We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic Italia”
Review of L'Antico Episcopio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
L'Antico Episcopio
Ranked #10 of 12 Scala B&B and Inns
Ayrshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Idyllic Italia”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

L'Antico Episcopio is a small, beautiful hotel in the idyllic medieval village of Pontone in the hills above Amalfi. A cleverly converted Bishop's Palace, the rooms are spotless with modern
bathrooms and mine had a stunning view over the lemon groves down to Amalfi. There is also a solarium with the same stunning views. Signora Anna and her family are extremely welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was delicious with fresh fruit from the garden, home-made bread and cakes and the most delicious crushed sweet lemons served in a little cup with a spoon. You can reach Pontone by bus from Amalfi. A walker's paradise, you can reach Ravello, Scala and Amalfi from here. Being up on the hill there are steps, of course, but well worth the effort to discover this tranquil place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank windirosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    20
    2
    2
    6
See reviews for
16
30
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel is great value for money and had many modern conveniences. It also had a few special features, such as the rooftop sunbathing lounge, the small pool, the hammock and the wine tasting events. Modern décor in historical setting. Wi-Fi available in lobby.Great base for walking and close to Ravello and its classical concerts. A nice Pizzeria situated to the left off the square called "San Govianni's" Very enjoyable stay, We plan to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feetiefruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I would not recommend this accomodation to anyone interested in self-catering. The latter involves the use of the manager's kitchen and we felt we were allowed to use it on sufferance. We were also charged extra for using the kitchen, which is minimally equipped.
Pontone is a quiet, stunningly beautiful, un-touristy village. Our room was spacious and beautifully furnished. However, the decor values style over function, and is not very convenient for a long stay, e.g. few places to hang things. Beautiful views from our window: and the breakfasts were generous.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank judy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We travelled from London, a family of five, three children.We paid 1120 Euros for 8 nights, including breakfast. We chose this hotel mostly because of the good review on Trip Advisor. I am talking about the lady from Canada and her review. Unfortunately, the moment we arrived there, her review proved to be a fake fact which has just been confirmed now that we are back in London and her review on Tripadvisor has been changed. Let me explain the facts:

1. LOCATION: We arrived in Ravello from Napoli by bus. We did not want to rent a car because we trusted the internet description of the hotel saying that it is easy to reach. Actually it is not that easy. Firstly, it is not in Ravello but in Pontone, place for which there are no buses to take you there. So you have to take a taxi which will rip you off. It charged us 35 euros for ten minutes driving. Well, when you see the beauty of those place, the distance and taxi price are not such a big problem. The scenery pays back. :-)

2.ACCES TO BEACHES: L'Antico Episcopio is at least one hour and twenty minutes walking distance from the nearest beach and at least 20 minutes walking from the nearest bus station. Again we did not rent a car because we trusted the internet description. Both on Expedia and on the hotel's website they say that there is a free shuttle service to and from the hotel at certain hours. Again not true. In fact it was our host who took us every morning to Amalfi by car, a small Opel, but she never offered to take us back from Amalfi. So we needed to spend every day the whole day in the city of Amalfi, because it was impossible to return at the hotel for lunch time or afternoon due to the long distance and overcrowded buses. Despite all the difficulties we could have come back to the hotel for the lunch time or afternoons, provided there was a bus to take us to Pontone. But the buses would leave us at at least 20 minutes walking distance from Pontone. Mind you, there are also about 50 steep stairs to climb before you actually reach L'Antico Episcopio and all the way you need to walk you do it on very dangerously narrow and steep roads with no passage for pedestrians.

It must be very convenient for the hotel to have guests only for the sleeping time at night. Very good for the bussiness. Very easy to make some money with minimal effort.

3. THE BREAKFAST.
It was included in the price...and extremely boring. Again we expected a buffet as stated on the internet description. Nothing local or traditional. There was nothing to choose from. Same thing everyday. You cannot feed your children only carbs and sweets every morning. No eggs, no omelettes, no cheese, no butter, no pancetta, no salami, no bread, no melons. Just cereals (a very ordinary ones, the cheapest), some pastries, milk (never enough) and the same fruits, along with some fruits juices made from concentrates and full of additives. You cannot have fruits or fruits juices, peaches and grapes after milk, can you? they know all these very well. Please correct me if I am wrong. We needed to buy our own food: cheese, milk and salami. Again their concern is just for money and how to make them quickly. The customer comes last. They do not care. They provide as much as you should not complain. They know the game.

4. ROOMS / SERVICE:

When we arrived, there was no soap or shampoo in bathroom. Luckily we had our own ones.
You have access to the washing machine but you need to pay 5 euro.

They expect you to keep the room as clean as possible and they will not hesitate to tell you off if you leave your room in a state which is not convenient for them.
Now, of course it is a matter of common sense. We travelled with an infant, a child of 3 years old and a child of 11 years old. It is not easy to keep everything as clean as you are expected. We were told off because our infant dropped some baby juice on the bed cover. Since that day everything in their attitude changed. They did not changed the bed sheets until we left. Our hostess was behaving as if she could not wait to see us away back to London. It culminated with the last day when we were told that we left the room disastrously messy just because our daughter dropped some yoghurt on the floor. It was just plain stone floor, no carpets whatsoever. It was a bit messy but there was not in any way dirty . We were just in hurry and late for the airport as you can imagine.

5. AIR CONDITIONING SYSTEM: not working. We tried to switch it on with no results. Probably it was remotely controlled by the hostess. Because of the heat at night time we needed to sleep with our windows open. The quality of our sleep was not good as there is a church bell keeping the time hourly.

6. PLACES OF INTEREST.

Unless you are very rich, abandon your hope to visit Punta Campanella area, Baia de Leranto or other places of interest fakely advertised on the hotel website. You can do it only by private boats and it will cost you 500 euro per day. You could also rent a car for 200 euros a day. Instead you could visit Capri where you could have beer for 10 euro.

7. RESTAURANTS.

In Pontone, near L'Antico Episcopio there is a fantastic restaurant, SAN GIOVANNI, the most honest one, great food, good prices and excellent service. People of Pontone are amazing, very friendly and very nice. If you go there you will feel very welcome. It is a wonderful village. It is a shame that the hotel did not rise to our expectations.

In Amalfi situation is different. All the restaurants have double prices: one for the italians and one for the foreigners. If you are identified as coming from England the price will be disgustingly higher and you will be overcharged by at least 35 euro for a meal. This is the south of Italy. The best strategy is to try to speak Italian pretending to be italian. :-) Luckily, we could speak Italian and we did so after being ripped off the first day. For example, a freshly squeezed orange or lemon juice would cost 2.50 euro if ordered by an italian, while it would be 5 euro for a foreigner. Absolute rip off! the same situation is on the streets with all the shops. It happened to me to pay 6 euro for a couple of lemons while the real price was 2 euro per kilogram. If you do not speak Italian get ready to ask about your bill. Do not be shy.
Otherwise, the food is great, service is excellent and overall it is an exciting, fantastic experience.
Amalfi is a fabulous place, with a mesmerizing beauty and charm. There is the Cathedral of Saint Andrew at the entrance which is such a spiritual place. Absolutely amazing! People of Amalfi are also friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Angelandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

L'Antico Episcopio:
Date July 20, 2011

We booked this hotel because it was one of the few hotels that could accomodate a family of 5 (3 children). This hotel is a unique little gem, nestled in the village of Pontone, just up the hillside from Amalfi, away from the noise and traffic of the main town. A mere 6 or 7 minute drive down the winding scenic road and you find yourself on the coast.

While the hotel only has a handful of rooms, the rooms themselves are newly renovated, large and spacious, some even have a loft. The rooms are tastefully decorated, air conditioned, and offer a spectacular view of the sea.

The staff was very courteous and helpful, and prepared a wonderful continental breafast every morning. Their friendly service, social to just the right degree, gave us the feeling we were staying in our own home. Down the path is a wonderful, affordable restaurant with great food, staff and a magnificent view of the mountains and sea.

L'Antico Episcopio is a place we would definitely go back to and highly recommend to anyone. Thank you very much for making our stay so pleasant!!!

George and Gloria from Canada

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gloria1965_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scala
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zi'Ntonio
Hotel Zi'Ntonio
#1 of 2 in Scala
215 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
578 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bonadies
Hotel Bonadies
#14 of 21 in Ravello
393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Pascal
Palazzo Pascal
#2 of 12 in Scala
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Antico Episcopio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Antico Episcopio

Property: L'Antico Episcopio
Address: Via San Filippo Neri 10, 84010 Scala, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Scala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Scala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — L'Antico Episcopio 1.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The breakfast room & THE OLD EPISCOPIC is located in the heart of the medieval village of Pontoon in the town of Scala, and 1.5 km from Ravello. Nestled on the ridge overlooking AMALFI ATRANI to the west and east. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your L'Antico Episcopio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Antico Episcopio Scala, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing