We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Margherita Villa Giuseppina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Spent a week at the beginning of October at the Hotel and had a wonderful time. Staff are very friendly and helpful and the views are stunning from the rooms and the terrace. The only negatives I would mention are the plumbing which can be a little noisy so you may be disturbed occasionally by your next door neighbours. Also the breakfast is slightly limited (rolls and croissants) and can be a bit boring after a few days, although we did ask for boiled eggs and they were happy to oblige at no extra cost.

These grumbles aside we had a wonderful time. Ravello is only 20 minutes walk away and Amalfi a 25 minute bus ride from the village square. We caught a boat from Amalfi and spent a wonderful day in Positano. You can also get boats from Amalfi to Capri, Ischia and Procida.

The staff were very helpful with ideas and information. The food in the restaurant was excellent. Nothing fancy, just traditional Italian food cooked well and it was nice to have lunch on the terrace overlooking the pool. Speaking of the pool, it is not heated but we were happy to swim in it in early October. However if you like your pool hot it might be better to visit in the summer.

All in all a wonderful stay. We will return

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor where the plumbing is less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mwisby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 275 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

We recently spent 9 nights at this lovely hotel and found the family and staff who run it are some of the most helpful and obliging we have met. The hotel is in a beautiful setting looking across to Ravello. The food we had was superb - yes the breakfast was basic but you could request eggs, fruit and other extras if you wanted them - breakfast was served from 7.00am to 9.30am which was perfect. The evening meal is served at their restaurant down the road and there was always a choice for each course which was tasty and obviously freshly cooked. The lunches which we had at the pool bar were again cooked to order and we thought they were excellent. The family who run the hotel were always around and were happy to give advice of things to do and places to go. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HitchinMoira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were just there in September 2012! Only thing going for them is the view. The room was filthy and the bathroom worse. Asked them to clean the bathroom with the moldy shower curtain and black mold on the walls......well all they did was replace the shower curtain with a new moldy one. The breakfast was ridiculous from 7:00 am to 8:15 am. and rolls and a 2 crossaints and coffee and tea everything else was a charge and not reasonable. A piece of fruit 2 euros. The bed was like laying on cement it was so hard. And if wanted to put a bottle of water in the refrigerator it was $3 euros a day. The restaurant was like you were just rushed through the meal ..we ordered an appetizer and they brought it within minutes and the meal... we sent the dinners back and when we asked for the dinners they brought out the same ones as they were ice cold and said they couldn't do anything about it, the view at the restaurant was lovely but that is all they have going for them is their view. The lady at the front desk was very nice but said all she did was work there. They have about a 13 inch tv which gets one channel and it is in Italian. the tv also did not work so the maintenance man came and showed paper inside the remote and on the tv so it stayed on and you could not shut it off unless you removed the paper . Was not a good stay. And surely would not recommed this hotel to NO ONE>

Room Tip: There is no good clean room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hank696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

It's been well covered by other people here, but the lovely family who run this beautifully kept and wonderfully located hotel are among the nicest people we've met on our travels. Always helpful, nothing is too much trouble and you really feel like you're staying with friends.

As for the hotel itself, the views from the breakfast terrace and our balcony were breathtaking. Scala is a lovely and quiet base for exploring the Amalfi coast, and after the relative bustle of Amalfi, Sorrento and Ravello, was always a pleasure to come back to. Rooms are neat and clean, but as frequent European tourists will know, the bathrooms are small but perfectly usable of course.

Breakfast was simple, rolls, croissants and splendid coffee. We went on a half board basis, and dinner was in the sister Margherita restaurant. The food was excellent!. A choice of pasta or soup, meat/chicken or lovely fresh fish for the main course, and fruit, ice cream or some sort of luscious cake for dessert!. Very good value as part of the package certainly as the area isn't cheap!.

Buses to Ravello and Amalfi were generally fine and cheap, just a few minutes walk to the stop the other side of the square, but coming back to Scala was sometimes a bit of a wait as not all the buses from Amalfi or Ravello came back to Scala...there was one at least every hour or so though after around 4pm in our experience. Taxi's are very expensive, and whilst the 20-25 minute walk down to Ravello is certainly manageable for most people, the walk back up may not be, and don't forget the insect repellant!.

Overall, we had a wonderful week here, there is nothing the staff wouldn't do to make your stay enjoyable, it's all in the small details!.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MoandLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed at Villa Giuseppina with close friends and family at the end of May 2012. We were getting married in Ravello. When we arrived first in Villa Margherita the mother of the family already knew who We were and directed us to Villa Giuseppina where we were so warmly welcomed by the funny and warm Carla and professional Lorenzo (never experienced a warmer welcome!!). Some of our guests decided to say elsewhere and upon visiting us in the week leading up to the wedding they were so jealous and so we ended up bringing people to Villa Giuseppina all the time as if it was our own "home". The breakfast prepared by the LOVELY Maria and the father of the family was just such a beautiful way to start the day in the most magical part of Italy. Lorenzo ended up cooking us a spontaneous meal too when we got rained on at mount Vesuvius. Too many glorious stories to tell about our time here..they go way above and beyond their service to make you feel at home and have the most amazing time. Cecilia, Francesca, Carla, Lorenzo and the parents are all the most WONDERFUL people you will ever meet!

Room Tip: Sorry there is no fitness centre (however the stairs to Amalfi can function as a great work out) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eve3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I went on holiday to Italy as a group of about 10 + as my friend was getting married there. From the moment we arrived in this very authentic Italian hotel we felt comfortable and relaxed. Some of us arrived very late due to some travelling complications and the friendly staff Cecilia and Lorenzo made sure we were taken care of with drinks and something to eat even though the kitchen was closed. It was a great start to our holiday and we soon forgot all about the trouble we had just been through. All our rooms were very clean and cosy with enough storage space for our clothes and everything we needed for our stay.

The next morning we were astounded by the views we could see from the breakfast balcony, the hotel is situated in the perfect place for taking in the scenery, no picture I took done it any justice it was breathtaking. As was most of the scenery around Scala, Ravello and the Almalfi Coast.
We spent a lot of time by the pool during the days which was always clean and tidy. Antoniou the Lifeguard was always there to help us with whatever we needed as well as Francesca. If we wanted advice on where to go or what was happening they were always more than willing to let us know about the best places to be, whether it was for partying, sight seeing or just family dining.

We had my 2yr old nephew with us on his first holiday abroad, having a toddler with us meant there were bottles etc to wash which we were allowed to do in the bar and it was great to be in such a family orientated and friendly place where he was smothered in attention and anything we needed wasn’t a problem. It was lovely to see this part of Italian culture which is so different from anywhere else I’ve ever been.

I really cannot explain how nice our stay was here and how welcomed everyone made us feel. When I burnt my hand 15minuts before I had to be at the church they rallied around making sure I had burn cream and a frozen bottle of water as a cold press, everyday after that they personally dressed my hand for me with whatever it needed.
All 10+ of us didn’t ever want to leave this little paradise and we all had at least a week of holiday blues when we got home. Our only comfort is that we know we will be back again.

To all the staff at Hotel thank you so much for making our stay so special and we will see you all again.

Best wishes,

Lulu..x

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lulu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have been visiting this hotel, using the pool for some years, but this is the first time I have stayed here. The rooms are very traditional and spotlessly clean and tidy. The pool is fantatsic and always clean. This is a family run hotel and all are extremely accommodating and will do anything for you. One of my friends had her baby with us and they would do anything to help her out. The food is out of this world, and anything you want will be delivered with a smile. For the location, frindly st, form warmng milk to washing her bottles. From the hugely warm staff, beautiful food and relaxing atmosphere, you simply cannot beat it, and with a fantastic view to boot, it would be hard to find anything like it.

Room Tip: If you would like to make the best of the view, ask for a room facing the pool, the pool closes at 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank curlyishungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scala
0.0 mi away
Hotel Zi'Ntonio
Hotel Zi'Ntonio
#1 of 2 in Scala
233 reviews
7.5 mi away
Relais Manfredi
Relais Manfredi
#4 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
95 reviews
8.5 mi away
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Coast
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Co...
#5 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
4.8 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,546 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Margherita Villa Giuseppina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Margherita Villa Giuseppina

Address: Via Torricella, 84010 Scala, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Scala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Scala
Price Range: $112 - $505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Margherita Villa Giuseppina 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly built, with every modern comfort, the Hotel "La Margherita - Villa Giuseppina" is situated in Scala the heart of the Amalfi Coast, between Amalfi and Ravello.Open the whole year round. All rooms with private shower and balcony. Central heating. Large terraces for sunbathing. Swimming pool and solarium. Family management. Very reasonable prices. Excellent cooking. Own parking ground. us connections during the day. The hotel is situated in a prticulary quiet position, away from the traffic noise. It is the right place for a perfect stay and relaxing holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Margherita Villa Giuseppina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Margherita Villa Giuseppina Hotel Scala
La Margherita Villa Giuseppina Scala, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing