We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bella Vista” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Margherita Villa Giuseppina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Margherita Villa Giuseppina
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bella Vista”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Very nice local family run hotel. Excellent location for Ravello and Amalfi.

Great views from rooms and hotel areas.

I wish we could have stayed longer than three days.

Staff are very welcoming, accommodating and friendly. Thanks. Grazie molte!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    53
    16
    9
    6
See reviews for
41
139
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We recently got married in Ravello and organised for myself and 35 of our guests to all stay at this Hotel. Right from the start the staff were excellent and couldn't of been more accommodating. The hotel has excellent views over Ravello and is only a quick 10 minute drive away, the rooms were excellent, clean and very nice, if anything I think they could charge a bit more! The pool is lovely, breakfast on the terrace was excellent - a truly magical stay!

We became very good friends with Lorenzo/Cecila and all of the staff over our stay and ALL of our guests mentioned they made it a unforgettable stay!! I could not recommend this hotel more!

Room Tip: The rooms with the best Balcony's are at the top of Villa Giuseppina, huge balcony with a tremen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianSw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had a fantastic trip to Ravello in May of this year, staying at La Margherita Villa Giuseppina in Scala, which is just a 15-20 minute gentle walk to the centre of Ravello and have already booked to return with our entire wedding party next year! The rooms, food, pool and people are all fantastic and I can't recommend it highly enough.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had two weeks at this great hotel, the views from the balcony are stunning from early morning sunrise and in the evening Ravello is lit beautifully.
The view from the breakfast terrace is just as amazing, the pool was clean and welcoming.
Evening meals were served at La Margherita with a friendliness that made you feel part of the family. The food was delicious and different each night. Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff or family, they work hard make your holiday a time to remember, which we will for a long time. This is one of the friendliest Hotels we have ever stayed in, the room was clean and well serviced and it had a fabulous view.Thank you all for a great holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank millielily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I can only agree with all the comments about this little gem of a hotel. We had room 7 which another reviewer said should be avoided; and I agree it was very small and the bathroom needed attention.However the views, and staff's attention to details more than made up for it.

We went half board, and dinner was served in the sister hotel Margherita down the road. The food was excellent and I am so glad we took this option because people we met from other hotels who ate out at other places each night said the prices were extortionate and choice abysmal. We had different choices every night including home made pasta to start (always different and delicious).

Breakfast was served on the Terrace with that fabulous view of the mountains and Ravello and was fresh croissants, rolls, soft cheese, jams, honey, fruit juice and tea or coffee. Lunch was served in the Pool bar by the lovely Cecelia who was so kind and helpful. The food was amazing!

The taxis are ridiculously priced so we used the Scala Municipal bus and Vincenzo (the driver) picked us up from outside the Hotel (thanks to a call from Cecilia) and gave us a lovely sight-seeing trip of neighbouring villages before taking us to Amalfi. Cost was 1 euro 20 cents! taxi would have been 60 euro. We also took the Suda Bus to Ravello for a few euros and spent a lovely afternoon at the Villa Rufolo.

What makes this hotel so special are the people that run it; they are so friendly and helpful and seem to really care about making your holiday perfect. Special mention must go to Enzo (great sense of humour) Cecelia (nothing was too much trouble) Maria (always smiling) and Carla who had us in stitches every day and was full of hints and tips.
Thank you for giving us a wonderful weeks holiday.

Room Tip: try for the top floor as they seemed huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel for 7 consecutive years at various times in June, July August and September. The hotel and the sister restaurant / hotel La Margherita are family run, offering great, friendly service.
The hotel is located on the hillside overlooking Ravello and the Dragone valley with breathtaking views of Ravello. The pool and terraced area, together with the balcony for the restaurant bar area offer great views and are very spacious. The pool itself is large and very clean and the poolside is washed down every morning and evening. The restaurant serves food on the balcony during the day and in the evening for special events - eg barbeque night (depending on the season) - the food is excellent Italian fare with fresh local ingredients. The Gala event on the 27th July provides a superb meal with the best location for enjoying a great firework display for the festival in Ravello. Evening meals are served in La Margherita about 300m from Villa Giusippina- half board offering great value and again the friendliness and service cannot be faulted. Rooms are air conditioned , many with balconies and views overlooking Ravello and the Dragone Valley. A lift is provide from poolside to rooms other than the top floor which is accessed via an additional flight of stairs. Breakfast is served in an open terrace area (weather permitting), with that magical view of Ravello. The breakfast consists of fresh croissants and bread (delivered daily) with various jams and spreads together with fresh coffee and juices - other options eg fruit, eggs or cereals are available at extra cost. The hotel forms a great base for walking - down The Valle delle Ferriere and Amalfi and up into chestnut forests and Punta delle Castagne. The walks generally use old mule trails (still used by mules) and entail many steps - hence the name Scala. and Local buses operate from early morning to late at night should you wish to travel to Amalfi and beyond without a car - taxis can be expensive. Scala offers a peaceful retreat in peak season, whilst being in good proximity to attractions such as Pompeii and the Amalfi coast. This is one of the friendliest hotels we have stayed in with attentive staff, proud of their hotel and keen for guests to enjoy their stay. The fact that it is family run and so friendly make it very special and hence our desire to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank burdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had booked a weeks holiday at this hotel the hotel was beautiful the reason I gave 4stars was room 7 although very basic it was clean but the shower needs updating .the view from the balcony was stunning every morning you could watch the sun come up over the mountains see Ravello and the view of the sea breathtaking.
All staff went out of their way to help they were amazing people so thank you to Enzo and his wife
Carla on reception who was so helpful always very cheerful
Cecillia and her brother who ran the bar . The food was so simple presented beautifully and tasted out of this world. The only downside food is only served until 3.30 pm. Nothing was to much
trouble for them . THANK YOU.
Breakfast very simple fell in love with their croissants and honeymmmmm coffee very nice staff could not fault they also cleaned you rooms again Thank you
The view from breakfast terrace amazing
The pool was was immaculate so clean and welcoming
THANK YOU for a lovely holiday would come again without hesitation

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvssj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scala
0.0 mi away
Hotel Zi'Ntonio
Hotel Zi'Ntonio
#1 of 2 in Scala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW PREMIER Collection
0.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Coast
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Co...
#4 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Romana Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Margherita Villa Giuseppina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Margherita Villa Giuseppina

Property: La Margherita Villa Giuseppina
Address: Via Torricella, 84010 Scala, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Scala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Scala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Margherita Villa Giuseppina 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly built, with every modern comfort, the Hotel "La Margherita - Villa Giuseppina" is situated in Scala the heart of the Amalfi Coast, between Amalfi and Ravello.Open the whole year round. All rooms with private shower and balcony. Central heating. Large terraces for sunbathing. Swimming pool and solarium. Family management. Very reasonable prices. Excellent cooking. Own parking ground. us connections during the day. The hotel is situated in a prticulary quiet position, away from the traffic noise. It is the right place for a perfect stay and relaxing holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your La Margherita Villa Giuseppina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Margherita Villa Giuseppina Hotel Scala
La Margherita Villa Giuseppina Scala, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing