We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning food, impeccable service, comfortable atmosphere - easily deserves its Michelin star and highly recommended!”
Review of Il Mosaico

Il Mosaico
Reserve a Table
2
Sun, 7/21
8:00 PM
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $101 - $202
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: At one of the five tables at the restaurant Il Mosaico you can taste examples of the best Italian cuisine. The Gourmet restaurant “a la gran carte” Il Mosaico, where our star Michelin Chef Giovanni De Vivo, will make you test traditional and local cuisine full of flavors and colors in a modern style. De Vivo’s cuisine is characterized by a thorough search of seasonal products and a full appreciation of the excellence of Campania region.
Reviewed June 11, 2019

My wife and I visited il Mosaico whilst touring Italy on our honeymoon, and throughout our stays in Firenze, Cinque Terre, Pisa, Roma and Ischia, this was the best meal we have eaten (and we have had some incredible meals!).

To start, the team are first rate - they are attentive without being intrusive, and their passion and knowledge about both the food courses and also appropriate wine pairings (we had a wonderful bottle of red recommended) is just superb. A special mention must go from us to Fulco, who was not only knowledgeable, attentive and engaging but who also took the time to have a chat with us between courses and made sure our experience was perfect.

The surroundings were also excellent - we ate on the terrace outside overlooking the garden, and it was fantastic.

Next, the food! Chef Enzo creates some truly wonderful dishes, and his Michelin star is well deserved. A particular surprise was the welcome dish from the chef, which was a selection of seafood based tasters. For both of us the highlight of this was the tempura shrimp with octopus water, which we both thought was spectacular despite not being particularly fond of seafood normally!

Each course is presented beautifully and managed to taste better than it looked. We both had the meat tasting menu (there were multiple tasting menus with plenty of fish and meat available, as well as a la carte if you prefer) and from the quail, to the beef pasta with blue cheese and truffle, to the suckling pig and through to our desert; another inspired suggestion by Fulco which took us off menu but which was honestly superb, each course both looked and tasted incredible. There was also just the right amount of theatre involved, for example the after-desert sweets were served on small trays which slotted together to make a square on our table, and they tasted sublime!

To top off an incredible evening, After dinner we met with the executive chef, Chef Enzo, who very kindly took the time and offered us a tour of his kitchen which was a fantastic way to finish our evening!

Everything about our experience - the service, taste, presentation, atmosphere - was perfect and we could not recommend il Mosaico more highly. If you are in Ischia and are after the complete dining experience, pay it a visit as you will not be disappointed!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 265 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2019

Our group had the tasting menu and it was a phenomenal experience...it is the rare occasion when presentation, taste, and service all earn five stars! A very special thank you to Fulco, who guided us through the dinner experience, Francesco, who paired the amazing food with stellar wines, and of course, Chef, for the delicious food and kitchen tour. We cannot wait to visit again!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jkim20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTM, Direttore at Il Mosaico, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2019

Dear Jkim20,

THANK YOU for the lovely review!
Feedback like these gives us the determination to do better and better.
Fulco, Francesco, Chef Enzo and all the team are waiting for you to amaze you once again.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2018

Michelin star - I didn't know what to expect but I was certainly not disappointed.
From the starter to the delicately prepared dessert every detail of the cooking of the dish and the ingredients was explained in excellent English. We were helped with choice of wine to go with our dishes, and as well as the tastebuds going "bananas" what a feast for the eyes. Each dish was a work of art, I never knew that pasta could look so spectacular. An absolute must if you are anywhere nearby. I only have one tiny criticism however, please could you dim the lighting before I come back next year. Thank you for this wonderful experience which I will never forget.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank psha1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2018

Super exclusive restaurant in the Terme Manzi hotel.

A small restaurant with 5 tables, which has a Michelin star.

The food is lovely, not especially local recipe or source, but is served to a very high standard, and very exciting to view on your plate.

We had a great meal here, and enjoyed the service from all the waiters.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bent970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018

I tried the Mosaico land menu while my wife tested the Mosaico Sea Menu on two evenings. My first course was a highly delicious lacquered duck breast with pistachios praline on topinambur cream, foie gras and more. This was followed by Ischian rabbit tortello and its ragù sauce, served with smoked ricotta cheese, and finally a lain of lamb Racks in cereals crust on the Williams pear, and a wonderful desert. All courses have been real Highlights, and my wife liked her menu just as much. The suggested wines matched perfectly. This Michelin star Restaurant is on its way to its second star! The ambience of the garden of the Termi Manzi Hotel matches the cuisine and the very friendly and professional waiters.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Romantic_Journey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Mosaico also viewed

Isola d'Ischia, Province of Naples
Lacco Ameno, Isola d'Ischia
 
Casamicciola Terme, Isola d'Ischia
 

Been to Il Mosaico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing