We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent small hotel”
Review of Hotel Lord Byron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lord Byron
Ranked #26 of 81 Hotels in Forio
Certificate of Excellence
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent small hotel”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Bearing in mind this is a 3 star hotel we were unable to fault it. Staff very friendly and helpful, room sparklingly cleaned daily and food fine. Italians on holiday there were really chatty, even though we didn't speak much Italian and made us feel most welcome. Our only regret was that we were there for just a week and not two!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amanda_cawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    160
    59
    22
    10
See reviews for
51
192
52
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed at the Lord Byron for a week at the end of July. The hotel was very welcoming and the service unendingly good with friendly staff who were keen to help. The rooms are varied, some of our party were happy with theirs while others were not, however, everyone agreed that their rooms were clean and functional even if they had single beds and no outside space. I thought the food was very good as long as you are keen to try real Italian food and do not expect Italian food with an English slant. My trip with Solitair was seriously marred by being 'bumped' from the flight out and going via Glasgow which meant that the first day was ruined and exhausting, other travellers beware.
The pool area is reasonably sized with plenty of sunbeds that are, in the main, not reserved all day! There is also a choice of spa treatments. The hotel is well placed for the town and also about 10 - 15 walk to the beach which is sandy and well organised. The swimming seemed extremely safe and I don't think I heard any other British people on the beach - just Italians. I would certainly recommend this hotel to those who expect something typically Italian and are not looking for bland multinational chains. I would also return to Ischia as there is lots to do and see.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Lovely hotel and very helpful staff, clean and well presented rooms. Food lacked imagination especially as there was very little choice (3 items for each course) and if you are there for 2 weeks expect some repetition. We went with Thomas Cook who advertised the hotel as Adult Exclusive with the hotel not taking bookings for children under 16. This was far from the truth as the whole time we were there children were staying in the room next to us and there were children in the pool area every day, maybe only Italian children are welcome.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room and ask for a fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Lovely hotel and great staff. I was travelling alone but this is the first single room with a single bed I have had but everything was fine. I had a first floor room with a small balcony and everything I needed. There was no hairdryer in the bathroom but reception lent me one. Everyone was very welcoming and helpful. Thanks to Helen and Den for your company, really enjoyed Ischia and shall be returning as didn't see all the places I wanted to see.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueRugeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed in a superior room which was a little bungalow set in the garden, near to the pool but very quiet after the Italian poolside chatter had subsided. It was very spacious and kept immaculately clean by the lovely Mina. We feel management should be making more of her talents, particularly as she has picked up good English. Guido at reception was a real star too and always willing to help. The quality of the linen (towels changed every day) was better than at some five star hotels. The only negative thing I can say about the Lord Byron is the lack of imagination in what was on offer for breakfast - it was exactly the same every day of our ten day stay, even down to the flavour of the yogurt on offer. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and were glad we did as other guests were less than impressed with the menu at dinner - again no imagination. The bar area was very nice too. To sum up, this is what you would expect of a three star Italian hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room as some of the standard rooms are quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joinedupwhiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a quaint little 30 room hotel which is close to all amenities and walking distance to harbour. The staff are very friendly and efficient, in particular, Francesco, Pepe and Nicoletta who all go out of their way to ensure you have a great holiday. The rooms are basic but very clean but it is a bit of pot luck if you go with Solitair on the rooms, for example 50,51 and 52 are on the lower level and have a no view at all, better to be in the annexe where you have a balcony or patio. The food is very mediteranean and the are 2 speciality nights, rabbit and seafood but Pepe will get you somethng else if you wish. It is plentiful, fresh vegetables, salads, pasta, fish and meat, fruit or dessert to finish.
The spa is quite kitsch but does it's job and there are plenty of sunbeds.
Overall if you are looking for a real Italian experience in a small, friendly hotel this is for you.

Room Tip: Corner suite in the annexe gets lots of sun until early evening. Room 50,51 and 52 get no sun at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
578 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The staff are generally very nice (especially the Bar & restaurant staff)
The spa is small - couldn't use the outdoor pool as it was too chilly- so only used spa once- tub was a bit tatty
The beauty centre is also small - the girl I saw was fine but not the best massage or facial i've ever had and she over tweexed my eyebrows
Wi Fi is expensive - you get 15 mins a day free but it's slow so can't get much done- 5 Euros for up to 4 hours and 10 Euros for up to 10 hours - so i mainly used my Blackberry allowance which was cheaper- one day it was windy so i managed 1 page on the notebook off their WiFi in 15 minutes & the reception guy wasn't very helpful & said yes it's slow but didn't offer me any extra
Don't bother to take any extras reading material- excellent quality & quantity of books available in the library & lounge
Food was plentifuyl - not exceptional but some very tasty soups & pasta dishes- all very filling with 3 course meals at lunch & dinner if you are on full board- they didn't quite get teh dietary issues regarding one vegetarian & 1 coeiliacs- ham in the veggie pie!
Fresh fruit with orange & lemon orchard in the annex garden

Room Tip: stayed in the annexe- it has advantages over the main hotel in that it is quieter but some rooms (eg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacqui3744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Forio hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Carolina
Hotel Villa Carolina
#30 of 81 in Forio
227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terme Zi Carmela
Hotel Terme Zi Carmela
#32 of 81 in Forio
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colella Terme
Hotel Colella Terme
#52 of 81 in Forio
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nettuno
Hotel Nettuno
#17 of 81 in Forio
254 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Angela
Hotel Villa Angela
#41 of 81 in Forio
156 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#21 of 81 in Forio
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lord Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lord Byron

Property: Hotel Lord Byron
Address: Via Giovanni Castellaccio 21, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Forio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Forio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lord Byron 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 Stars Hotel Lord Byron is situated in the centre of Forio d'Ischia, at 600 m from the beach of Chaia, and at 2 km from the well-known beaches of Citara and Cava dell'Isola as well as from the famous "Poseidon" thermal gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Lord Byron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Byron Hotel
Lord Byron Forio
Hotel Lord Byron Isola D'Ischia/Forio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing