We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Friendly Staff, Clean Rooms, Thermal Pool” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gemma Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gemma Hotel
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Casamicciola Terme
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff, Clean Rooms, Thermal Pool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We loved our 6-day stay here! It is a family-owned and run hotel and they were absolutely wonderful! They made us feel as if we were part of the family.

The room was very clean. There was air conditioning and wireless internet. The daily breakfast was excellent with a good variety of both hot and cold food. The bed was reasonably comfortable (8 out of 10) and our room opened up onto a terrace with an amazing view of the sea and of Mt. Vesuvius. The showers varied...some days solid hot water, other days it changed between hot and cold and hot during the time I took a shower.

One of the things I liked most was that there was a drying rack on the terrace so we could rinse out and dry our swimwear every night. It's such a small thing, but it made a huge difference in our stay. Another thing that made a difference is that they offer a discount to the Thermal Spa that's within walking distance. We used that discount two different days.

The dinners were also very good and filling. The menu was fixed and changed nightly. We were able to have rabbit one evening, which is the main dish for which Ischia is known. It was very good.

It would be better to have a car, however the bus stop into town and around the island is only about 30 meters from the hotel. This made it very convenient to move around the island.

I would stay here again if in the area and I have already recommended it to others who may at some point in the future visit Ischia. Loved the hotel and loved the family!

Room Tip: Splurge for a sea view and ask for a terrace room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathyindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    69
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
52
86
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

The buildings may be a little dated, but it is well presented with beautiful gardens and the personnel were great - helpful and courteous. For what we paid the services incl. the pool, spa, breakfast etc were fantastic. It is on the road between casamicciola and ischia porto, and a reasonable but pleasant walk is required to reach either of the two. Buses run often however from nearby. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samoflaherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Very good family-run hotel with warm atmosphere. You really feel like a guest at somebody’s home, not like in a hotel. Everybody is always ready to answer all your questions and recommend the best places in Ischia. You don’t need to address tourist agency, just ask at reception. Rooms are simple and cozy, very clean. Depending on the room type you can also have big terrace (shared with neighbor room) with sun-beds. But please pay attention that all sea-view rooms are overlooking the road that is near hotel. It is main Ischia road and quite noisy. Actually, you can hear traffic even in a room, though it is not so loud. Breakfast is very good – just ask for what you want in addition to what you see on the tables. Try dinner there: it consists of many tasty dishes and costs a little. I had dinner in the hotel five evenings from eight. I liked swimming-pool very much! It is in the inner yard near mandarin orange trees, with nice thermal water and comfortable temperature - such a pleasure when you stay in Ischia in April. As far as I travelled around the island during the day, I don’t know how many people are near the pool at the daytime. But before breakfast and before dinner there were just a few or nobody. If you travel by car, there is a parking near the hotel and you can easy reach Ischia porte, Casamicciola and Lacco Ameno. It is not comfortable to walk to these towns as you need to go along the main road. Bus stop is just a few steps from the hotel, great if you plan to discover the island using public transport (like I did). But buses in Ischia don’t go so often sometimes.
Summary. Good value for money. Great if you plan to travel around the island by car (or even by bus). Far from the beaches. Near the road.

Room Tip: Decide what you prefure: 1) sea-view with sunny terrace but traffic noise or 2) garden/pool view wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Great staff. Hard bed. Soft bread. Older pool. Beautiful view. Traffic noise. Huge terrace. Pizza nearby. Taxi 10Great staff. Hard bed. Soft bread. Older pool. Beautiful view. Traffic noise. Huge terrace. Pizza nearby. Taxi 10€.

I am happy to have stayed here. The staff could not have been more friendly. I missed out on their restaurant because I came here in the off season.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steveinitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

This hotel really is a gem!! Our rooms all had a view of the sea. The staff was so wonderful! Warm and caring and so very helpful with recommendations for shopping, dining, sight-seeing. Most of them spoke English, but we still tried our Italian with them and they helped us with that, too! The rooms were spacious and comfortable and had air condtioning! Much needed in July! The hotel is in a great spot to walk to town or catch the bus to other ports. Loved it there!!! Thank you Franco and familia! And Erin and Marcello!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

A 3-star hotel with a thermal swimming pool?!? YES!!!! Amazing Hotel, the most genuine and kindest staff, fantastic and always different food (large quantities and real Italian taste!)...ths is really a hidden heaven in Ischia for the reasonable rates they require! Definitively one of the highest quality/price ratios hotels where I have been! After 7 days, I felt really part of the family and I was so sad to leave! but I will be back!

Room Tip: - ask for one with a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cucciolo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Our best memories from our first trip to Italy are from Gemma Hotel. The isle of Ischia is breathtaking and the hospitality of Franco, Marcello, and Grandma Gemma made this a perfect get-away. Instead of being rushed, trying to see everything at once, we were able to slow down, enjoy the island, the food, and the culture. We have great memories from our whole two week trip as we hit many of the key tourist sites, but the few days we stayed at this hotel made our trip complete. We will definitely visit Italy again soon . . . and we will definitely stay longer at Gemma Hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms with views of the Med are out of this world!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSR813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Casamicciola Terme hotels
0.2 mi away
Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA
Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA
#3 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Janto
Hotel Villa Janto
#2 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Matarese
Hotel Matarese
#18 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Bel Tramonto
Hotel Bel Tramonto
#20 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Myage
Hotel Myage
#10 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Madonnina Hotel
La Madonnina Hotel
#24 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gemma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gemma Hotel

Property: Gemma Hotel
Address: Via Castiglione 3, 80074 Casamicciola Terme, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Casamicciola Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Casamicciola Terme
#19 Romantic Hotel in Casamicciola Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gemma Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Gemma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gemma Hotel Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Casamicciola Terme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing