We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel and helpful staff, watch out which room you are assigned though” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA
Certificate of Excellence
Milano
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good hotel and helpful staff, watch out which room you are assigned though”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed at this hotel a few nights in July 2011.
We were supposed to arrive at the hotel before dinner and in the afternoon the hotel called us to arrange transport from the harbour to the hotel.
A nice guy came over to pick us up. We arrived and checked in: I had asked for a twin room in the garden, but I was quite upset when I realized they had given us a room overlooking the parking area, otside the main gate of the hotel (!?). It didn't even seemed a safe option to me, but I didn't complain because we didn't plan to stay much at the hotel.
Apart from that, we had a good experienze after all. Staff was very helpful, they arranged the car hiring and they recommended us a couple of very good restaurants around.
Since we rented the car, we were indipendent but if you need to explore the island they would bring you to the bus stop for free.
As I said, we didn't stay that much in the hotel, but everyhing was clean, the pool area was fine and there was also a little wellness area with hot springs water.
They provide manicure, massages etc..
There is an internet point in the reception area that you can use for free. They do not have newspapers though.
Breakfast was good, dinner was even better: they arranged also some veggie options for me. It was good value also.
Eventually, apart from the room, it was very good value. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank love78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRIFOHOTEL, Lo staff del Grifo Hotel de Charme**** at Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear Guest Many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor. This is our pleasure, you enjoy your stay with us and we make your stay memorable. We will continue with the same and offer you a higher level of service satisfaction. With warm regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,017
    269
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
224
812
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

I went back with my partner and a friend to the Hotel Grifo, and we had a lovely time again. The atmosphere is quite relaxing, and it's nice to have a place in the hills away from the hustle and bustle of Ischia Porto and Casamicciola. The staff is quite welcoming, and they do a great job (especially for newcomers to the island) of explaining the various villages around the island and where to go.

The waiters in the restaurant are friendly and welcoming, and they do a great job of ensuring guests (families and couples alike) have a great dining experience.

Mr. & Mrs. Grifo work exceptionally hard to make this hotel a special, relaxing place to spend holidays in Ischia, and I'd recommend it wholeheartedly to friends and family.

Room Tip: I'd recommend not booking an "annex" room but a standard or deluxe room in the main bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjcantab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRIFOHOTEL, Lo staff del Grifo Hotel de Charme**** at Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Dear Guest,Thank you very much for your nice comments about our hotel and our staff. You know that you are always welcome here in Grifo Hotel!
Thank you for coming back year after year and we are all looking forward to see you here next summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

This was our first holiday for a while - and our first non-backpacking trip for years - so we wanted it to be a treat.

Our research paid off - the hotel is modern, spacious and spotless with a fresh white-and-blue colour scheme, a pristine pool and even a little thermal pool (the island is famous for it's thermal waters). Our room was cool with double doors, a large patio and sea views. Staff were friendly and the one day we had lunch in the hotel it was good stuff! Welcome cocktail on arrival was a nice touch.

Just a couple of things take it down from a 5-star experience. Firstly, the location - between the towns of Ischia Porto and Casamicciola Terme - means that really you have to get a bus to or from either town. The bus will drop you off on the main road and then it's a steep 10-minute walk through the pines to the hotel. On the plus side, you are away from the road noise, and at night there were fireflies among the pines. And the hotel shuttle service will drop you into town (or come and collect you if you arrange it with them). Be warned - a taxi will cost €15-€20, a total rip-off for a 3km journey!

The one other thing we thought would improve the overall experience was the evening 'ambiance'. On one or two nights we returned after dinner at about 10pm to have a glass of wine or limoncello... only to find the communal bar area completely empty and only the night receptionist for company. Given that there IS a bar area (and the hotel serves dinner until 9.30pm) it was a shame that there was no encouragement to sit, relax and socialise after dinner. Everybody must either go out or go to their rooms for the night by 10pm.

Overall, though, we have a lovely week exploring the local towns, sights and restaurants - and we got engaged! We came back feeling refreshed and relaxed and I would absolutely recommend Grifo Hotel de Charme for anyone looking for a similar experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fozzy_Bear_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRIFOHOTEL, The staff of Grifo Hotel de Charme**** at Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Dear Guest,Many thanks for your feedback.We are extremely glad that your stay has been pleasant, the service given appreciated and that all our staff has been friendly and helpful.
We hope you'll come again in Ischia and stay once more with us! Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

if you want to be in excellent hotel in the silence with beatifull vieux of the sea,with great
hospitality and eat delicious food, please go to the hotel GRIFO!!!All staff-
Emanuela,Pino and all people so friendly that you feel like in your family!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jitka007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRIFOHOTEL, Lo staff del Grifo Hotel de Charme**** at Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Dear Jitka, Thank you very much for your kind words about our Hotel. We work hard everyday to give our guest the best service possible, and we are glad to fulfill your expectations. Thank you again and we hope to see you here with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed in a junior suite for four nights as part of our honeymoon and could not fault it. The hotel itself is pristine, stylish and in a beautiful setting. The pool is gorgeous. The staff could not do enough to help and were extremely obliging. I would recommend that you consider opting for the half-board option as the food is absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soorploom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRIFOHOTEL, The staff of Grifo Hotel de Charme**** at Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Dear Guest,we thank you very much for your comments and are very happy to read your stay in our hotel pleasantly described.We hope you can choose again our hotel if you come back in Ischia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

We have just spent a wonderful week at this beautiful hotel. We were greeted by Alberto the owner and the effort he and his staff put into this hotel certainly shows.
Our room was pristine and kept that way by the cleaners. Reception is very chic with white leather sofas and vivid blue tiles. What we really liked were the private sitting areas around the hotel and the views from the rooftop terrace are breathtaking. The pool area is immaculate with plenty of umbrellas and sunbeds. I had the best massage ever and not too expensive.
We ate dinner at the hotel and it was delicious with freshly prepared pasta, tasty fresh vegetables and a choice of vegetarian, meat and fish. The buffet starters were delicious too. The waiters are so helpful and suggested a local wine which we enjoyed. Breakfast was a continental buffet with plenty of choice and fresh fruit salad.
We found the shuttle bus so handy as the hotel is on a hill. It is a pleasant walk downhill through a cool pine forest and we found a restaurant called Trizz which served lovely spit roast chicken and fresh pizzas. We went over to Naples on the hydrofoil and visited the Archaeology Museum. It is well worth a visit to see the beautiful frescos and artefacts found in Pompeii and Herculaneum. The city is very busy but easy to navigate once we found the Tourist Information Office near the port.
Last but certainly not least a mention about the lovely Emanuelle. She gave us good tips about getting around Ischia and we found her advice invaluable. Alberto, his family and staff made our holiday so special and deserve the four star rating. We are already looking to return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BirthdaygirlWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRIFOHOTEL, The staff of Grifo Hotel de Charme**** at Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Dear Guest,Many thanks for your feedback.We are extremely glad that your stay has been pleasant, the service given appreciated and that all our staff has been friendly and helpful.
We hope you'll come again in Ischia and stay once more with us! Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

From the beginning to the end the staff and owner were there to assist us with whatever needs we had. They suggested very good restaurants in line with our requests.
The breakfast is abundant and fresh, the swimming pool is really nice and there is a basic SPA downstairs which is very cozy.
They told us they were building a mega SPA complex and a roof top garden... I think we will definitely come back to see this.

Loved it

Juan & Livia

Room Tip: get the rooms with Seaview, worth your while
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuanBosc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Casamicciola Terme
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Janto
Hotel Villa Janto
#2 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
2.3 mi away
Garden & Villas Resort
1.1 mi away
Aragona Palace Hotel
Aragona Palace Hotel
#1 of 58 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
San Montano Resort & SPA
San Montano Resort & SPA
#1 of 18 in Lacco Ameno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa Durrueli
Villa Durrueli
#2 of 58 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
0.8 mi away
Terme Manzi Hotel & Spa
Terme Manzi Hotel & Spa
#5 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA

Property: Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA
Address: Via Monte Tabor 28, 80074 Casamicciola Terme, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Casamicciola Terme
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Casamicciola Terme
#3 Spa Hotel in Casamicciola Terme
#3 Romantic Hotel in Casamicciola Terme
#3 Family Hotel in Casamicciola Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1 kilometre from the centre the Ischia, near the port of Casamicciola Terme, Grifo Hotel features stunning panoramic views of the gulf of Naples, Tabor Mountain and Epomeo Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grifo Hotel Casamicciola Terme
Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Casamicciola Terme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing