We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Carolina
Ranked #31 of 81 Hotels in Forio
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

On arrival we were quite disappointed with the room, it was very small and next to the spa so very noisy. We moved to another room which was much more spacious. The rooms were cleaned every day, air conditioning was nice and cool, breakfast was good, small selection of salami, cheese and breads as well as pastries, fruits and cereals, I especially liked the cake! Also had a cooked selection which didn't look very inviting but actually tasted ok! Didn't have evening meals there, but had a few drinks at the bar which were really cheap. Mini-bar was expensive though, go to the supermarket for water!! Bar could be advertised a bit better, menus for food and drinks, etc. Pool on the roof top was very relaxing, and quiet most of the time. Staff were helpful and friendly. Did not use the spa. There is a door out from the roof top which leads straight into the town, and our favourite restaurant Martinarosa was a couple of doors away from the front entrance. Brilliant location, right on the front by the beach, close to the restaurants and shops, the ferry port, and the bus stop which is the easiest and cheapest way to travel around the island. Places well worth a visit... Negombo Spa resort, S. Angello, and Giardini La Mortella. We would stay here again, by the end of the week we were very sad to leave!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahLuisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    77
    40
    10
    14
See reviews for
45
100
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We booked the Hotel Carolina via Last Minute . Com ,so got a good deal. For what we paid, the hotel was good, clean, modern, great location by the harbour and hydrofoil jetty. Breakfast was ok, but we were normally quite late in , half 9, plenty of cereals, fruit etc but the hot stuff, bacon, scrambled eggs etc, had by then been sitting since 8,so were either empty of well stewed .
As mentioned by others, the room aircon is controlled by reception. They did seem to turn it off or sometimes turn it up but a quick call to reception soon resolved this small irritation. Maybe they thought it was cold and we'd be too cold ! ( it was only mid 20's and the locals all had big coats on )
Overall though, a nice hotel to stay at providing the price is right. For transport around the island, we hired a scooter locally and really enjoyed the freedom to roam at will. I would say though that previous riding experience is essential, the southern roads are tricky and the locals ignore most traffic rules ! Fun though !

Room Tip: We went with last minuet . Com and they only have standard rooms .The room itself was fine but it on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We booked the last minute cheap room. It turned out to be on the roof with the pool, very clean, very convenient. Small but enough for us. There was a door out to the town from the roof. We did not eat any meals there but there are plenty of restaurants nearby (La Bella Napoli being the best we ate at). Close to beach, center of town, and a bus station. The bathroom was small, but very clean and good plumbing. The staff at the desk was very helpful.

Room Tip: Our roof room was air conditioned and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhotoGirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

What a real treat to be able to get off the boat in Forio and roll your suitcase a block to get to this hotel! It was very clean, very nice, recently renovated (I believe they are still going through renovations, so keep that in mind. It's not a bother if you're not super sensitive.)

Easy walk from there to the beaches. You can even go for a run along the coast to Citara if you want to get some exercise in. Super delicious restaurants nearby, and gelato galore! We were so comfortable that the first night we slept in until 1 pm!! The blinds made the room so dark, and the AC was so comfortable, that we just kept sleeping.

The spa is great! The pool, although a little small (but as to be expected for a roof pool), is perfect for dipping in to keep cool. Most people go to the beach (which you have to pay to get umbrellas and chairs), and the roof was empty and free! So not too bad of an option.

The staff was exceptionally friendly and knowledgable about the area. But really it's a place to come and relax.

Oh, it is also a 25 minute bus ride (1.40 euros) to Ischia if you want to check out someplace other than Forio... The buses run late too, so it's great to head over to another part of teh Island for dinner or shopping and come back! Beats the 30 euro taxi ride. : )

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SChantalMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

This hotel is an ideal location, with lovely helpful staff and a really relaxing atmosphere. Breakfast was OK, the pool on the roof is a plunge pool, not a swimming pool but nice never the less. Comfy beds. The room we were assigned had a high ceiling which had mini windows which were like bathroom windows so you could not see out and they let virtually no light in which made our room a bit of a tomb! The aircon either worked full on freezing or we had to call reception to switch it off, which with no windows to open made it very stuffy! The bathroom was nice, shower was small but all clean. No bathrobe or slippers to be found as adveti\sed on expedia and as we had booked with expedia they would not move us to another room. The Bed was large and comfy and it was quite clean. Again, that staff were for the most part very friendly. The room was disappointed only because of the window situation. Again - Location is perfect.

Room Tip: ensure you get a room with a window!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveltastica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perugia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

We have just arrived back from Ischia and stayed in the Villa Carolina - we have no complaints at all except maybe the parking. But we got a place right outside the hotel for 8 euros a day. The situation of the hotel could not be beaten and we loved our room. The roof top terrace was lovely with wonderful views. We had half board and thought the food was excellent. The staff could not have been more helpful and the hotel was spotless. We are planning our next trip there in May.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfidler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

No parking places for guests! No swimming pool (the pool is only 2m x 2m), internal pool is open only 2 hours by day (during a breakfast!)! Not so friendly staff, very bad services in reception (not multilingual, only very basic english). Very expensive bar, minibar and restaurant. Bad dishes, small and dirty rooms, mould and falling plaster at hall.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank advokat_kanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Forio hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nettuno
Hotel Nettuno
#20 of 81 in Forio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lord Byron
Hotel Lord Byron
#24 of 81 in Forio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Terme Zi Carmela
Hotel Terme Zi Carmela
#29 of 81 in Forio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Franca
Hotel Villa Franca
#58 of 81 in Forio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Angela Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ideal
Hotel Ideal
#12 of 81 in Forio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Carolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carolina

Property: Hotel Villa Carolina
Address: Via Marina 50/55, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Forio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Forio
#15 Spa Hotel in Forio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carolina 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Carolina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolina Hotel Ischia
Hotel Villa Carolina Isola D'Ischia/Forio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing