We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on Earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Rotonda Sul Mare
Ranked #3 of 36 Forio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise on Earth”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

A breathtaking place! Sunshine and swimming during the day on a giant wooden clean platform and at night sipping drinks and listening to the sea. Gorgeous view. Owner and staff really know how to pamper their guests. Will be going back definately.

Room Tip: Book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gladiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    38
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
92
98
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our seaside apartment gave touches of paradise. We enjoy the friendly international clientele. As we like to cook Italian - we walk or biked to one of two nearby supermercatos. Or for culinary inspiration we enjoyed Amerigo's free taxi service to the Colella family restaurant, La Casserechia. The lower sun deck gave a place to relax and take 100m swims out to the breakwater and back. The upper sun deck provided the daily charm of sunset watching with a glass of wine. After dinner we enjoyed the 1 km walk to Forio for gelato. Amerigo is always ready to help, problem solve, point to the downstairs bar, beer, ice cream, a snack, and meet the ferry boat. We enjoyed every minute of our nine days at La Rotonda Sul Mare.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BadPixGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Perfect location just near the see, beautiful nature around. Very clean room. Friendly staff offers information about the places of interest, gives discount cupons to thermal park and helps with everything you need, including free transfer to the boat. We really appreciate free private beach for those accomodated in La Rotonda, in overcrowded island it is a real benefit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amerigo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The best place on Ischia to stay. Lived here for 10 days 07.10-17.10, good weather, nice food ( try fish in owners family restaurant) seaview is perfect!!!! All kind of sports water activites are free... The only thing you really want to do here is to do nothing;)))

Room Tip: Room number 9 - seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

'Welcome to Paradise!' - with these words smiling host of Rotonda sul Mare, lovely Amerigo is meeting you at his brilliant property. Everything is very clean, friendly and comfy. Actually you feel like you are visiting your relatives...Amerigo is ready to answer for all your needs - bring you to the port or termal places, give his opinion regarding restaurants, places to visit...And there is a privet beach too! I really looking forward to come back to lovely Rotonda!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vic186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

La Rotonda Sul Mare is a very nice family-run apartment hotel ideally located close to the sea. The standard of the rooms, the maintainance and cleaning at this hotel is very good. There are no view from most of the rooms, but there is a lovely view from the big roof terrace. There are some apartments of a higher standard, but they they are all very good value for the money. The hotel has a big platform by the sea with free sunbeds, and kayaks and scuba gear. Free use of wireless internet. In the basement there is a cozy coffe bar with perfect italian espresso, cornetto´s and different kinds of snacks and sandwiches. The hotel is situated in a very silent area, but only a ten minute walk from the cozy center of Forio where you cad fin many nice restaurants, cafes shops and a few clubs. La Rotonda sul mare is the kind of hotel you would wish to visit again year after year. Mainly because of the friendly atmosphere created by the he owner Amerigo Colella and his family and staff. They also rund a very good restaurant, La Casereccia www.lacasereccia.com which is located in the hillside above the hotel. This I will also highly recommend to visit. Home cooked food of very high quality and good local wines. The owner will bring you there and drive you back to the hotel for free. This is actually the most friendly and helpful host you can wish for. Yes, the whole family is very kind, welcoming and service minded. We felt that we were very good taken care of at our visit there, and we will with no doubt visit this place again next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingmarys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Whilst enjoying 2 wonderful stays in 2011 at Hotel Poggio del Sole we also had a day-visit to enjoy sea-swimming at nearby B & B “La Rotonda Sul Mare” which is owned and managed by one of the sons (Amerigo) of the Colella family that own and manage Poggio del Sole. For 2012 we decided to stay at La Rotunda so that we could have more of a sunbathing/swimming/boating holiday rather than a touring holiday using Ischia’s fine buses as we did when we last stayed at the hotel. Pleased to say we had a fabulous, relaxing 10 days at the B & B, combined with some great meals at La Caserrecia, the family restaurant located at Poggio del Sole. We also enjoyed the self catering possible in the apartment at La Rotunda. The weather was mostly sunny so we enjoyed the sizeable private balcony included with the apartment, the newly-enlarged sun terrace with direct access into the sea and also the pedalo that Amerigo offers free to guests (as also a canoe and lilos) and “pedalled” to Forio harbour as well as nearby-San Francesco beach. If you go to the latter, try a meal too at another restaurant with family-connections called La Rondinella. Like the B and B it is right above the beach and a pleasant 10-15 minute walk away if you don’t go by pedalo! I cannot recommend these places high enough thanks to the truly great service all family members offer, as well as the great quality of the accommodation and the food/beverage despite also being excellent value for money. La Casereccia provides very quaffable local wines from 8 euros up to 20 euros, home cooked meal of the highest order from “Mama Tina” and also the best homemade lemoncello ever made by her husband Salvatore, the gentle and charming patriarch of the family. Their other two sons complete the family picture: Lorenzo (can’t believe that even nearby-Naples could produce a better pizza than he does) and maitre d’ Guiseppe (highly knowledgeable on all local wines). Any one of the boys, or Salvatore, will happily take you any where if time permits and as previous writers have said, their driving skills on those narrow roads are quite remarkable. We shall certainly be back in 2013. I won’t say any more for fear of creating a rush of new guests that might complicate such future bookings!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CornwallGolfer54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forio
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tritone Wellness Center
0.2 mi away
Family Spa Hotel Le Canne
0.7 mi away
Garden & Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Janto
Hotel Villa Janto
#2 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
718 reviews
0.8 mi away
Poggio del Sole
Poggio del Sole
#23 of 81 in Forio
188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Hibiscus
Hotel Villa Hibiscus
#11 of 81 in Forio
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rotonda Sul Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rotonda Sul Mare

Property: La Rotonda Sul Mare
Address: Via Aiemita 29, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Forio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Forio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Rotonda Sul Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome on holiday.....in the amazing Island of Ischia!!Apartments Rotonda Sul Mare offer charming and comfortable holiday apartments on the gorgeous island of Ischia. The apartments are available for 2 / 4 or 6 people. Fabulously located on the sun-drenched southwest coast of the beautiful San Francesco bay, it sits directly on the beach awaiting your quiet and peaceful afternoons spent in front of dramatic cliffs and sparkling blue water. We are delighted to welcome you to Ischia, and we are eager to show you all of the beauty of our island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Rotonda Sul Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rotonda Sul Mare Isola D'Ischia/Forio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing