We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tenuta del Poggio Antico
Ranked #2 of 36 Forio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Heaven”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We had a fabulous couple of days here. We loved Ischia and will certainly come back to Tenuta del Poggio Antico. I was slightly apprehensive that I had chosen somewhere in the middle of nowhere, but Roman drove us to thermal baths on our first day and the hot spring beach on the second. We hadn't realised that they would pick us up from the ferry port at Forio and he kept telling us we should have called him. The restaurant Montecorvo is just a short passegiata away.

Breakfasts are delicious - I think the cakes are made by Tonio's daughter. I don't eat limoncello and cream cupcakes for breakfast at home, but here, with fruit and divine Italian coffee, I couldn't imagine anything more appropriate. The hotel is beautiful with gardens filled with lemon trees, aromatic herbs and perfect lines of fruit and vegetables. We lay admiring the incredible view on the loungers on our own terrrace until it got cooler and then warmed up again in the hot tub.

Tonio and his wife are the perfect hosts. We felt really at home here. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuthful24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    13
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
133
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed here last September and had a most wonderful stay. The staff were so kind and helpful. We could not fault this hotel at all and cannot wait to return. The setting was stunning with the most beautiful sunsets. The breakfasts on the terrace were amazing with beautiful home made cakes and delicious coffee. Our room was divine with an amazing terrace with its equally amazing view, a beautiful bathroom and lovely room. We hired a moped for four days which was a great way to see the rest of Ischia, great fun and very reasonable. We do hope to return to Tenuta del Poggio Antico one day and that day can't come soon enough. Thank you to everyone at Tenuta del Poggio Antico for making our holiday so special.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tessa98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had the most wonderful 5 days at this gem of a hotel. A bit off the beaten track but don't be put off by that as they go out of their way to make you feel welcome and will take you by free courtesy car to most local places you need to go. Highly recommended

Room Tip: They are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveljunkie014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here for three days in May 2013. The staff were fantastic, very accommodating and helpful. They offer a shuttle service to Foiro. Breakfast was very good. We ordered a few bottles of wine while we were there and the free snacks were amazing. Five minutes walk away are a few restaurants, one of which does amazing pizzas (better than those in Naples in our opinion). We are vegetarian and were fine. The staff at the B&B took time, late on our last night, to help us book a ferry online, no easy task when you don’t know the area and can’t read Italian. We would like to thank the entire team for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dashooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I felt that we were coming home to family. Antonio, Alessandro, Francesco,all the family made us
feel like home. A great place to relax. Great places to eat near by, so you don't have to go too far to eat well., actually where ever you go, the food is great. Our experience was truly great. I recommend this B&B highly. The family are truly welcoming in every way. Thank you for a truly,beautiful experience. I hope to return in the near future. Vincenzo and Annunzata Morena from Montreal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank volare123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit to Ischia and wowe what a find! Small family run hotel set amid beautiful gardens with lovely pool area. The rooms are very well equipped with fabulous en suite bathrooms- we had a 'classic' which included a private balcony from which you could enjoy the sunset over the sea! Breakfast is very good with an excellent choice if fresh fruit, cold meats/cheese, cereals toast. Plus lots of preserves, yummy cakes and croissant.
Light lunches are available and served around the pool. Although there is no evening meal, there are several good restaurants within 100m of the property. The owners are very hospitable and were kind enough to collect us from the harbour at Forio and drop us back there again to meet our ferry. We had planned to use public transport as we had read about the two buses that circle the island clockwise and anticlockwise and if you were near a bus stop or didn't mind a 1km walk in this case, this would be possible; as it was so hot, we opted to hire a car for 3 days and the hotel arranged for a car to be delivered the next morning. I could not fault this hotel at all; everything is superb and staff very attentive but not intrusive. The location and atmosphere combine to provide a very quiet and tranquil experience, so if you want something with a bit more of a buzz this may not be for you; but if its peace you are after in gorgeous surrounding then this will be perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Creationgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Poggio Antico has exactly the mix we like, it is chique without being posh. It's quiet yet close to many beautiful restaurants. The rooms are spacious am decorated with taste. The garden is splendid and manicured to perfection, but still of natural beauty. The staff is friendly and knowledgable, but also discrete.

We leisured around the pool, tasted small dishes from their own garden during the first half of the week. In the second half we became more entrepreneurial and took hikes to the mountains, descended on foot to the harbor, rented a boat and took taxis to some of most spectacular fish restaurants (garden of Eden!!). We had a perfect stay and recommend Poggio Antico to everyone.

Grazie Mille!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivorook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forio
3.9 mi away
Aragona Palace Hotel
Aragona Palace Hotel
#1 of 70 in Ischia
1,577 reviews
2.0 mi away
Garden & Villas Resort
4.3 mi away
Villa Durrueli
Villa Durrueli
#3 of 70 in Ischia
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Semiramis Hotel de Charme Ischia
3.0 mi away
Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA
Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA
#3 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
1,412 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Residence Torre Sant'Angelo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenuta del Poggio Antico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta del Poggio Antico

Property: Tenuta del Poggio Antico
Address: Via Bellomo 2, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Forio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Forio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenuta del Poggio Antico 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This little and exclusive hotel is situated in the green island of Ischia, in a quiet and view zone, not far from the sea.The building was recently renovated and combines mediterranean architecture with modern furniture in a unique natural enviroment. We are waiting to offer you an unique and unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Tenuta del Poggio Antico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta Del Poggio Antico Isola D'Ischia/Forio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing