We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the family.....”
Review of Hotel Zi'Ntonio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Zi'Ntonio
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Scala
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“One of the family.....”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Smashing stay at "uncle tony's" - you really do feel like one of the family!
Small and friendly, comfortable rooms, spotlessly clean, fantastic views and great home -cooked (real Italian) food.
The area is a paradise for walkers and the hotel is the starting point for many trails.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shincliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    80
    19
    2
    5
See reviews for
22
148
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
244 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Just back from our third visit to the Zi'Ntonio, which says it all really. This small, family-run hotel is perfect if you like a warm welcome, excellent home-style cooking and a feeling of staying with friends. Rooms are spacious and have truly stunning views from their balconies. Everywhere is spotless and well-maintained. This is not an 'international' luxury hotel (though it does have lovely terraces and a pool): it's more 'real' than that and all the better for it. Scala is a quiet, attractive village, in the hills above Amalfi and opposite Ravello. There are many beautiful walks on paths and steps through wildflowers down to the coast. And there's a bus back up! It's incredibly peaceful. There isn't a lot of evening entertainment in Scala, though it's possible to attend the famous concerts in Ravello. But after a day out in the sunshine, a three-course meal and the excellent local wine, this may not matter to you! We'll be back!

Room Tip: They all have balconies with fantastic views, so it really doesn't matter unless you have mobili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank G_M_NGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We returned from Albergo Zi’Ntonio a couple of days ago and had a most enjoyable time in what is a family-run hotel with fantastic views over Ravello from our well-sized balcony, and I believe all bedrooms have balconies facing the same view. Nice mix of guests from a variety of countries including Italy. Scala is a quiet little village with a couple of bars and shops sufficient for daily needs a few minute’s walk from the hotel. Ravello is a 20-30 minute walk away across the valley.
Our bedroom/bathroom was nicely sized, clean and comfortable with a homely Italian decor. The Dining room had a long balcony running its length, again with wonderful views over the valley, mountains and Ravello, which allowed a choice of either indoor or outside dining. Breakfasts were Continental buffet style with the option of an omelette etc, if you asked, but we never felt the need.
The dinner and lunch menu consisted of two choices for starter and main meal and fruit, ice-cream or cake for dessert. You make your choice at breakfast. I believe it is possible to ask for any meal you fancy, within reason, and it will be cooked for you, probably at a cost above the ‘package deal’ price. We went with Thomson’s. But again, we enjoyed the 2-choice options very much, so never felt the need for ‘a la carte’. All meals were freshly cooked in the regional Italian style.
There is a lovely swimming-pool, again with beautiful views, and plenty of sunbeds on two levels. It was never crowded during our stay. On another level is a bar and a beautiful garden terrace for drinks and snacks.
All in all, Zi’Ntonio is a charming hotel, slightly quirky which we enjoy, beautifully situated, with very friendly and helpful staff and we would certainly return again or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Shamboleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

This is a small, traditional, family run hotel which strives to make each guest feel special. From the moment my husband and I arrived we were made to feel welcome by Michele the owner and his son Stefano who speak very good English. Our room was typically Italian very clean, spacious and comfortable with the most magnificent view from the balcony. You could quite happily spend hours here looking at the mountains, sea and across the valley to Ravello. The cathedral and church bells echo through the valley and although they didn't bother us earplugs may be needed by light sleepers. There is no airconditioning or fans but the balcony has an awning and louvred shutters keep the room cool. Our bathroom had a shower, wc and bidet - some have a bath as well. The hairdryer on the wall was very good so no need to pack one. We arrived late evening after a wonderful drive over the hills from Naples in a small mini bus. Dinner was waiting for us outside on the terrace served by our wonderful waiter Antonio. (Incidently, we were travelling on a package from Thomson which was excellent value for money). Every meal was an occasion with tables carefully set out on the outside terrace overlooking that fabulous view. There were 2 choices for starters and main course followed by cake, fruit or ice cream afterwards. Everything was freshly cooked and we had the most delicious mouthwatering homemade pasta and cakes. Local fish and sea food were excellent as well as lamb, chicken and veal. Don't go expecting large portions - this is quality rather than quantity. I'm sure if you would like extra side orders they would be able to oblige. Drinks were reasonably priced with a bottle of local wine only 7 or 8 euros and campari and orange for 4 euros. There is also a mini bar in each room. Antonio our waiter was very efficient and pleasant - we had a lot of laughs together as we tried to converse. Breakfast was buffet style with lovely fresh bread and croissants. We usually drink tea at breakfast but Anna our waitress made the most wonderful frothy coffee so we were converted. The hotel is on a steep site so there are lots of staircases and steps to negotiate For that reason I wouldn't recommend it for anyone with mobility problems. Indeed, the whole area is hilly so take a hiking pole if you intend to enjoy walking around. Amalfi is 1,100 steps away and it took us 1 hr 45 mins as did our walk to Minori via Ravello. Needless to say we caught a ferry back along the stunning coast and then got the bus up to Scala. Ravello is only about a 40 minute walk using the many staircases cut out in the valley. It's OK going down but could be a problem in the heat coming back. There are local buses from the little village of Scala, another hidden gem. It is a peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of the coast. Ravello is also a beautiful town and we made the most of it's festival attending an evening concert in the gorgeous Villa Rufolo. It was one of the highlights of our holiday and not to be missed. Seeing the moon rise over the sea whilst listening to the orchestra on the Belvedere was magical. Villa Cimbrone is another place not to miss. But Zi'Ntonio hotel pool, terrace bar and restaurant was a little oasis. The bar staff are cheerful and friendly and again it was value for money eating and drinking there at lunch time rather than the overpriced cafe and bar in the village (opposite the Duomo di San Lorenzo). We enjoyed using the small pool which had good changing facilities, loungers and umbrellas. Again this has the most magnificent views of the surrounding area. I never managed to read more than a few pages of my book as I was entranced by the stunning vista. All and all it was a lovely small hotel which suits those who want to escape the tourist traps and experience the real Italy. We last visited the area 37 years ago when we got engaged and can honestly say it has retained its charm and special place in our hearts. A romantic hideaway heaven!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank thedunkerleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We booked this hotel as a package and were not sure what to expect as a few reviews were not that good. All I can say is that some people can't be happy unless they are complaining! We stayed half board and we enjoyed a delicious three course meal every night, with a nice variety and choice on the menu. The morning buffet was what you would expect in Italy - a continental breakfast. Enough choice and perfectly acceptable.

The hotel itself is very clean and inviting and the views over Ravello are stunning. The pool is a really nice one and again, it overlooks Ravello and surrounding areas.

The staff were probably the nicest staff we have ever encountered on a holiday. Every single one, from the waiters to the owner himself, went out of their way to make us welcome and nothing was too much trouble. They all spoke English and were happy to help us with our very limited Italian, with much humour.

We enjoyed the same beautiful view from the bar and we were frequently served nice little unexpected extras with our drinks, such as bruschetta or a local dish. The bar was also available for some very nice lunchtime snacks.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a nice, chilled stay in the most beautiful location and we will definitely stay there again.

nb. There are a lot of steps in the hotel so be prepared!

Room Tip: All rooms have good views and are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Flossiefrufru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Fantastic service, very clean and basic rooms with a bit of space. Great balcony with plenty of room to take in the wonderful view of Ravello and surrounding beauty. The restaurant oftens very nice home-style room!! The people are lovely and will do just about anything to please. Lovely pool although a little chilly.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FlashEasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

The food was better than I expected after reading last year's reviews. There is now a breakfast buffet which gives a reasonable choice. At dinner there are 2 alternative first and second courses, with no choice for dessert. The first course was always excellent, the main course less good. Some vegetables are usually provided with the main course, although sometimes you get chips. I ate the fish dishes as they generally seemed more interesting. Swordfish and langoustines were both on the menu, which I imagine are not the cheapest ingredients. Dessert was a dish of ice cream, or slice of cake or some fruit.

We very much enjoyed our stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Corcaigh_carioca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scala
0.8 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
3.6 mi away
Hotel Bacco
Hotel Bacco
#3 of 5 in Furore
275 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hotel Novotel Salerno Est Arechi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#1 of 17 in Maiori
1,503 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
1.1 mi away
Villa Romana Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zi'Ntonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zi'Ntonio

Property: Hotel Zi'Ntonio
Address: Via Torricella 39, 84010 Scala, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Scala
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Scala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zi'Ntonio 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Zi'Ntonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zi'Ntonio Scala, Italy - Amalfi Coast
Zi Ntonio Hotel Scala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing