We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very good infrastructure, great staff, excellent food, misleading room photos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Terme La Reginella

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albergo Terme La Reginella
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Lacco Ameno
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very good infrastructure, great staff, excellent food, misleading room photos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed in early May for a few nights. I've been a loyal customer for 20+ years before the hotel built additional thermal pools. However I hadn't returned there for quite some time. We arrived to find our standard room that was really very small, claustrophobic, with a tiny window but clean, located in the back behind the pools tennis courts. This is now what's called a standard room and it is not visualized on the website. We asked and paid for an upgrade to the usual quality I was accustomed to which is now, not by coincidence, called a 'comfort' room as the standard room isn't comfortable at all (no chair even to sit on, ancient tv). FYI in their ranking the room quality is standard, comfort, superior then suite . I think only comfort and superior rooms are visualized on their website. This may also have been a spare room sold as standard simply because the hotel on May holiday season is fully booked. I will never know but I was insistent, a repeat customer, and a native speaker of Italian and this may have helped Mr. Sasso at the front desk was clearly tried by my insistence to get a better room because it was peak season; he did his utmost to help first showing a slightly larger, still unacceptable room, and after we waited for a room to be cleaned, checked into an acceptable room. So he succeeded in meetig our expectations even though we had to pay extra.
All the staff is wonderful and there are several long timers, the barman, Filippo, the Maitre d', Mario who has been there forever and it's a nice feature in these days of managed chains with high staff turnover. The food is still fantastic but alas, they have never gotten rid of that horrible green fluorescent lighting in the dining room. The customer demographics of the hotel: frequented primarily by German elderly tourists, Italian elderly people and now a smathering of Russians. This older customer base helps maintain the quiet which is why you would visit there (vs. some newly built and advertised hotels, or a public spa of which Ischia has several like Ngombo or Poseidon) The hotel staff are all locals but also speak comprehensible German.

That Sunday May 5th our departure date coincided with the Giro d'Italia bike race on the island so there was no way to get by road to the Naples-bound ferries. Mr. Sasso incredibly somehow organized a water taxi to bring us to the Ischia Porto ferry. I am very very grateful for that. It was a pleasant surprise that more than offset the initial disappointment (later corrected) with our room.

Room Tip: Try not to choose the standard room in the outbuildings unless you're on a budget. They do hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank reneebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    97
    17
    4
    6
See reviews for
100
133
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gerona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Eileen&Peter,
We stayed at the La Reginella for 5 nights it was so relaxing there the Terme pools were great to get us back in trim.The staff were exceptional and very helpful.The bedrooms were spotless and the bathrooms.We had half board and enjoyed all the meal the waiter were very professional.The hotel is very near the sea,and is near all the amenities. We hope to return in the Spring for another stay in this hotel and beautiful Ischia.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eileengeldard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allerod, Denmark
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lovely hotel with beautiful thermal pools!

the food was just ok but maybe it was because we were a in a big group and becauce we belonged to the group we must not eat outside in the terrace :( we had to cook our own eggs :(

The poolbar was closed allready at 15 o'clock

Room Tip: Try to get a room against the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miamuus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We came to La Reginella by default. The hotel we had booked and confirmed was unable to provide us a room and referred us to this hotel. I am embarrassed to say I was initially less than gracious while inspecting the room because I was still fuming that our hotel of choice failed to honor our booking. After some discussion, we accepted a garden view room, at the same room and breakfast rate as the hotel which had let us down so badly. (A considerable discount on the Reginella's rate for the room.) We settled in so comfortably that we extended our stay from four nights to seven. The Reginella graciously agreed to provide the three extra nights at the same rate.
In itself, the Reginella is a gracious hotel with attentive staff and engaging amenities. The spa park is excellent. I'm only sorry I didn't discover the steam room until our last day. we had wonderful experiences at the health centre.
This hotel is superbly placed for the shopping and evening buzz of Lacco Ameno. It was unseasonably hot (30+ degrees for the entire week) but the air conditioned room and balcony provided ready relief when needed.
The hotel also is within easy walking distance of Negombo spa resort, an absolute gem. We spent two full days there, relaxing and sampling it's many offerings. (The second in preference to a day trip to Capri.)
If there was one small negative about the Reginella, it would be the shower screen. It was all but impossible to take a shower without flooding the bathroom floor.
Minor irritation. We would return in a blink.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Micheladesiano, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Albergo Terme La Reginella, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Mr.Paul
Thank you very much for the nice review. We are pleased that you have found peace and serenity here with us at the Hotel La Reginella. We always try to meet and exceed. The expectations of our guests and we are proud when we can turn the holiday of our guests in a memorable experience.
Regards
Michela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

What a paradise! Beautiful place, elegant surroundings, very clean and comfortable. Stayed two nights, would love to have stayed long! Had stayed here once a couple of years ago and loved it then, found it even better this time. The staff was incredibly patient, attentive, helpful. The thermal pools a dream and the health spa just what the doctor ordered. Very professional, relaxing, quick to comply with all our last-minute requests. Loved it.

Room Tip: Our room was perfectly delighgtful with awesome views and a nice secluded little balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmfNorthItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Micheladesiano, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Albergo Terme La Reginella, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you very much for review. We hope to have our guest for a longer period.
Regards from our staff.
Michela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed at la Reginella at the beginnig of october.
One the best amenities of the hotel is for sure the thermal park, various pools at different temperature, fantastic! Food is great.
Maybe a bit expensive but is worthed.
Parking limited but free of charge.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2006

My husband and I stayed 2 nights, and absolutely fell in love with La Reginella and Positano! The staff was more than eager to help with our numerous requests and questions. We would definitely return to this hotel. The room was also very clean with a nice balcony.

There is also a long stairwell to the beaches, but we love to walk.

  • Liked — The great customer service
  • Disliked — Our room was a little noisy because it was next to the breakfast room.
  • Tips/Secrets — Be prepared to walk quite a few stairs in Positano and do not accept cab rides in the train station.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelin'Thuls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lacco Ameno
0.0 mi away
L'Albergo della Regina Isabella
0.2 mi away
San Montano Resort & SPA
San Montano Resort & SPA
#1 of 18 in Lacco Ameno
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
0.8 mi away
Resort Grazia Terme
Resort Grazia Terme
#3 of 18 in Lacco Ameno
4.5 of 5 stars 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Garden & Villas Resort
3.8 mi away
Villa Durrueli
Villa Durrueli
#2 of 60 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 stars 920 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA
Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA
#3 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
5.0 of 5 stars 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Terme La Reginella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Terme La Reginella

Property: Albergo Terme La Reginella
Address: Corso Angelo Rizzoli 154, 80076 Lacco Ameno, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Lacco Ameno
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#4 Family Hotel in Lacco Ameno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Terme La Reginella 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Albergo Terme La Reginella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Terme La Reginella Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Lacco Ameno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing