We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place we will remember”
Review of Poggio del Sole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Poggio del Sole
Ranked #27 of 81 Hotels in Forio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Jena, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A place we will remember”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We really loved this hotel. The Collela family, specially Lorenzo, made everything they could to make our stay a pleasure. We were very touched by their hospitality. The food at the restaurant is the best in the island. Everything we tasted was great. I got the impression many products are self-grown. Although the hotel is a bit far up in the mountains, it offers an excellent view and a quiet place to relax surrounded by nature. When ever possible we were offered us a ride down to the beach or the thermal baths. It is really a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonasol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    39
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
56
85
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is probably one of the best places that I have stayed to date and is now in my top 5 list. Family run, its is welcoming and totally charming.

The hotel is about a 20-25 minute walk from Forio Port (or about 5 minutes by bus/car or Vespa). This is not so bad as you are in a good quiet spot with excellent views of the Port.

Pro's:

1. Lorenzo and his family make you feel welcome the moment that you walk into the hotel. The atmosphere is therapeutic.

2. The rooms are large (I had a single with double bed) and have balconies overlooking the Port of Forio. They are also spotlessly cleaned everyday.

3. Free Wifi (A first for me in Italy so far). You get very good connection in the apartments

4. Location. The location of the hotel is superb. You really need to have wheels, but even if you walk it or take the bus you can get to most parts easily. As a guide (by foot): Forio Harbour (25 mins), Casamiccola (30 mins) and Lacco Ameno (20 mins)

5. Food in the restaurant is amazingly good value. The food is delicious and very reasonably priced. So too is the wine.

6. The Sunsets from the balcony are breathtaking.

7. There is also a small pool on the first level, but as one reviewer has already pointed out you can use the families private beach area in Forio.

8. You'll find it hard pressed to leave the hotel.

9. Really safe to walk around at night.

10. And lastly, the beds are also very comfortable.

Cons:

I am finding it very difficult to find any really bad points, but in order to be objective.

1. The apartments are separated from the main restaurant/reception area by a 2-3 minute walk on a 20 degree incline. So really, after a delicious diner you can burn off a few calories and feel good about yourself.

2. My only regret is that I do not speak Italian, would have been nice to get to know the family a little better.

Many thanks for such a great stay Lorenzo and thank Joseph for giving me a lift up the hill when I was really tired.

Room Tip: From what I saw all the rooms are fairly large and have balconies overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2012

What a fantastic place to stay. We were met by Lorenzo who had a genuine, almost humbling, desire to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. The hotel is in a peaceful location that affords amazing views out over the bay. The restaurant offers some of the best quality food that we have eaten in Italy, which is made all the more impressive considering it is relatively cheap. We were also treated to a short drive down to the exclusive beach terrace that was a lovely place to sunbathe whilst also enjoying the picturesque setting. Futhermore, there are complimentary kayaks and pedalos available to use as you wish. In summary, we highly reccommend this place to anyone who is thinking of going to Ischia.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I had a great time at the Poggio del Sol. The room was lovely and spacious with it's own balcony.
I was given a single room initially but upon requesting to be upgraded the family did it without any hesitation.
The location is far enough to feel that you are getting away from your everyday life, but at the same time should you need to go anywhere, Lorenzo will offer to take you.
I really had one of the best holidays ever.

Room Tip: ask for a double room, you won't regret spending extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The hotel is truly a family affair, from the welcome by Salvatore and Lorenzo, to the home cooking and friendly service. The rooms are in a separate building with an amazing view over the bay, a fantastic spot for watching the sunset. There is a small swimming pool, but we would recommend walking downhill (or taking a lift from Lorenzo) down to the private pontoon by the sea. Nothing is too much trouble, Salvatore gave us a bag of fresh fruit every day, and they genuinely care that you are having a good time. The food is delicious and meals are taken on a shady terrace. The hotel is slightly out of town, but right by a bus stop so it is very easy to get around - it is well worth having a go on the Ischian buses, a fun experience in itself.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor (203) lovely terrace with fabulous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TDC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Before arriving at the hotel I could not have imagined how perfect our stay there could have been. As a couple aged 24 we have never stayed in such a peaceful location when on holiday. The hospitality from all members of the family was incredible, the food at the hotel was so delicious, that we only ate out for 2 nights of the 10 days that we stayed here. From the views of the sunset on our terrace to the traditional and delicious food in the restaurant, this was a first class holiday that we will be sure to revisit - heaven!!!

Room Tip: Every room has a magnificent view - enjoy!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We came with 4 children and 2 adults, all wanting something different this vacation and we all got what we wanted: pool with toys, the best healthy home-made food, a jacuzzi with the best view (and music and lights!), clean and spacious rooms with good beds and pillows and fresh fruit from their garden as an extra surprise everyday! Complementing all this; at their other part of this hotel we got a clear ocean with snorkel gear, boats and more toys to play with. This all with the most friendly attitude of their staff (one big family). Days were too short and too many services to enjoy in this short week we spent there. We will definitely return a 3rd time and stay even longer. Grazie per tutti Colella family!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juulepuul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forio
0.6 mi away
Villa Thomas B&B
Villa Thomas B&B
#47 of 81 in Forio
32 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#21 of 81 in Forio
164 reviews
1.6 mi away
Semiramis Hotel de Charme Ischia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Residence Sant'Angelo
Hotel Residence Sant'Angelo
#1 of 15 in Sant'Angelo
614 reviews
0.7 mi away
Family Spa Hotel Le Canne
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Ginestra
Hotel La Ginestra
#41 of 81 in Forio
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poggio del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poggio del Sole

Property: Poggio del Sole
Address: Via Baiola 193, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Forio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Forio
#19 Family Hotel in Forio
#26 Romantic Hotel in Forio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Poggio del Sole 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Poggio del Sole provides everything you might need to make your vacation perfect. All rooms feature a private bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV, personal safe, mini-refrigerator, air conditioning, heating, and internet wi-fi connection. Also available are fully serviced two bedroom apartments with small kitchenettes for 4-6 people. Each room boasts either a balcony or terrace with unobstructed views of the Mediterranean sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Poggio del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poggio Del Sole Forio
Poggio Del Sole Hotel Forio
Poggio Del Sole Isola D'Ischia/Forio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing