We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marginally better than we thought.......”
Review of Villa Gilda

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Forio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Gilda
Ranked #67 of 81 Hotels in Forio
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Not many reviews to be found on this place, so we were quite anxious about it! The manager was helpful we thought, the unit was ok, not more than that, but clean and had a little patio. Just wish they would cut the huge tall trees and there might have been a sea view!! The pool was great, always plenty of sun beds available, but the restaurant seemed quiet. We were the only English speakers, everyone was Italian. We don't have a problem with that. It is a very small resort, more like a B & B but self catering. You definitely need a car, but it is a catch 22 situation as the driving on the island is horrifyingly frightening!! We have driven through most capitals in Erurope and are fairly fearless, but this was something else!! A white knucke ride every time we left the complex. Forio itself is a quaint village, but no good restaurants there. Head off to the other side of the island (a very short trip!) and the standard improves.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwillsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 14 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2011

As the other reviewer said, the manager was useless, staff provided NO tourist info, there was lots of green mold on the buildings/walls, several broken items in bathroom plus shower mold, kitchen very, very poorly equipped, thermal pool was cold, restaurant was non-existent! No value for cost. I don't see how they stay open and be competitive with other Forio/Panza hotels/spas!

Booked for a week and left after 2 nights! We use lots of condominiums/time shares and this is a totally ripoff for people looking for a lovely, well-run holiday. I have also written to RCI listing the same problems. My wife was terribly disappointed and sad that we were to remain there for 7 nights so, happily, we left. Bottom line -- don't go there!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Monty083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2007

This resort, also called Villa Gilda, is located on Ischia, an island in the bay of Naples and reached via a 45 minute ferry or hydrofoil ride from Molo Beverello dock in the Naples seaport. Do not disembark at Casamicciola (we stopped there and it cost us over 30 euros to reach the resort from there.) The ferry will continue on to Forio where the taxi ride to the resort would only be less than 15 euros. The ferry ride cost about 16 euros per person with the luggage.

The resort is located up in the hills, overlooking the sea, the town of Forio and orchards and has a sweeping view of the mountains (highest is Monte Epomeo at 789 meters.) The resort is a timeshare property with fully furnished apartments. The unit and the resort premises were clean and appeared secure. Our downstairs unit had a separate bedroom, a kitchen fully stocked with utensils (no microwave and dishwasher) and a terrace. The shower stall was very tight. There was space for 2-6 people to sleep in (including a bunk bed and the sofa sleeper.)

During our stay, they were fixing the pool so that was not available but the whirlpool/hot tub filled with natural hot thermal water was always open. We used it and liked it. The few guests we saw were mostly elderly tourists.

Since we had a kitchen, we shopped for food and groceries at a Di Per Di supermarket that was a 10 minute walk down the hill. Food prices were OK and it was cheaper to cook than eat out. Plus the resort restaurant only opened from 8 PM, a bit late for my heartburned digestion. Their dinner cost 15 euros per person.

The town of Panza was a 15 minute walk and it had shops, restaurants, a church and even an internet point. The island itself is small enough to be seen in a day. You can ride the bus for 1.25 euro and it travels around the island. Shopping was available in Forio but shops were closed from 1-4 PM for the lunch or siesta break; restaurants, from 2-7 PM. Same with the reception desk. The manager also went for his siesta breaks. Unfortunately he was the only one who could speak English. The assistant spoke only French and Italian and it was a good thing that my wife spoke some French so there was at least some communication. An old gentleman who appeared to live in the resort was trying to be helpful with our queries but he only spoke Italian so that was no help.

We stayed from February 14 to 18 and it rained 2 of the 4 days we were there so we did not travel around much. At night, it was very windy and cold but the unit had good sound and weather nsulation that we did not hear the noise nor felt cold. The TV channels were all Italian. The resort charges a utility fee and a refundable deposit of 150 euros and only accepts AMEX cards.

There was really nothing much to do because of the weather. The resort itself had few amenities. This place would be ideal for honeymooners or those wanting a quiet , private and relaxed vacation. Not for us. We wanted to see more places. We were booked for 6 nights but left after 3 nights and found a hotel in Naples.

Stayed: February 2007
4  Thank filamblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: piano terra con giardino davanti e uscita in piscina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank emilio r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Von den oberen stockwerken hat man auch Aussicht aufs Meer, allerdings kein Lift. A
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hildemille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017
Thank trussardimarco57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valeria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Forio hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#13 of 37 in Forio
117 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sorriso Thermae Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Pensione Villa Mafalda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Paradise Beach Hostel
2.7 mi away
Family Spa Hotel Le Canne
0.6 mi away
Villa Natalina
Villa Natalina
#10 of 37 in Forio
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Gilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Gilda

Address: Via Forche 3, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Forio
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Forio
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Villa Gilda Isola D'Ischia/Forio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing