We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gemma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gemma Hotel
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Casamicciola Terme
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

Very cozy hotel with perfect staff. The owners of the hotel are very hospitality people who always ready to help. The rooms are clean. Can be just one problem if you don't speak italian. But it's problem exist in all Italy. I was with my friends who speak italian perfectly so we didn't have any problems.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lebedeva_alexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    69
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
52
86
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puglia, Italy
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2009

First of all, let's say that Casamicciola Terme in not the best place to stay in Ischia if you are looking for a picturesque place and if you like to take many pictures; next time I'd choose to go to Forio d'Ischia or Sant'Angelo.
Hotel Gemma is a family run hotel, staff is very nice and kind, especially at the restaurant (everything you ask for, they give you without problem). If you have problems with stairs, maybe this is not the right place for you. The location is right if you don't mind to take a bus or a taxi to go everywhere; the walking distance to Casamicciola is about 1 km.
Our room was clean and peaceful, even if air conditioning was not so good, so temperature was freezing or hot, never the right one. The common terrace overlooking the sea is great to relax, especially at sunset time.
About the restaurant, my expectations about it have been disappointed: I'm italian and I can say that I've eaten better italian food in many other hotels. During one week, several times we had the same dish (this is boring if you are on holiday). The temperature in the dinner room was too hot, no air conditioning.
The swimming pool is not as big as it may seem in the pictures, the space around the pool is very narrow and place to sunbath and relax very poor.
If you pay a promotional rate (including daily entrance to the Parco Termale Castiglione, 10 minutes walking distance) it's ok, but the public rate is not adequate to the services offered by the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eternoviaggiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roxielyn
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2009

Had a fantastic holiday, Franco and Rita made us so welcome, we felt like family. Nothing was too much bother. The hotel has some spectacular views from its multi terraced roof and its restaurant terrace where we spent many hours using the free broadband connection showing our friends and family the views of the bay of Naples via web cam. This is only a 3* hotel but it feels far superior with its personal service. The room was pleasantly presented, clean with en suite bathroom and plenty of socket outlets. We were treated to an evening meal while we were there, at no extra cost. Central Casamicciola is a short walk away and the bus service to all parts of the island stops outside.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxielyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2009

Hotel Gemma is perfect if you want to experience where the Italian’s go on holiday. Franco made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived and was more than happy to help us plan any trips we wanted to do. It has a very relaxed atmosphere and is close to town and bus stops, which will take you around the island. For the price you will pay for a room I would think you would be hard pushed to find anything of better value on the Island.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2009

My mother and I stayed at Hotel Gemma for two nights at the end of May 2009. I selected Hotel Gemma because of the price and many great reviews. For 80 euro a night we had a room with a sea view, three single beds, and cold air conditioning. Franco and family even treated us for dinner one night and gave us a ride to Ischia Porto another night so we could try a local restaurant for dinner. We found the rooms to be clean and comfortable. The pool was clean and adequate. Breakfast was also good (Prosciutto, cheese, rolls, etc...). Overall I would absolutely recommend this hotel for those travelers who are looking for a solid value. If you're looking for a luxury hotel you'll have to spend more than 80 euro a night. Keep in mind that North American hotels and European hotels are two very different things. So don't expect to find US style beds and things. Be sure to say hello to Ahuila (correct spelling?) the family dog during your stay :

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefanod79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2009

When my son and I read the reviews on Hotel Gemma we knew we didn't have to continue searching. No other hotel within the same price range had such great reviews.

Everything it says about it being a family run hotel is so true. Gemma's two sons and grandsons and other family run the hotel. Yes, they all treat you like family. They go out of their way to make sure all is well with you.

Franco, Gemma's one son not only recommended a good restaurant to eat at, he called to make sure they would give us a discount and personally drove us there. I could not believe it. He invited us for dinner the next night at the hotel and the food was excellent. I expected to be billed for it. When we received our bill there was no charge.

Our room had a wonderful view of the water and we had not even asked for one. The rooms were very big and we had 3 single beds in it. We had just booked a room for two people. The room was clean and fixed very nice with the tile floors which I love.

You do feel like you are family and everyone there is so friendly.

The breakfast was more than enough and they even offered us cheese and prochutti. There was never any additional charges.

There is a store directly across the street which sells fruit and veggies and drinks. It came in handy.

Unless you want to spend lots more money and stay at a fancy hotel then don't look any further than Hotel Gemma.

We hope to return to Ischia again and at least we will know where we are staying.

To Franco and family, Grazia tanto.
Elaine Di Rocco

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineLucille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2009

We decided to stay here based on the reviews we read. What a surprise. First off, when we booked with Hotel Gemma, we requested a room with a sea view. When we arrived, they said that the sea view room would likely not be suitable for me based on my height. Sure enough, they showed us the room and it was small...like a glorified prison cell. So we compromised and took a non-sea-view room (which basically had a view of nothing) as it was slightly larger and better for someone 6'4". The room was nothing special, and the bed was terrible. Paper thin pillows and two singles pushed together to make a "king". The best part of all is when my wife attempted to take a shower, she found curly hairs at the bottom of the tub, and there was NO hot water.

I should have known based on the price, but because of the reviews, we thought we might luck into a find...but we got less than we paid for. The food was terrible, the pool a joke, and attempting to check out early in the morning in order to try and catch a ferry turned into a near battle just to get a receipt done so that we could pay.

A complete and utter disappointment, and I would recommend to anyone to do research for another option before choosing this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theseen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Casamicciola Terme
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Janto
Hotel Villa Janto
#2 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA
Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA
#3 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aragona Palace Hotel
Aragona Palace Hotel
#1 of 58 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Bel Tramonto
Hotel Bel Tramonto
#21 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ape Regina
Hotel Ape Regina
#16 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Magnolia
Hotel Magnolia
#12 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gemma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gemma Hotel

Property: Gemma Hotel
Address: Via Castiglione 3, 80074 Casamicciola Terme, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Casamicciola Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Casamicciola Terme
#8 Family Hotel in Casamicciola Terme
#19 Romantic Hotel in Casamicciola Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gemma Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gemma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gemma Hotel Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Casamicciola Terme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing