We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience, wonderful host...”
Review of Palazzo Verone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palazzo Verone
Ranked #4 of 12 Scala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I cannot begin to thank Michele enough for his warm, genuine hospitality. Palazzo Verone is truly a wonderful place!

Unfortunately I became VERY ill on my trip from Rome to Amalfi. By the time I reached Palazzo Verone I was running a very high fever and very sick. Michele went above and beyond to make me as comfortable as possible. Upon arrival he immediately made me lemonade from his special Amalfi lemons, handed me Vicks Vapor Rub, and offered to run to the pharmacy to get me anything I needed.

Over the course of the next few days Michele continued to look after me and even called his doctor for a house call to come and see me. He really went out of his way to make sure I was ok. Also, while I was sick in bed he played tour guide to my boyfriend showing him all the lovely things Ravello and Pontone have to offer. This made me genuinely happy as my boyfriend otherwise would have been sitting, twiddling his thumbs waiting for me to get better. He showed my boyfriend a wonderful time, taking him to a local party and to the Ravello music festival. My boyfriend is still singing Michele's "Pontone song".

Overall we spent 3 weeks in Italy. Our time at Palazzo Verone was an absolute highlight (even being sick). I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel. We plan on going back very soon to visit Michele.

Room Tip: Both rooms are lovely. The whole property is just perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 181 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

Palazzo Verone is in one of the most idyllic locations in the world - stunning views over the Amalfi Coast in a quiet piece of paradise.
The rooms are light, breezy and very comfortable, equipped with all you need for your holiday.
Breakfast is a fresh and tasty selection of fruit, home made preserves, tea and coffee all served by the terrific host Michele.
For any activities, restaurant recommendations and any other tips Michele is a wealth of information and will point you in the right direction.
We had a beautiful stay and would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skoskela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Great B&B. The Palazzo is beautiful. There are original fresco's on the ceiling and the view from the house towards the sea is breathtaking. From the B&B you can take a walk (1000 steps down) to Amalfi.
Michele, the owner of the B&B is very friendly and makes you feel at home. He is a musician and we had the honour to be invited for a party at his house. This was fantastic. There were several very good musicians performing. It was great to be part of this happening.
We realy enjoyed our stay at this B&B and we will definately come back one day.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

When we arrived at Pontone, Michele, the owner of the wonderful Palazzo Verone, was there to take care of our parking and took us up the steps to this amazing place. We were welcomed with freshly made limejuice and a thorough explanation of the history of his family home. This completely renovated old mansion is overlooking the Amalfi coast. A breathtaking view from the main room and two bedrooms. Michele is the perfect host and entertainer. Imagine waking up and having breakfast with live guitar music....He makes you feel at home immediatey and gives you all details and tips to complete your stay at Amalfi. We enjoyed the extreme good service, the hygene of the rooms, and the musical entertainment.
The 1000 steps foodpath down to Amalfi starts from here. We found it the place to be to discover all the amazing historical places around the coastal area!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ineke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

The view from Palazzo Verone is one of breathtaking beauty - so high up, on the level of the horizon, the whole vast openness of the sea and the mountains around with the terraced lemon plantations are simply magical. Peaceful and quiet, inspiring and exhilarating ! Never mind the 1000 stairs up or down - they just help you even more to get into that special mood of exploring and discovery. Lovely rooms, clean and with all that you need. Perfect breakfast in the beautiful salon, perfect hospitality and tips from Michele. A place one will certainly want to return to!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We were recommended to go here by our B&B hosts in Venice. They say it was a very romantic place and indeed it is as we got engaged here. This is a very special place to stay in the Amalfi coast. Lovely view to the coast. Rooms were massive. Host was excellent always gave us good recommendations. He invited us to concerts as he is a musician. It is highly recommended. Just know you have to be fit or willing to be fit, as there is lots of walking and steps to get to places around here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malaky_shish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed there 3 days in August. Michele, the owner, has been incredibly nice at welcoming us with fresh lemonade, spending time showing us where to go and what to do.
Rooms were clean and nicely decorated, location is convenient, situated in the middle of a small village attached to Scala (approx. 200 steps to reach the place though), with a beautiful view over the valley. A very nice and relaxing experience

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Paris_Frenchies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scala hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zi'Ntonio
Hotel Zi'Ntonio
#1 of 2 in Scala
235 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Margherita Villa Giuseppina
0.9 mi away
Il Pinguino B&B
Il Pinguino B&B
#1 of 12 in Scala
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Sant'Alfonso Apartments
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Pascal
Palazzo Pascal
#2 of 12 in Scala
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Falcone B&B
Casa Falcone B&B
#5 of 12 in Scala
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Verone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Verone

Address: Via Casa Verrone 4 | Pontone di Scala, 84010 Scala, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Scala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Scala
Price Range: $121 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Verone is a friendly and affordable B&B, suitable for families on their vacation, for a couple or more days in a trekking stay, for a romantic gateway or for your unforgettable honeymoon. As you will notice in our guests'pics, our aim is to let you feel at home, welcomed and treated with kindness and professionality. If you want to travel and love the Amalfi Coast, deeply feeling the atmosphere rich in nature and history, check for our rates or special offers, that is all you need. History The fame of Verone and the miraculous story "Palazzo Verone" is an historical mansion of medieval origin and still preserve evidence of its glorious past, several paintings of the eighteenth century (mentioned in TCI) can be seen on walls and celings. The building in ancient times was owned by Mr. Verone, influential and well known family of Pontone's village. The Verones were in struggling however with another noble family of the place, the D'Afflittos, owners of the ancient basilica of S.Eustace Petite that still can be seen nowadays. An old legend came up to us telling that in1618, Mr.Giovanni Domenico Verone and his wife were rescue somehow from death. This miracle is depicted in the frescoes ovals that still are preserved (they show some thiefs chained up and others souls in Purgatory holding bones in their hands) and it seems that the history is that the family have been saved from the assault of some thiefs thanks to the intercession, prayer request, of the souls in Purgatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palazzo Verone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Verone Scala, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing