We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Carolina
Ranked #32 of 81 Hotels in Forio
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“terrible”
Reviewed July 20, 2010

No parking places for guests! No swimming pool (the pool is only 2m x 2m), internal pool is open only 2 hours by day (during a breakfast!)! Not so friendly staff, very bad services in reception (not multilingual, only very basic english). Very expensive bar, minibar and restaurant. Bad dishes, small and dirty rooms, mould and falling plaster at hall.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank advokat_kanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    81
    41
    10
    14
See reviews for
47
102
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2010

This hotel was our worst choice... it was the last hotel where we planned to stay in the island, and it definitely ruined our vacation!!!
The hotel is a common building, without any charm, very small rooms, even though the hotel is new, is yet in very, very, bad condition.
The worst part are the people working there. We found hair on the bed and they said nothing…
They are useless and not professional at all.
Forio is not a touristic town don’t waste your time.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank entrepajaros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2010

We have been to Ischia several times but last year we stayed in Villa Carolina, in Forio, within walking distance from the ferries. We had a wonderful time. The food was fantastic, the service was excellent, and the staff was unfailingly professional. Best of all, the location is great, few meters from the beach and to the center, shops, etc. The rooms are simply beautiful and very nicely furnished. Our friends had a baby so they booked a family room with a raised deck, or mezanine, where the was the main bedroom. On the roof there's a nice, quiet pool with a fantastic view of the port.
We went back to villa carolina last week and I would suggest this hotel to anyone who wish to find a nice, clean and elegant hotel in Ischia!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OSGTEAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2008

True, the hotel is new and in a good location, the rooms are small but if the rest was good your could bear with it. first the closet does not excist, and in the room that you have a huge closet, inside there are no divisions or drawers. The TV it is also so small that you can't believe that in a 4 star hotel you would have such a TV. (forget plasma TV). The bathroom it's ok the only thing is if you are a bit fat or big, the compartment of the shower it is very small but the water comes out GREAT.
second. If you need to work or do something using internet forget it, it is paid, but that is nothing, when you pay the conection does not work, and the people there do not help at all.
Third, the pool area, the pool it is as small as the TV, but that is not the worse thing, we went in september which is starting the autum and the pool was not heated, when they tell you that the pool is heated. When go in you think you are in siberia.
foruth and most important is the attention of the poeple that work there. That was a DESASTERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR
I will not even explain all the things that happen.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank silviArgentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2008

We have just returned from a perfect holiday in Ischia and part of the responsibility for that lies with Hotel Villa Carolina in the marina port of Foria. The hotel was immaculate with fantastic views of the marina, beach, mountains and out to sea. Despite being on the main road through Foria, which is quaint, not a main highway, it was very well soundproofed. The hotel caters for everyone, including families, couples and individuals. The theme is one of a boutique hotel, but life was made very easy for us and allowed us to relax and enjoy the beautiful island of Ischia and all that it has to offer. The island's visitors are on the main Italians, but that only enhances the atmosphere as it is very genuine as opposed to its sister island Capri which does lean towards promoting itself on the tourist route. We loved Ischia and would recommend it as a holiday place to anyone.

  • Liked — The siting of the hotel
  • Disliked — The pool was quite small - rather large jacuzzi really
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SableLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2007

We spent 4 days in June this year and we really enjoyed it. It has been refurbished recently and it is really contemporary, something we like.
The only down side is that the rooms called 'last minute' are infact not very pleasant, and they are quite cheap, so very tempting. We had to upgrade to a better/standard room because our room was really damp, dark and humid, even with 40 degrees outside!
The staff was really helpful and overall we liked it, but I would not raccomend the cheap rooms to anybody.
Great swimingpool on the roof and fantastic location, so close to everything!
Forio is a great relaxing place.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Definitelygio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando, florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2007

i stayed at villa carolina in sept. after all the summer crowds had left the island and that's probably why we had the hotel and staff to ourselves. the room was incredible, a little small but it did it's job... the view we had from our balcony was of the port and was incredible at night and in the morning. the staff was awesome, especially the bellboy, Jimmy, who drove the mini bus to the beaches... he ended up being our personal tourguide, taking my cousin and i on little sightseeing trips here and there when he could escape from the hotel. the food at the restaurant next door was great and since everything was included it was a great value. the hotel had just opened 4 months before we got there so there was no beauty center yet, but no matter, the place itself was magical. my cousin and i even got photographed in the pool and put on the cover of their brochure (the pictures are below)! I would highly recommend it to anyone, there's nothing bad to be said about villa carolina!

  • Liked — location and staff
  • Disliked — nothing, it was all incredible!
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank emanuelab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Forio hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nettuno
Hotel Nettuno
#14 of 81 in Forio
241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lord Byron
Hotel Lord Byron
#26 of 81 in Forio
382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Terme Zi Carmela
Hotel Terme Zi Carmela
#31 of 81 in Forio
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Angela
Hotel Villa Angela
#42 of 81 in Forio
146 reviews
1.5 mi away
Garden & Villas Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ideal
Hotel Ideal
#13 of 81 in Forio
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Carolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carolina

Property: Hotel Villa Carolina
Address: Via Marina 50/55, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Forio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Forio
#16 Spa Hotel in Forio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carolina 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Carolina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolina Hotel Ischia
Hotel Villa Carolina Isola D'Ischia/Forio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing