We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous views on an undiscovered Island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
San Montano Resort & SPA
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Lacco Ameno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2013

For Americans Ischia is not a top destination as a matter of fact non of our fairly well traveled friends had even heard of it. We were traveling with our daughter who is studying for the semester in Florence. We have been to Italy over the past years and wanted to do something different. We took a train from Rome to Naples (1 hour) and then a ferry to Ischia (1hour ). When we arrived in Ischia it was easy to get a taxi to San Montano Resort. Wow! Breathtakingly beautiful!! The staff although not all English speaking made us feel right at home. Our room and the entire property was meticulous. The service and the food excellent. On our last day they let us stay in our room past check out time to go down to the beach for a few hours and then return to shower. Even though we came at the end of the season the staff and all those around were exceptionally gracious. We can't wait to go back!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurizio O, Direttore at San Montano Resort & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Ms Wendy. An happy guest ,after the first visit at San Montano Resort&Spa, is for all of us a great satisfaction. The season is ending in few days but I will share your comments with all my employees to prove that an attentive service is the key of succes in the hospitality business, and we strive every day to accomplish any guest wish.
Looking forward to welcome you back at San Montano Resort&Spa I send you my best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 454 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

Found this hotel on Secret Escapes and had a cheeky week in July. Flew to Naples then took the ferry to Ischia. The ferry ticket area was a little chaotic, Italians don't queue! And standing on the port felt like you were emigrating to America..

On arrival the chaos faded away, we were met with a limo at the port courtesy of the hotel. On check in we were allocated a sea view room with views over the sea towards Vesuvius through some huge scots pine trees in the gardens, absolutely stunning!
We had booked on a dinner B & B basis. Dinner was 5 courses (3 served and 2 buffet service), the restaurant terrace overlooked the mountains and the sunset, the waiters were all very friendly and helpful and very attentive. The food was excellent and different every night, enough choice for all tastes. We swapped dinner for lunch one day and the lunch was superb, needed an afternoon nap to recover!

The pools are fantastic (7) , all have great views and do not get crowded. A few of them have spa buttons so you can outdoor jacuzzi to relax. The lunch bar was great for drinks and you can be served around the pool if you wish. The setting is just superb on the top of the hill overlooking the bay of Laco Ameno. Truly stunning.

A courtesy car will take you into town anytime you want and the hotel also has sun loungers on the beach free to use, again a car will take you and bring you back.

The rooms are quite old fashioned, but classic. All you need and cool out of the sun and heat. The cleaning staff bring you cakes when they change the towels!

This hotel is a real hidden gem, if you want something special then this is it. Go for the DBB option, it is worth it, you will not be disappointed with the food.

Room Tip: Don't miss out on a sea view, go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaptainSlog0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

In this beautiful hotel we spent unforgettable days in August 2013.
We are very grateful to whole hotel staff for our special evening and photo session arrangement on occasion of our wedding anniversary.
The hotel provides with all conditions for paradise holyday:
- From any place of hotel we can see beautiful panoramic view of sea and mountains
- There are verities of thermal swimming pools
- Excellent cuisine
- And the most important – very professional and well-wishing staff
That’s why we recommend to all to come to the hotel San Montano for recreation and holiday!

Room Tip: Superior Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KristinaSynelnyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have just returned from a thoroughly relaxing holiday at this hotel. We had a suite which was beautiful and our daughters had a standard room which was a bit small but okay. The service was very good especially on the reception desk from Annalisa and Vincenzio. Do have them arrange transport from the airport even if it is more expensive than doing it yourself as it makes everything a lot easier and much smoother - otherwise you'll have to decide whether to buy ferry or hydrofoil tickets and which company to use. This is fine when you know what you're doing but difficult with limited italian and just having stepped off a flight. We also had the hotel arrange a trip to Pompei for us (excellent - do it!!) and another day they helped us go to Naples (by now we were getting the hand of the hydrofoil tickets and companies). At the hotel the pools are beautifully warm - the views spectacular and the poolattendant is an absolute gem. There are no problems with sun loungers or shade. There are two large thermal saltwater pools and a number of smaller ones all with various water features and jacuzzi type air blowers. We went to the beach once but it was crowded and noisy and we were glad to go back to the haven of the hotel pools. The restaurant is very pleasant but at a fixed 40euros per person per evening we tended to go to the village restaurants as we are not huge eaters and really couldn't face the buffet style amount that could justify this. There is a small bar with a limited menu that we used for lunch which was very nice and the service here and around the pool was excellent. It would have been nice if there were more eating options in the hotel in the evening but the shuttle service to the village is good. One thing worth knowing is that this hotel does not have a pillow menu and if you want a feather pillow bring your own otherwise it's sponge, sponge, sponge!! Our bed was okay but my daughters beds were very firm. The hotel doesn't have a shop either which is a pity so you can't buy forgotten items or a new swimsuit without going to the village. We used some tratments at the spa and it is worth noting that they use male and female staff so ask if you have a preference.
We fully intend to return and possibly will combine with a few days in Rome next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonLissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Have just returned from a truly fantastic week at this hotel. Our room was perfect, good air conditioning, and the most amazing view. The staff were lovely (except for the scary Spa reception lady), and not stuffy at all. We laughed most evenings with the waiters, and would have to say that if you found the staff unfriendly, I expect that you were not friendly to them.

The food was amazing, we were there on a half board basis, and the breakfast and evening meals were superb, we did not have one poor meal. And the setting on the terrace in the evenings was one of the best I have ever have sat at, with beautiful sunsets..

The pools were clean, the areas around the pools kept spotless, and the pool attendant so attentive. We kept to the cooler lower pool as we were away from most people and we liked to be a little louder than the other people staying there!!

Ischia is a beautiful Island and well worth looking round. We did a lovely boat trip around the Island, well worth it; and a wine tasting trip, great fun, and travelled a little around the Island on the local bus system.

I really cannot fault this hotel, and any small problems we had were soon sorted by an efficient manager.

We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: A room with a sea view is worth it, amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Contented49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed here for our 25th Wedding Anniversary having found the hotel somewhat by chance. What a gem! Beautifully situated the Hotel has everything you need for a totally relaxing and enjoyable break. It's layout is really interesting with different levels throughout the grounds combining places to sunbathe, relax, eat and just enjoy the beautiful surroundings and stunning views. The staff are friendly and helpful and there are excellent facilities throughout.

One slight tip is to remember gentlemen need long trousers at the evening meal.

Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed in San Montano in June and loved our week there. The aim was to rest and relax and we managed that, our room had a sea view which was amazing. We stayed by the pool most days, we preferred it to the beach as there were many options for bathing and the main pool with it's thermal salts was blissful. Breakfast and lunch at the hotel was really good, we had dinner in the hotel one night but for the rest of the week went down to Lacco Ameno and tried out different restaurants there. The hotels shuttle service to the town is very efficient. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lacco Ameno
0.2 mi away
Albergo Terme La Reginella
Albergo Terme La Reginella
#3 of 18 in Lacco Ameno
454 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Albergo della Regina Isabella
0.3 mi away
Garden & Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Terme Manzi Hotel & Spa
Terme Manzi Hotel & Spa
#5 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
694 reviews
4.1 mi away
Miramare e Castello Hotel
2.2 mi away
Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA
Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA
#3 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Montano Resort & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Montano Resort & SPA

Address: Via Monte Vico, 80076 Lacco Ameno, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Lacco Ameno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#1 Family Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lacco Ameno
Price Range: $234 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — San Montano Resort & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your San Montano Resort & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo San Montano Hotel Lacco Ameno
San Montano Resort & SPA Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Lacco Ameno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing