We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Charming hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Scapolatiello

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Scapolatiello
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Hotel Scapolatiello for two nights at the start of our walking holiday in the Amalfi coast. Neither of us had been to Italy before and were unsure what to expect. From the start we were bowled over by the friendly staff, the beautiful grounds and our room with a terrace. The food was spectacular (tomatoes and mozzarella were so different to what you get in the UK) we had homemade gelato by Antonio and the house wine (made from the grapes on the terrace) the first was delicious the second wasn't a great vintage, but as it was given to us to try for free just added to the overall atmosphere.

That is not to say the hotel was perfect, the shower in our room could do with a bit of work, but the overall feeling was of a charming hotel in a beautiful area that instantly transported us away from all of the worries of work etc.

We would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank medicmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelScapolatiello, La Direzione at Hotel Scapolatiello, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear medicmichael,

Thank you very kindly for your kind review. We are enthusiastic that you enjoyed our accommodations, location, delicious cuisine, our staff and to know that your holiday experience are gone over your expectations. We will be sure to share your kind words with the Scapolatiello Hotel team.
Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your experiences, hope that the rest of your vacation was as pleasurable as your stay with us.

Scapolatiello Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    153
    48
    19
    7
See reviews for
73
207
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

An old hotel, yes, but why does a hotel need to be "modern"? Scapolatiello is charming, with an abundant of gorgeous views from the (very) numerous places you can sit, have a drink, and relax. Kitchen for the most part excellent. Staff very helpful. Pool is nice. Nature walks nearby, not too far from Cava and Vietri. Very restful and kind of opulent place to spend a few pleasant days. Our balcony view was stunning. Barman Antonio was a real pro and a delight.

Room Tip: Junior suite with a view is best. Didn't have a tub, but some that had that didn't have near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daveinem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelScapolatiello, Scapolatiello Hotel Management at Hotel Scapolatiello, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Daveinem,

allow us to thank you for sharing with thousand of travellers your amazing experience with us, your words of appreciation for Scapolatiello Hotel fills us with pride .
We are glad that the kindness of our staff (we'll give them your congratulations, in particular to Antonio) and our many places where spend time and relax have left a sweet memory.... and it's true: we are in the heart of the nature!
Hope to see you again!

Scapolatiello Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Pleasant rooms, clean, although a little old fashioned, and with a very good buffet breakfast with fresh fruit, bread and cakes.
Dinner was very traditional in the usual style of an Italian hotel dining room, and very well executed. My grilled fish was perfectly cooked, served with grilled vegetables. Starter of smoked salmon with cream cheese was also excellent and nicely presented.
Wines were nice, but there was a shortage of beer – after two drinks they were out of Italian beer and we were reduced to Heineken.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view on the upper floors open onto a lovely terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky3D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

After several days of touring the archeological sites around the Bay of Naples, I decided to spend a few extra days in Italy before I returned to the US. I am certainly glad that I chose this hotel. My room with a small balcony was clean & well-kept & had a beautiful view of the surrounding countryside. The staff was friendly & helpful & the food in the restaurant was good.

Cava de' Tirreni proper is actually a couple of miles away. The hotel is located in Corpo di Cava which is a very small and historic village with narrow streets, old fairly intact city walls and guard towers, a Benedictine Abby from the 1000s, and the remains of a Roman aqueduct. I very much enjoyed walking around the village and on the trails beyond the abby.

The only downside in my view is that it is fairly isolated. I did not have a vehicle, but if I am fortunate enough to get there again, I will definitely rent one.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a balcony (see photo).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucestershire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

While here in march we had snow and quite a bit of rain so walking up from the car park meant an influx of 25 wet persons. This did not worry the staff who were most welcoming and friendly.
The rooms were large and some have baths but we only had a shower which was perfectly adequate. We note that some people did not like the decor but we found it added to the ambience of the place.
The food was plentiful and well prepared with attentive staff ready to replenish empty plates.
The hotel is kept very clean and the views to salerno are spectacular especially at night.
While there it is recommended you visit the monastery and also walk down the gorge to see the aqueduct.

Room Tip: Rooms vary and are individually designed. Check out the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruardean89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed here with a group visiting Pompeii and Herculaneum in January 2013. If I had not been with the group I would have left after the first night. Staying there was a dismal experience, although I can imagine that it is much more attractive in summer, as the hotel has a beautiful hilltop position and (I believe) attractive gardens and an outdoor pool. The hotel had an exceptional problem with its hot water supply which persisted in some rooms for most of the time we were there. I think I only had one hot shower over four days. Apart from a small seating area close to an open fire, the public rooms, corridors and the room in which I stayed were also terribly cold, especially the dining room - cold to the point of acute discomfort even for a fit active person dressed suitably for winter in Britain. I wore thermal gloves on my feet, and read a book about the Titanic to get a sense of perspective on enduring my stay at the Scapolatiello. The staff did not appear to be very concerned with these problems, or have the will or the skill to resolve them, shrugging them off with a casual 'va bene', despite the fact that this is a family-run hotel and the British travel company has been taking people there for twenty years. I hope they never do so again. Quite apart from this, I thought the food was pretty mediocre on the whole, and the fixtures and fittings, although clean, were very dated and poorly lit. I travel extensively and am astonished that this hotel has four stars. It bears no comparison to any other four star hotel I have stayed in this side of the former Iron Curtain, and was far less attractive and comfortable than many two or three star hotels in Europe.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ABRLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Although it was cold outside this hotel provided a good base for our tour group. The rooms were comfortable although the tiled floors were a bit cold in January but the main rooms had warming fires. The food was generally good apart from one evening meal which was average. The staff are excellent and very helpful. The drive up the hotel is a bit bendy so we were glad our driver was doing it for the four nights we were there. The gardens and terraces looked inviting even in the winter and I imagine in the summer they are super.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimSY2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cava De' Tirreni
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Salerno-Cava De' Tirreni
Holiday Inn Salerno-Cava De' Tir...
#1 of 6 in Cava De' Tirreni
4.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Diecimare
Hotel Diecimare
#4 of 6 in Cava De' Tirreni
4.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Raito
Hotel Raito
#2 of 7 in Vietri sul Mare
4.0 of 5 stars 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lloyd's Baia Hotel
Lloyd's Baia Hotel
#4 of 7 in Vietri sul Mare
3.5 of 5 stars 1,019 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Voce del Mare
Hotel Ristorante Voce del Mare
#1 of 7 in Vietri sul Mare
4.5 of 5 stars 438 reviews
1.6 mi away
Victoria Maiorino
Victoria Maiorino
#3 of 6 in Cava De' Tirreni
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scapolatiello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scapolatiello

Property: Hotel Scapolatiello
Address: Piazza Risorgimento 1, 84013 Cava De' Tirreni, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Cava De' Tirreni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cava De' Tirreni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Scapolatiello 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scapolatiello Hotel lies only 6 km far from the Amalfi Coast, at 500 mt above sea level, just in a walking distance away from the SS Trinity Abbey. Thanks to its strategic location, the Hotel is the perfect starting point to visit Positano, Amalfi, Pompei, Sorrento and Naples. Surrounded by valleys and woodlands, it is the ideal place to enjoy a leisurly stay. The Hotel has 42 rooms and 2 Suites, furnished in a classic way and perfectly integrated in the scenery where the structure is located; all the rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi, as well as common areas. The Residence Formula offers new specious flats well equipped and furnished. At the “Locanda 18.21” Restaurant you can taste and value the love and the art of a culinary tradition, renowned all over the world. Your breakfast, lunch or dinner is served in a dining room recently restored in a medieval style or on the terraces with breathtaking views. The Hotel is also the perfect location for weddings. The Hotel is provided with a panoramic indoor and outdoor pool. Its wellness center with sauna, Turkish Bath and professional massage room, is perfect to relax body and soul. Scapolatiello Hotel is 5 km far from the motorway exit of Cava de 'Tirreni, only 40 minutes far from the International airport of Naples "Capodichino" airport and 15 minutes far from the railway station and the port of Salerno. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Scapolatiello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Scapolatiello Cava De' Tirreni, Salerno, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing