We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food and service”
Review of Montecorvo

Montecorvo
Ranked #7 of 104 Restaurants in Forio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $53
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Just 1 km from the hamlet of Panza, Forio d'Ischia, the Montecorvo is a cozy restaurant nestled in the countryside between Ischia. Few tables, pieces of art chosen with great taste, a well and a fireplace carved into the stone green (inside). In hot weather it can dine on the romantic terrace garden, exotic plants and water features created by the fountains. Our specialties are the rabbit in clay pot and the meat in general with a wide selection of fresh local seafood also available in variants traditional, yet innovative, our thinking is to propose traditional dishes with the touch of individuality that does not go to distort the history of our land. Among the main courses are between the various choices also the pasta with rabbit sauce, linguine with mussels, clams and prawns, paccheri pesto with parsley and anchovies. Imaginative appetizers such as stuffed zucchini flowers, eggplant burgers, our pizza with gorgonzola cheese, anchovies of lemon leaf and specialties to discover. How sweet the caprese, the baba, the cake napoleon, the pears and cottage cheese. Montecorvo The restaurant is located 500 meters from the sports field of Panza (opposite the junction to Panza in the municipality of Forio). Time Walk 10-15 minutes, five minutes by car.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“great food and service”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

i had a great time eating here a couple of times with my wife..great food, great service, romantic atmosphere..

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank jure1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Montecorvo, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for the comment. See you soon hopefully next summer.
Regards: Nicola Monti & family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    132
    36
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Warm, authentic, delicious and friendly.”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed in a nearby B&B and were lucky enough to visit here twice in our three days on the island. We had no expectations whatsoever, but were SO HAPPY we found this place. It was May 2013 so right at the beginning of the season, service was excellent and very friendly. The two sons of the owner made it an enjoyable experience. The tastes and flavours were fantastic. One thing I find really important when I go out for dinner is good lighting, and it was perfect, a cosy and authentic atmosphere which gets softer as the wine flows. We are vegetarian and did not struggle at all. Pizzas were better than those we had in Naples. Thanks to all the staff. Magical.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dashooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Montecorvo, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for all these compliments, we try to give our best at all times and even try to improve.
Regards: Nicola Monti & familly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, great atmosphere and service; fish overpriced”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed an excellent meal here, we had not booked and it was a very busy evening. We had to wait for a table for 4 and we were looked after well. The food was good; 2 members of our party had fillet steak( slightly over cooked to that requested ) the others had pasta followed by char chilled sea beam. The later was excellent, but the menu did not include the price per kilo/ 100g. We were a bit shocked to find the bill was 84€ for the fish which although was delicious seemed a tad excessive! Check price per kilo before you order!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Creationgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Montecorvo, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
We want to thank you for the generous comment that you have done, even to apologize by the way of cooking fillet steak which does not comply with the request made.
About the price of the catch of the day: you paid 84€, so, that means your fish was 1kilo 300 grams, in that period ( we only use wild fish catched around the island) at the market for us the price was prohibitive so we needed to sell the fish for 65€ per kilo which is in line with the rest of the island. We only offer top quality products so obviously affects the price but on the menu we put the note: the price varies from the market cost.
Anyway, we would be happy to receive a chance to repair the misunderstanding.
Regards: Nicola Monti & Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First class service and food”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My partner and I went here twice on our brief holiday in Forio, Ischia. We found this restaurant to be one of those hidden gems. The setting is a tropical outdoor seating area also with seating inside. It's fairly high up the mountain with a view out over Forio and out to sea. Getting there would be best by taxi if not near by.

The food was as authentic as it gets, local fresh food - just amazing. Service was attentive and on the Friday night we went, they has a piano player - the atmosphere was very romantic.

I can not speak highly enough of the Montecorvo.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank duriehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well worth the taxi ride”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from 8 days on Ischia and selected the restaurants we ate at every night through the recommendations on trip adviser. With only one exception (Zelluso in Casamicciola - Appalling) they were very good, however this one was excellent and was the only one we returned to for a second meal choosing our last night on the island to return. Unless you are staying nearby (unlikely) you would be best to get a taxi there and back as it looks hard to find but has a really nice terrace garden where you can eat outside or inside the dining room itself.
The service from Nico one of the owners sons was first class and he worked hard and fast to make sure you enjoyed your evening. His English was also very good which made it easier for us in asking questions about what was available.
The food was first class and extremely tasty with (I think) Nicos brother chefing in the kitchen and although it wasn't the cheapest meal we had during our stay it was by far the best value and one I would definitely recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montecorvo also viewed

Forio, Isola d'Ischia
Forio, Isola d'Ischia
 
Forio, Isola d'Ischia
 

Been to Montecorvo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing