We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great for business, will return for leisure.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Albergo della Regina Isabella

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added L'Albergo della Regina Isabella to your Saves list
L'Albergo della Regina Isabella
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Restituta, 1, 80076 Lacco Ameno, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Lacco Ameno
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for business, will return for leisure.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I was here on business but as always, looking for prospective solo holiday. Standards are high, with staff being friendly and efficient but unobtrusive. My room (232) was large with balcony, bathroom and sitting room. At the side of the hotel with lovely dawn views. The longe area has views of the square at the front of the hotel. Food here is excellent. The buffet breakfast and lunch are extensive and there is enough variety to have something different every time. The facilities also appear clean and well used (not by me this time, I was here to work).
There are lots of small bars and restaurants within just a few metres of the hotel to soak up local atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bloodsisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    57
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
45
95
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Walsall
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This hotel really is as amazing as all the other reviewers have stated. If you want somewhere romantic, beautiful, charming and oozing luxury with amazing restaurants inside and around the local vinicity - you will not be disappointed.. This place truely is romantic..

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank CinnamonWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierangelo T, Direttore generale at L'Albergo della Regina Isabella, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to hear your positive comment and I thank you for both, the choice of the hotel and the time for writing.

Reading nice words from our clients gives me and all my staff a strong motivation to accelerate the process for the constant improvement in total quality, thus helping to reach faster the highest guest satisfaction.

I sincerely hope to seeing you again at the Regina Isabella to enjoy a new relaxing and unforgattable vacation..

Kindest regards.

Pierangelo Tondina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This hotel has the elements for a great holiday: good swimming in a safe lagoon, well equipped gym and spa with mud and thermal treatments. The food in the dining room was excellent, served by old school waiters, very professional and correct. We would come back as the staff were friendly and polite. Everyone, from the general manager down to the waiters, maids and pool attendants, were utterly charming and kind. We received a very decent room with an upgrade, courtesy of Tonia in reservations.

It is a grand 20 th century hotel with the right values, what a shame that a lot of the new guests seem less civilized than the staff.

The renovations of the common areas seemed a bit too garish, and we expected a more tasteful interior for such a beautifully located building. However, as our stay here was such a super experience, the decor is easily overlooked, especially as our room was very comfortable and big.

We would like to see this hotel do well and hope to come back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewYorkCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierangelo T, Direttore generale at L'Albergo della Regina Isabella, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you so very much for having experienced our hotel while staying on the island of Ischia.

The positive comment on behalf of the Regina Isabella makes us even more proud of our structure and the services we offer to our valued clients.
In the meantime it is an important strong support which helps us in maintaining the excellence of the elements of luxury.

The atmosphere of the past linked to the today needs throughout the skills of a descreet staff is the signature of our success.

I hope we can soon enjoy the pleasure of your next visit to the Regina Isabella.

With the warmest regards.

Pierangelo Tondina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

You can imagine Liz Taylor and Richard sipping cocktails overlooking the harbour. The website didnt do this place justice.. Its classic, 5* Italian luxury. The interiors, the staff, the location all are A class! The pool area is beautiful and the staff there, are soo helpful and a pleasure to be around! Hi to Nando! We had a week here and loved every minute.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ads7788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierangelo T, Direttore generale at L'Albergo della Regina Isabella, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

first of all I would like to thank you for chosing the Regina Isabella for your stay on Ischia and for the time you dedicated to let us have your comment.

Your satisfaction is for us the greatest compensation to our efforts aimed to offer an always better service and attention to our clientele.
A motivated staff is fundamental to deliver the best in hospitality and the people at our hotel are proud to transmit their feelings to all guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in a not too distant future.

Warmest regards.

Pierangelo Tondina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

The Regina Isabella is the most wonderful place we ever stayed at. We had a Junior Suite which was well worth the extra charge. The large rooms were wonderful as was the private terrace/patio. Every single meal also was outstanding. But it also has an amazing staff. A huge thank you to Tonia for setting up our stay and Rafael for arranging so many things for us. And a million thanks to David for arranging our wedding and to Carmen for being so wonderful and taking pictures at our wedding!!! Also Luigi was one of the most gracious and attentive servers we ever had. All in all it was the best experience ever, no matter what hotel or country. Thank you very much to everyone there for making our wedding a once in a lifetime experience.

Room Tip: If you can, go for the Junior Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jimmyc1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

When you are in your room, it 's the paradise, a quite expensive paradise indeed but a true one, amazing terrace with a jaccuzzi with thermal water, amazing comfort in bed and bathroom, a real dressing room...
I liked the overall ambiance of old palace.
I was less fond of the quality of the waiters, limit in terms of politness and kindness...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sam f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierangelo T, Direttore generale at L'Albergo della Regina Isabella, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear Guest,
I'd very much like to thank you for choosing the Regina Isabella for your recent stay in Ischia and sincerely hope you did appreciate both the structure and services as well as the warmth of the island.
Since ever we are committed to offer the highest quality in service and your comment is a precious contribute to improve our attention to the valued customer coming to the Regina Isabella, thus generating a stronger fidelity.
In the hope we may include you amongst our loyal guest, looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming soon again, I remain,
yours sincerely.

Pierangelo Tondina
General Manager
L'Albergo della Regina Isabella
80076 Lacco Ameno, Ischia (Napoli) Italy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

The hotel is very well located in a small village with a great boardwalk. The sea is very clean and the pool is very refreshing. The food of the hotel is one of the best food we have had in ischia.
The rooms are elagantly decorated and comfortable. We had a junior suite with a terrace overlooking the piazza. The service from the concierge to house keeping was excellent.

The spa is well equipt and very professional.

Recommend it to all families who want to be near all the places in ischia and a comfortable accommodation

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ebrudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lacco Ameno
0.2 mi away
San Montano Resort & SPA
San Montano Resort & SPA
#2 of 18 in Lacco Ameno
4.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albergo Terme La Reginella
Albergo Terme La Reginella
#1 of 18 in Lacco Ameno
4.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
1.4 mi away
Terme Manzi Hotel & Spa
Terme Manzi Hotel & Spa
#6 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Punta Molino
3.9 mi away
Miramare e Castello Hotel
3.1 mi away
Aragona Palace Hotel
Aragona Palace Hotel
#1 of 60 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Albergo della Regina Isabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Albergo della Regina Isabella

Property: L'Albergo della Regina Isabella
Address: Piazza Santa Restituta, 1, 80076 Lacco Ameno, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Lacco Ameno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#3 Spa Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#5 Family Hotel in Lacco Ameno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — L'Albergo della Regina Isabella 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“L’Albergo della Regina Isabella” is located directly on the seashore, in the midst of a peaceful bay surrounded by rocky shores and luscious Mediterranean vegetation. The hotel is located in the township of Lacco Ameno in Ischia, the largest Neapolitan island in the Gulf of Naples. It was built in the 1950’s by Angelo Rizzoli. The island’s beauty and thermal baths captivated the illustrious publisher and film director. In 1956 he decided to enlarge historic Regina Isabella’s thermal baths and build a resort over the ancient Greek - Roman ruins. After just a few years, Ischia and “L’Albergo della Regina Isabella” became the centre of attraction for cosmopolitan worldliness. Celebrities such as Richard Burton, Liz Taylor, Maria Callas, Alberto Sordi and William Holden enlivened those popular years making it one of the most exclusive and glamorous destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Otel, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Prestigia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your L'Albergo della Regina Isabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Della Regina Isabella Hotel Lacco Ameno
Regina Isabella Ischia
L'Albergo Della Regina Isabella Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Lacco Ameno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing