We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel Ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Hotel Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

The Grifo hotel is a five star location on the island of ischia which makes you feel like royalty. Nestled way from the noise and craziness of the island, the hotel is located on the side of a mountain, off the main road, very close to the port of ishcia. The following is a list of things I really liked about this gem.


A. Excellent food. On a nightly basis, the hotel resturant is filled with great tasting , fresh anti-pasti that is a meal in itself. Following the anti-pasti, is a highly quality dinner with three choices, usually local fish with local wine. While I could have gone into town every night for dinner, I preferred to stay at the hotel and have food I know i would enjoy.

B. Hotel Accommodations--- I always say, if i go on vacation, I will stay at a place much better than my own house, or not bother going. The Grifo is a very modern hotel, chic and more akin to a boutique hotel rather than a standard hotel. This hotel should rate five stars for its modern nature. Each room has great air conditioning, flat screen TV and a great terrace. Overall, the room was very clean and the tile floor sparkled. Housekeeping is clearly very meticulous on how they take care of each room.

C. Hotel features-- The hotel has a great pool area that feels a lot like miami beach. Above the pool is a sun deck looking out on the beautiful mountains of ischia. Additionally, the hotel also features hot pool and sauna which makes you feel very rejuvenated after a lady at the beach. Overall, when you are on the property, you really don't feel like leaving for anything, since it is so beautiful and chic. The guests are usually very chill and laid back-- this is an excellent place to recharge the engines before heading back to work.


d. Other features-- the hotel provides shuttle service between the water parks, beaches and porto ischia. Additionally, while it is a good idea to know a Italian when visiting Italy, the hotel has many try-lingual employees that make you feel at home even though your Italian may not be perfect.

Bottom Line:

If you want to feel very special, pampered and taken care of while on vacation, and only expect tyne best in terms of service, accommodations, and food quality. This is the place to be--Where quality and price come together-- a rare gem!


I hope you enjoy your stay-- I know I did!

And will be back next year!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjuan787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRIFOHOTEL, Lo staff del Grifo Hotel de Charme**** at Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear Friends,we are so grateful and surprice for your nice review and we are so happy that you are spend a nice holiday in our little hotel.
Its oppinion regard our service and Hotel has a greater value depending its experience in travels around the world. I hope of having in the next year like Guest. We wish you our best!!! With a lot of affection!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,016
    269
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
223
812
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Grifo Hotel and had an amazing holiday.

The staff were all very welcoming and could not do enough to help with any questions we had about the island. On our first day Emmanuella gave us detailed information about buses, places to visit and discounts for the thermal parks.

The hotel is kept immaculately clean and our superior room, on ground floor had a spacious terrace with sea view. The food served was first class, the waiters were very friendly and attentive.

The hotel is set on a hill which takes approximately 5 minutes to climb, which is quite steep, but my partner and I, being in our early 30's had no problem with this and actually enjoyed it after our meals out. They offer a shuttle service on request to take you up and down, and also have schedule times to take you into Ischia Porto and Cassamicciola, which we found handy (thanks Nico and Alberto).

Overall, we had a thoroughly enjoyable holiday which the hotel played a big part of. I would highly recommend anyone to stay here.

Room Tip: I would recommend a superior room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte-Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRIFOHOTEL, The staff of Grifo Hotel de Charme**** at Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Dear Guest,Many thanks for your feedback.We are extremely glad that your stay has been pleasant, the service given appreciated and that all our staff has been friendly and helpful.
We hope you'll come again in Ischia and stay once more with us! Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed at this hotel a few nights in July 2011.
We were supposed to arrive at the hotel before dinner and in the afternoon the hotel called us to arrange transport from the harbour to the hotel.
A nice guy came over to pick us up. We arrived and checked in: I had asked for a twin room in the garden, but I was quite upset when I realized they had given us a room overlooking the parking area, otside the main gate of the hotel (!?). It didn't even seemed a safe option to me, but I didn't complain because we didn't plan to stay much at the hotel.
Apart from that, we had a good experienze after all. Staff was very helpful, they arranged the car hiring and they recommended us a couple of very good restaurants around.
Since we rented the car, we were indipendent but if you need to explore the island they would bring you to the bus stop for free.
As I said, we didn't stay that much in the hotel, but everyhing was clean, the pool area was fine and there was also a little wellness area with hot springs water.
They provide manicure, massages etc..
There is an internet point in the reception area that you can use for free. They do not have newspapers though.
Breakfast was good, dinner was even better: they arranged also some veggie options for me. It was good value also.
Eventually, apart from the room, it was very good value. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank love78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRIFOHOTEL, Lo staff del Grifo Hotel de Charme**** at Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear Guest Many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor. This is our pleasure, you enjoy your stay with us and we make your stay memorable. We will continue with the same and offer you a higher level of service satisfaction. With warm regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

I went back with my partner and a friend to the Hotel Grifo, and we had a lovely time again. The atmosphere is quite relaxing, and it's nice to have a place in the hills away from the hustle and bustle of Ischia Porto and Casamicciola. The staff is quite welcoming, and they do a great job (especially for newcomers to the island) of explaining the various villages around the island and where to go.

The waiters in the restaurant are friendly and welcoming, and they do a great job of ensuring guests (families and couples alike) have a great dining experience.

Mr. & Mrs. Grifo work exceptionally hard to make this hotel a special, relaxing place to spend holidays in Ischia, and I'd recommend it wholeheartedly to friends and family.

Room Tip: I'd recommend not booking an "annex" room but a standard or deluxe room in the main bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjcantab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRIFOHOTEL, Lo staff del Grifo Hotel de Charme**** at Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Dear Guest,Thank you very much for your nice comments about our hotel and our staff. You know that you are always welcome here in Grifo Hotel!
Thank you for coming back year after year and we are all looking forward to see you here next summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

This was our first holiday for a while - and our first non-backpacking trip for years - so we wanted it to be a treat.

Our research paid off - the hotel is modern, spacious and spotless with a fresh white-and-blue colour scheme, a pristine pool and even a little thermal pool (the island is famous for it's thermal waters). Our room was cool with double doors, a large patio and sea views. Staff were friendly and the one day we had lunch in the hotel it was good stuff! Welcome cocktail on arrival was a nice touch.

Just a couple of things take it down from a 5-star experience. Firstly, the location - between the towns of Ischia Porto and Casamicciola Terme - means that really you have to get a bus to or from either town. The bus will drop you off on the main road and then it's a steep 10-minute walk through the pines to the hotel. On the plus side, you are away from the road noise, and at night there were fireflies among the pines. And the hotel shuttle service will drop you into town (or come and collect you if you arrange it with them). Be warned - a taxi will cost €15-€20, a total rip-off for a 3km journey!

The one other thing we thought would improve the overall experience was the evening 'ambiance'. On one or two nights we returned after dinner at about 10pm to have a glass of wine or limoncello... only to find the communal bar area completely empty and only the night receptionist for company. Given that there IS a bar area (and the hotel serves dinner until 9.30pm) it was a shame that there was no encouragement to sit, relax and socialise after dinner. Everybody must either go out or go to their rooms for the night by 10pm.

Overall, though, we have a lovely week exploring the local towns, sights and restaurants - and we got engaged! We came back feeling refreshed and relaxed and I would absolutely recommend Grifo Hotel de Charme for anyone looking for a similar experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fozzy_Bear_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRIFOHOTEL, The staff of Grifo Hotel de Charme**** at Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Dear Guest,Many thanks for your feedback.We are extremely glad that your stay has been pleasant, the service given appreciated and that all our staff has been friendly and helpful.
We hope you'll come again in Ischia and stay once more with us! Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

if you want to be in excellent hotel in the silence with beatifull vieux of the sea,with great
hospitality and eat delicious food, please go to the hotel GRIFO!!!All staff-
Emanuela,Pino and all people so friendly that you feel like in your family!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jitka007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRIFOHOTEL, Lo staff del Grifo Hotel de Charme**** at Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Dear Jitka, Thank you very much for your kind words about our Hotel. We work hard everyday to give our guest the best service possible, and we are glad to fulfill your expectations. Thank you again and we hope to see you here with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed in a junior suite for four nights as part of our honeymoon and could not fault it. The hotel itself is pristine, stylish and in a beautiful setting. The pool is gorgeous. The staff could not do enough to help and were extremely obliging. I would recommend that you consider opting for the half-board option as the food is absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soorploom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRIFOHOTEL, The staff of Grifo Hotel de Charme**** at Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Dear Guest,we thank you very much for your comments and are very happy to read your stay in our hotel pleasantly described.We hope you can choose again our hotel if you come back in Ischia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Casamicciola Terme
2.3 mi away
Garden & Villas Resort
1.1 mi away
Aragona Palace Hotel
Aragona Palace Hotel
#1 of 58 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
2.2 mi away
San Montano Resort & SPA
San Montano Resort & SPA
#2 of 18 in Lacco Ameno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Villa Durrueli
Villa Durrueli
#2 of 58 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
2.0 mi away
Albergo Terme La Reginella
Albergo Terme La Reginella
#1 of 18 in Lacco Ameno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.8 mi away
Terme Manzi Hotel & Spa
Terme Manzi Hotel & Spa
#6 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA

Property: Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA
Address: Via Monte Tabor 28, 80074 Casamicciola Terme, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Casamicciola Terme
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Casamicciola Terme
#3 Romantic Hotel in Casamicciola Terme
#3 Spa Hotel in Casamicciola Terme
#3 Family Hotel in Casamicciola Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1 kilometre from the centre the Ischia, near the port of Casamicciola Terme, Grifo Hotel features stunning panoramic views of the gulf of Naples, Tabor Mountain and Epomeo Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grifo Hotel Casamicciola Terme
Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Casamicciola Terme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing