We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Montano Resort & SPA
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Lacco Ameno
Certificate of Excellence
podgorica
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“nice relaxing holiday”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We've just come back from one week in Ischia. What to say ? Albergo San Montano is a very nice place for relaxing holiday. Rooms, common space, outdoor, pools area, everything is just perfect. Culinary excellent. The food delicios. Charming staff - Dirretore Farace, Vicenzo on the Reception Desk, Salvatore in Dining Area and many oithers. And not to forget - breathtaking views.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeljko o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    82
    18
    14
    6
See reviews for
87
243
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

This is maybe the best place to stay in Ischia for bathing, sun, relaxation and good service. The hotel has a stunning position with views in all directions from the hill above Lacco Ameno, which is a small and charming town. The pool and outdoor areas are terrific. Very well kept and with good equipments. We tried out the nearby beach one day. It is a nice place, but we found out the hotel was so great that we decided to stay there all the other days. The service is good and personal. We ate in the restaurant one day, but we preferred to walk to the city and eat there the other nights. Food is not that special in the restaurant... Snack bar in pool area could improve menu and come up with a few better options. Rates are reasonable, and we thought quality/price for staying here, was very good, and we would highly recommend it to all others who want good relaxing holidays!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank businessandpleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is a glorious property. Stunning location, delicious cuisine, charming staff.
Stayed at the Resort 23 June 14 nights - very highly recommended. Only
complaint was having to return to the UK. Maggi N

Room Tip: Duplex Suite with patio and garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ancasterLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We're just back from one week in Ischia. We stayed at Hotel San Montano, a five star hotel right on top of a hill overlooking the entire Bay of Naples. The rooms were clean as well as the common spaces.the outdoor is well maintained and spending a day over the two swimming pools is a must! The italian culinary tradition is totally displayed in the menus, but really thumbs up for the breakfast served over the terrace: waking up with this stunning view having a hot espresso cup is priceless!! The restaurant staff were very friendly and overall the quality of service was very enjoyable. The shuttle service to and from the private beach filled the gap of being not very central. I will definitely be back next year for a special occasion to surprise my wife…..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEL2012173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one week in May. Firstly we feel we must thank some members of staff,Vincenzo,at the front desk, for his expert advise and help. Franco,Fillipe and Nicola in the restaurant for their wonderful service and attention,always smiling and happy. The hotel stands high above the village and commands an excellent view,our room in particular had amazing views. The room was very clean,the only downside, the bed was hard and uncomfortable for us. The gardens are beautiful and the saltwater pool and thermal pool are lovely. The communal areas are immaculate and spacious,it never felt overcrowded.it was so quiet and romantic the perfect place to celebrate an anniversary. It would be difficult for people with mobility problems as there a quite a few steps around the hotel,different levels. They do provide a courtesy bus into the town it is walkable but very steep. We would definitely recommend this hotel,you will have a relaxing,romantic time here

Room Tip: A corner room with a balcony for amazing views of the sea and village lights below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glengray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

A fantastic hotel with great views and fantastic facilities; the trouble is the place has no soul. From the robotic greeting at reception to the miserly attitude that permeated every aspect of our stay this hotel is just a missed opportunity.

The hotel is clearly run by someone with a 3 star hotel background. Breakfast comprised juice from concentrate, instant coffee in the cappuccino and tinned fruit - the swarms of wasps were free, although the waiters had got used to them. The room was beautiful but our one week, £500k per night suite merited one complimentary 50cl bottle of water and the double bed was two twins with a double sheet to hold very thin mattresses together which soon parted - if you are over 177cm or 5ft 10 your feet will be hanging over the end.

This hotel expects to be busy and is run like they could care less whether guest come back or not. Their aim is to do as little as possible, as cheap as possible with as little grace and charm as possible.

A crying shame.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank markothemagnificent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

First I must start off by complementing Vincenzo. This man went above and beyond to make sure all our stay was perfect. We wanted to go back to Naples and visit Pompeii. He made all arrangements from the front door of the hotel all the way to Pompeii and the return. Its not easy to find someone speaking English on the island. He made everything run smooth. The hotel itself is first class. The suites were perfect. The pools are relaxing. The hotel itself is peaceful. We didnt eat many meals at the hotel because we wanted to experience more of the local foods of the island. If you want a breathtaking view, peaceful surroundings, and first class service I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paullo38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lacco Ameno
0.2 mi away
L'Albergo della Regina Isabella
0.2 mi away
Albergo Terme La Reginella
Albergo Terme La Reginella
#3 of 18 in Lacco Ameno
433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garden & Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Terme Manzi Hotel & Spa
Terme Manzi Hotel & Spa
#5 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
674 reviews
4.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Punta Molino Beach Resort & SPA
1.0 mi away
Resort Grazia Terme
Resort Grazia Terme
#2 of 18 in Lacco Ameno
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Montano Resort & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Montano Resort & SPA

Property: San Montano Resort & SPA
Address: Via Monte Vico, 80076 Lacco Ameno, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Lacco Ameno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#1 Family Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#1 Spa Hotel in Lacco Ameno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — San Montano Resort & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your San Montano Resort & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo San Montano Hotel Lacco Ameno
San Montano Resort & SPA Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Lacco Ameno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing