We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite”
Review of Poggio del Sole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Poggio del Sole
Ranked #28 of 81 Hotels in Forio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Franklin, Virginia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favorite”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We found this wonderful hotel in time for our 10th anniversary. It was an excellent choice, very clean, wonderful indoor and outdoor spaces. The views were beautiful, thankfully the restaurant was close by so we could stay on our balcony until well after sun set to enjoy the views. I was nervous about my lack of Italian, but this family run business has taken care of that too, with many of them speaking English as well. They know the island inside and out and go out of their way to help you find what you are looking for. I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our time there, and it is definatly where we will be staying when we can get away again!

Room Tip: We loved the corner room, but I can't see a balcony that would have a bad view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    39
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
53
85
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I have returned from a fantastic stay at the Poggio Del Sole.It is truly wonderful,from the hospitality of this delightful family to the food which is magnificent.There really isn't anything they won't do to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
This is a little piece of heaven on earth, absolutely brilliant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Poggio del Sole in October 2011. We were overjoyed to find that the hotel was extremely clean and the views from our room were breathtaking. The food at the accompanying restaurant was absolutely to die for and the hotel staff made the property feel like home. Special thanks to Hailey and Lorenzo, who gave us a ride to wherever we needed to go and who's English language skills were much appreciated. We will definitely be visiting the Hotel Poggio del Sole again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed in June and vowed to come back. Both stays were for 10 days and this one co-incided with the impending wedding of Lorenzo (one of Salvatore and Tina's 3 delightful sons) to Hailey. Despite that major event and many of Hailey's family/friends staying in the hotel, we were treated as well as before and couldn't fault any aspect of our stay. Weather, food, service and the room once again exceeded expectations. If visiting Ischia town do try Dai Tu restaurant on the beach; it was our 4th visit and it,too, never disappoints. Just for a change we returned to England with weather on a par with Naples at 25c in late September. We were obviously blessed!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CornwallGolfer54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2011

My husband and I just returned from visiting Ischia. This island is truly a little piece of heaven, and Poggio del Sole was amazing. Our room was quiet, clean and comfortable. The patio was the perfect place to relax with beautiful views of the sea and spectacular sunsets. It also featured a hot tub and pool. We could see the city of Forio and fireworks several evenings. We were close to thermal springs and great hiking. The restaurant was wonderful and the food and wine delicious, especially the pizza. Everything was fresh and prepared by a talented chef. The Colella family are perfect hosts making us feel like part of the family and going out of their way to meet our needs. We highly recommend this great hotel!

Room Tip: A room on the second or third floor have unobstructed views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spisoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
2 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2011

The hotel was very clean and the rooms were very spacious. The staff was so kind. We traveled there with our 6 year old daughter and they were so kind in giving her special treatment. The restaurant had the best pizza and the funniest part was my daughter ate an entire pizza by herself. We thought her name should go up on a wall somewhere. We would definetly go back

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozziemaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

This is truly an amazing place. There were breathtaking views of the island from the balcony of our room where we watched the sunset every evening. But what really makes this place special is the Colella family. We truly felt at home there from the minute we arrived. Lorenzo and Hailey welcomed us warmly and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. They knew of the best places on the island, including Negombo spa (a must!). We also did a boat trip around the island with Lorenzo's uncle - absolutely incredible! The food and service at the restaurant was fantastic. While we planned to stay 4 days originally, we ended up staying 6! I will definitely return again in the near future!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren201158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forio
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Ginestra
Hotel La Ginestra
#39 of 81 in Forio
188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Thomas B&B
Villa Thomas B&B
#47 of 81 in Forio
29 reviews
0.7 mi away
Family Spa Hotel Le Canne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Residence Sant'Angelo
Hotel Residence Sant'Angelo
#1 of 15 in Sant'Angelo
599 reviews
1.6 mi away
Semiramis Hotel de Charme Ischia
2.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#22 of 81 in Forio
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poggio del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poggio del Sole

Property: Poggio del Sole
Address: Via Baiola 193, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Forio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Forio
#8 Best Value Hotel in Forio
#19 Family Hotel in Forio
#26 Romantic Hotel in Forio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Poggio del Sole 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Poggio del Sole provides everything you might need to make your vacation perfect. All rooms feature a private bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV, personal safe, mini-refrigerator, air conditioning, heating, and internet wi-fi connection. Also available are fully serviced two bedroom apartments with small kitchenettes for 4-6 people. Each room boasts either a balcony or terrace with unobstructed views of the Mediterranean sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Poggio del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poggio Del Sole Forio
Poggio Del Sole Hotel Forio
Poggio Del Sole Isola D'Ischia/Forio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing