We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service and kind hearted staff”
Review of Gabbiano Beach

Gabbiano Beach
Ranked #42 of 101 Restaurants in Forio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $335
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Exclusive restaurant on the beach, situated in very beautiful place. Fresh product and of high quality!
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best service and kind hearted staff”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

My cousin and I went to this restaurant last night and were very pleased! Staff were attentive and kind and we were also given four limoncello shots, zucchini puffs and wine for free. The view was exceptional and the bathrooms were very clean. There was a man playing his guitar and all the guests were offered musical instruments to join along with him. Loved it!

Helpful?
Thank SamanthaMcCracken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    84
    37
    13
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Major Rip Off”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Six of us were visiting the Island in June and took a tour which directed us to the Gabbiano Beach restaurant....Surprise! The restaurant is in a beautiful location on the beach and is pleasant to see.
The food is average at best and very expensive. The suggested wine was 75euros and we should have known better. The restaurants along the waterfront in Ischia Porto were better and reasonable.
We were taken by a cleaver setup with the tour person and will place it in our memory bank.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ti613BigBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food. Definitely recommended!”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Lovely food - friendly staff, and a great spot to watch the sunset. Great service and a large menu. Highly recommended!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank fxt84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“Nice view, good food, lousy music”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Our hotel made the reservation for us, the food and the sunset were really nice. Then the guy with the guitar appeared. First he sang just the usual songs and that was ok. Then the staff (!!!) started handing out tambourines and clapping things and the noise was so loud you couldn't talk to each other anymore. Seems the guy is part of the restaurant and they do this all the time. Way to ruin a nice quiet evening.
Eat, enjoy the sunset, get out when the music starts.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank marcel z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford upon Avon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Probably the most expensive restaurant in Europe”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Oh dear! If only we had read the previous recent Trip Advisor posts for this clip joint -"noun informal - a nightclub or bar that charges exorbitant prices" - we would have been 300 Euros better off.

I guess once in every five years or so you let your guard slip especially when you are in a relaxed,vacation mood in a pleasant environment.

The recent Tripadvisor reports of this establishment headed “Scammers!” and “Ask for a Menu/Prices” say it all.

We too were taken there by a local taxi driver - probably the same one (Peter by any chance) "boasting about their fresh seafood" and on entering the restaurant were immediately presented with a large lobster which fortunately we declined as neither of us likes lobster.

On sitting at the table, the waiter suggested that he bring us a mixed seafood platter for 2 as a starter to which we stupidly agreed without asking the price. Then three fish were presented on a platter for our selection as a main course - again no price was discussed.

The total bill came to just under E300 for a mixed seafood platter (about 110 Euros) and two fillets of fish (about 140 Euros) plus 3 beers and service included in the bill.

The moral is "let the buyer beware" and always ask up front for a menu and prices.

All I can say is that I hope that the taxi driver received a large commission.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Irving007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gabbiano Beach also viewed

Forio, Isola d'Ischia
Forio, Isola d'Ischia
 
Forio, Isola d'Ischia
Forio, Isola d'Ischia
 

Been to Gabbiano Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing