We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sorriso Thermae Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 81 Hotels in Forio
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Not a lot to do in town as everything was closed on weekend (in February). This place looks great from the outside at night with its tempting neon lights. In reality it is quite bland, somewhat rude and not the high-end resort of 4 stars we'd imagined. Some of the reception staff were often rude or unhelpful. Meal service disorganised. Buffet was ok, though not many healthy options. Other guests milling about as if this is the Ritz. Free access only to the pools – not the spas. Pools aren’t very big and just bearable with the level of people around so I’m sure it would be a joke in the summer. Got left in dark at 2am in the labyrinth of stone tunnels around the indoor pool when the lights were turned out on us while we were still swimming – despite being told we could be in pool at any hour. Too many irritations to list really. A real disappointment.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Berliner_Frankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    511
    214
    127
    110
See reviews for
375
778
47
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for 2 weeks in May. Perfect place to relax and have a nice time in Ischia. Good location, fantastic view to the sea and sunsets. Nice restaurant Oasis with life music and dancing. Helpful reception, speaking english, russian, german. Good SPA center, termal pool works 24 hours. As minuses - breakfast and small rooms, but it is not important for this place. Thanks all management and staff for great time! Sure come back

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilkimilki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Nice rooms,
good reception,
good food,
beautiful sea view for comfort rooms,
nice pools,
excellent spa,
very good price

Room Tip: choose confort sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fabrizio_guide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wageningen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

The first night we had a problem with the room ( closed by Oasis disco ). We asked for a quiet room and received a room in silent place of the resort. The Pool sometimes were hot and sometimes warm, but it was a good service. Also the food was very good. A nice place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

It was awful. Disgusting service. Road to the sea is inconvenient. The most awful beginning of a honeymoon which only could be.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Anastasia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

The hotel was booked on the official website, comfort room, seaside, FB, FP (P=price). First night we've had a tiny room, seaside, though ridicoulus in size and comfort. I've requested in advance via email to the management to confirm the quality and services. Of course he did. I've replied that in case it wasn't I'd quit. He didn't reply.. Not a good sign. In fact.. So the guy, a bit disappointed (this is his personality, I'm the director and I direct whatever), but he toured me around the day later. Other rooms were also not that close to what you expect form a 4 star hotel. However, the room we've eventually got was on the other complex (in front the main one), with a ridicoulous 2 single bed joined so to become a qeen size one.. We couldn't sleep together and every night was a pain experience for my back. Thank you. I've asked for a modification on the matter. You know the answer. But you could enjoy both the seaview and the hotel view.. Amazing, especially the Hotel view, I mean. And more at night, when they were playing music. Why miss some of all the notes while trying to get asleep?
But let's feed ourselves. The food was ok, quite ripetitive the antipasti indeed, while the added value to the basics of mediterranean kitchen was the culinary style and the poetry on the menues. Breakfast was also kinda basic, abundant and with cheap stuff (pre cooked croissants, tons of yoghurt, the very same fruit every day, and the water abundant juices...). Mmhh.. The SPA? Ok. See the Mediterana or Claudius Therme then you are in a SPA. You can use a tiny sauna free of charge (till 19 hrs, just like the gym), but be aware the rest like the turkish bath, or the indoor pools need to be booked in advance (not exactly free of charge), a fact you wouldn't expect in a SPA hotel which already charges you enough, in my opinion, and comparing to what I get around Europe. Btw, the showers (emotional-ly) do not work. But the only maintainer is all day long fixing here and there, and he is serious and efficient, though there in the SPA it seems they have some other problem at system level.
But if you go there for massages etc they are pros and plenty of rooms and everything you need, well managed and clean, I must say.
However, you can enjoy the pool outside, which is ok, although the terrace is not big enough to accomodate all (well, a percentage goes around, on the beaches etc, thus I'd say the majority or so) the guests, therefore people wake up early to occupy their seats, have breakfast then all day long to defend their conquered positions with any legal and not legal means. No seats left of course, so you might want to go to the beach then. There you go. A nice silver driver (he is really a nice guy) provides the service to the beach, five mins and you are at Citara, to arrange yourself to find a place..Mmhhh.. I'd expect the hotel has some private beach.. But the it seems I want to put contraints. So, let's contiinue. If you want you can go the to the Poseidon's garden. Ok, the move is worth the fact that you are there, but do not exaggerate. Also because you will find yourself replicating the conquer of the chair just like you do normally, or daily, at the Sorriso. So, what you do then? Have a moped and off you go, but choose well the beach. Or, if you have a car, arrange with the hotel staff to have the other ones blocking you moved half an hour before the estimated time of departure (guests leave the car keys at the reception, by default). The parking spaces are just not enough, very. And of course there is no roof to shield your seats from sun heating. But the guys work very hard, don't get me wrong, I'm serious here, they are fast and reliable, and they do deserve respect and consideration (also some other kind of attention and recognition from the entrepreneurs). Fact is, I'm of the (convinced) idea that the owners should invest more and provide better quality, better and coherent infrastructures, and convince the cook to improve to a 4 star level kitchen, instead of focusing on 5 star 'sounding menues and try do good in fridge management. All in all was I happy? No. But the personnel is very nice and helpful, the food is ok (on the way to improve to 4 star), and Ischia is worth the effort. Sorriso, you have brilliant personnel, but you need to change.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Botheringmesomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2011

I thought that when I looked on the website, that I would be getting the room you see. Wrong we were given a very small double room on a ground floor with no view, as it was obscured by Palm Trees. Every Morning I was woken up by a high pitched noise coming ffom some sort of pool cleaning machine. the breakfasdt we had was laughable, for cereal, it was a bowl the size of an egg cup and a massive spoon the eat it with, there was also croissants and yoghart. the staff were rude in the Restuarant but the Reception staff were quite friendly. the only good thing about this place was the lower Thermal pool, the view was spectacular and the tempreture was 35 degrees.In my view it is seriously over priced for what you get.

Room Tip: dont expect a great room unless you pay a lot of money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FerrariV12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Forio hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Terme Mediterraneo
0.1 mi away
Semiramis Hotel de Charme Ischia
2.3 mi away
Garden & Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Family Spa Hotel Le Canne
1.7 mi away
Punta Chiarito Resort Hotel Ristorante
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terme Royal Palm
Hotel Terme Royal Palm
#19 of 81 in Forio
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorriso Thermae Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorriso Thermae Resort & Spa

Property: Sorriso Thermae Resort & Spa
Address: Via Provinciale Panza 209 | Baia di Citara, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Forio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Forio
#8 Spa Hotel in Forio
#9 Luxury Hotel in Forio
#18 Family Hotel in Forio
#22 Romantic Hotel in Forio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sorriso Thermae Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Sorriso Thermae Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorriso Thermae Hotel
Sorriso Thermae Resort & Spa Isola D'Ischia/Forio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing