSlog0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lacco Ameno
0.2 mi away
L'Albergo della Regina Isabella
0.2 mi away
Albergo Terme La Reginella
Albergo Terme La Reginella
#2 of 18 in Lacco Ameno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garden & Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA
Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA
#3 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
1.6 mi away
Terme Manzi Hotel & Spa
Terme Manzi Hotel & Spa
#6 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
1.0 mi away
Resort Grazia Terme
Resort Grazia Terme
#3 of 18 in Lacco Ameno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Montano Resort & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Montano Resort & SPA

Property: San Montano Resort & SPA
Address: Via Monte Vico, 80076 Lacco Ameno, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Lacco Ameno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#1 Family Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lacco Ameno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — San Montano Resort & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your San Montano Resort & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo San Montano Hotel Lacco Ameno
San Montano Resort & SPA Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Lacco Ameno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing