We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely Lacco Amena” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Albergo della Regina Isabella

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
L'Albergo della Regina Isabella
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Lacco Ameno
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely Lacco Amena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Really lovely hotel in a beautiful small town. Good central location within easy walking distance from all the shops and restaurants. Also easy base to visit other places on the island. The hotel is very well maintained and we had a superior sea view room which was lovely with a small balcony, table and chairs and nice view of the harbour. the food at the hotel is good, the staff are friendly especially the pool attendants who are the best we have ever experienced. Would recommend this hotel and location. We visited Ischia Port and whilst lovely, a bit too busy for us but Lacco Amena is perfect although you may have to venture to other villages for restaurant options if you stay for more than a week.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clairelowrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    65
    19
    5
    6
See reviews for
51
110
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Definitely the ideal hotel in Lacco Amena with a superb waterside location, outstanding views from most rooms and all dining areas. The grandness of the many sitting rooms and bar areas remind one of olden days with a reasonable upgraded appearance and overall 'feel' to the place. Staff attentive and knowledgeable and good in many languages. We were very fortunate in our room location and had a massive balcony private to us only. Vistas were beyond amazing. Indaco gourmet restaurant on site which is superb. Main dining of high quality although less attentive staff but within normal expectations for Italy. The pools include outside and inside spa thermals etc. Definitely superior location for walking the beachside shops and local food joints. Air conditioning is not good on the negative side, and one has to expect older style Italian style, but overall this is the best choice in the area and close to travel to other Island spots which have amazing vistas and beaches given most Italian beaches are rocky - not here!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Gwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

We spent four wonderful nights at this incredible hotel during a recent visit to Ischia. It was an incredible experience, including the welcoming staff, the beauty of its location right on the Gulf, the food, the spa and the pampering we received. In particular, the manager Davide treated us like family and went out of his way to tell us about ways to experience Ischia like a local. Can't wait to return! If you have an opportunity to visit Ischia, you must stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TMFConcord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

maybe we got unlucky or maybe we did nt got the right vibes when i read all the excellent comments on this hotel...we went there in June for a wedding and booked a seaview (big) room for a small family. bas start: we got offered a room where you had to bend over the balcony to see a 20 cm2 of sea view...we had to argue and speak to the manager to get what we had paid for (above 600 EUR/night). Then, we waited too long at the reception for the admin formalitites with a pregnant wife and a 1 yr baby after a long trip. then, the restaurant was closed until 7pm for the kid to eat. we had to negociate with the concierge to get a plate of pasta for our 1 yr baby (which was then priced at the regular adult price!), etc, etc, etc...as i said, maybe we got unlucky. but we definitely think it is overpriced for what you can get in Europe/Med sea and that service should get improved asap -especially in light of the high price. at least, you have a beautiful breakfast overlooking the sea for the price!!

Room Tip: check out the type of "sea view" you are being offered as it seems there are many "de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank divinecomedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

What a great place to relax, walk to town, listen to the music, dance, enjoy one of the best cuisine on the island. Service was exceptional. Spa with mud treatment... well you need to try it for yourself. Planning to return one day.

Room Tip: I would pay extra to get a room with a sea view, it's well worth!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank igellerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I went for a long weekend to Ischia with my family at the beginning of September and I was very pleased with our choice of hotel. It is one of those old Italian luxury hotel with a lot of charms and history (think linen sheets and white-jacket maitre d's). The service is impeccable and you can notice that the staff has been there for ages (I saw many guests calling individual members by first name as if they were in their own house!). We stayed in a Junior Suite in the Sporting wing which had two beautiful balconies with sea view (also the bathroom had a window which was great). The breakfast buffet was huge with an amazing selection of fresh fruit, cakes and home-made marmalade. Both lunch and dinner were excellent albeit a bit pricey. I loved the fact that around midday they come around the beach offering a tray of warm small pizzas...such a treat! Spa was great and I had a very good massage with Antonio. The most useful staff member of the entire hotel is certainly Raffele (concierge) who assisted us with our thousands requests, always with a smile on his face. I really hope to be back before the end of the season!

Room Tip: I would always book a room in the Royal wing which have the best views and are the most recently ren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AngeloMaccaferri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel has impeccalbe service that make you feel at home and pampered from the moment you arrive. Had a perfect holiday in that everything I asked for was easy to arrange and effortless. Spa treatments where excellent and professional. The food was AMAZING of high quality and creative - I could have papaya for breakfast. The sea shore is easy to access and the service for lunch both at the restaurant or under the beach umbrellla was fantastic. The events in the hotel are elegant and non invasive so you can really relax and enjoy without being annoyed. Would highly recommend and I cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: Think the only important point is to ask for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lacco Ameno
0.0 mi away
Albergo Terme La Reginella
Albergo Terme La Reginella
#2 of 18 in Lacco Ameno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Montano Resort & SPA
San Montano Resort & SPA
#1 of 18 in Lacco Ameno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.4 mi away
Terme Manzi Hotel & Spa
Terme Manzi Hotel & Spa
#6 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Miramare e Castello Hotel
0.9 mi away
Resort Grazia Terme
Resort Grazia Terme
#3 of 18 in Lacco Ameno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
3.8 mi away
Villa Durrueli
Villa Durrueli
#2 of 58 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Albergo della Regina Isabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Albergo della Regina Isabella

Property: L'Albergo della Regina Isabella
Address: Piazza Santa Restituta 1, 80076 Lacco Ameno, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Lacco Ameno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#3 Spa Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#5 Family Hotel in Lacco Ameno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — L'Albergo della Regina Isabella 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“L’Albergo della Regina Isabella” is located directly on the seashore, in the midst of a peaceful bay surrounded by rocky shores and luscious Mediterranean vegetation. The hotel is located in the township of Lacco Ameno in Ischia, the largest Neapolitan island in the Gulf of Naples. It was built in the 1950’s by Angelo Rizzoli. The island’s beauty and thermal baths captivated the illustrious publisher and film director. In 1956 he decided to enlarge historic Regina Isabella’s thermal baths and build a resort over the ancient Greek - Roman ruins. After just a few years, Ischia and “L’Albergo della Regina Isabella” became the centre of attraction for cosmopolitan worldliness. Celebrities such as Richard Burton, Liz Taylor, Maria Callas, Alberto Sordi and William Holden enlivened those popular years making it one of the most exclusive and glamorous destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your L'Albergo della Regina Isabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Della Regina Isabella Hotel Lacco Ameno
Regina Isabella Ischia
L'Albergo Della Regina Isabella Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Lacco Ameno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing