We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good experience”
Review of Hotel de la Ville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de la Ville
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Avellino
Certificate of Excellence
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A good experience”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel in Avellino (the previous time was at least 4-5 years ago). The hotel is clean and tasteful. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a wide assortment of dishes - fruit, various kinds of croissants and pastries, a selection of cheese and salami, etc. My room was simple, but neat and clean, and the selection of channels on the TV was fine. I was able to walk (with local friends) from the hotel to the main shopping street in Avellino in about 10 minutes - so though there is nothing much visible around the hotel, all you need to do is walk 10 minutes.
The staff at the front desk as well as those at breakfast and the bar were always attentive and helpful.

My only complaint is that the heating in the room (in December) left my throat dry and parched. If you go to the hotel during the winter months, you might ask the hotel if they can help address this in some way.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VSSUBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    85
    30
    6
    7
See reviews for
35
39
14
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tewksbury, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed at this property for 3 weeks. We had family nearby. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. The owners had suggested a private tour guide that was very knowledgeable. The service was great. The buffet breakfast had a wide selection. The room was spacious as well as the bathroom with a large shower. The decor in the dining room and lounge was lovely. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hotel de la ville for 4 days in September.It is a beautiful hotel situated amongst the mountains of Avellino.The hotel staff was very helpful and very polite.Very modern and clean.There were many choises of pastries ,paninies,ham cheese and even poached eggs continental breakfast .Seems to be great Hotel to host comferences or weddings.

Room Tip: choose a room on higher floors for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronnyrosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We booked this hotel last minute (within 1 hour of arriving) as the previous hotel we were staying in was below standard. This was a complete contrast with the receptionist personally showing us to our rooms which were spotlessly clean and very large (with a separate sitting room in each one). All the staff were very helpful and extremely polite throughout our three night stay. We found the breakfast to be average but perfectly adequate. The garden area is beautiful, very well kept with a lovely heart shaped swimming pool.

The hotel is in a perfect location to the busy town of Avellino and within easy walking distance (10 minutes). It is also a good location to drive into the mountains and visit some of the lovely towns in the area. I would highly recommend the Hotel de la Ville as a great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

A modern , well kept hotel not too near the center of town. We understand we could have walked to the center, but did not as we had relatives to drive us.
The suite was clean, nicely decorated with a good bathroom. Be aware that there is a step in the bathroom going to the toilet. The bed was comfortable, with the exception of the pillows, which I found too hard.
An excellent breakfast was served in a beautiful restaurant area.
Their outdoor eating area for lunch and dinner is magnificent with veiled patio overlooking a sparkling, heart-shaped pool and garden. Their pasta was excellent, other food not so good. But, their melons were invariably sweet and delicious.
We enjoyed the staff who were friendly and went out of their way to help us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenA60956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, WA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

What a beautiful entrance and accommodations. We had a corner room overlooking the pool
area and the town. Everyone was so helpful. Breakfast was delicious and there were so many
choices. We felt we had the place to ourselves. A short walk to the downtown shops and
restaurants and old town.

Room Tip: great location for this small town. It was an easy walk to the restaurants and old town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickiOakHarbor_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We spent last 4 nights in Italy at this hotel. I’ve been many times in Avellino before and passed by the hotel, but never went inside. I booked the hotel through Expedia as the price was very affordable.
We were pleased by the size of the rooms and bathroom amenities. This was not a busy time and only few rooms were occupied. The service was very fast and efficient. We found dinner items and drinks to be a bit overpriced. However the breakfast was very delicious and the waiter was very attentive and pleasant. My boyfriend drinks only American coffee and this waiter made sure that the coffee was brewed fresh every morning. All the premises were clean and neat. The only complaint we had was the noise coming from outside. As some other guests pointed out, you can hear dogs barking during the night or early morning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Globalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avellino
0.9 mi away
Viva Hotel
Viva Hotel
#2 of 3 in Avellino
182 reviews
1.6 mi away
Virginia Palace Hotel
Virginia Palace Hotel
#1 of 4 in Mercogliano
291 reviews
3.0 mi away
Tenuta Ippocrate
Tenuta Ippocrate
#1 of 1 in Montefredane
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Montevergine
Royal Hotel Montevergine
#1 of 1 in Ospedaletto d'Alpinolo
566 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Irpinia
Grand Hotel Irpinia
#3 of 4 in Mercogliano
127 reviews
4.1 mi away
Bel Sito Hotel
Bel Sito Hotel
#1 of 1 in Manocalzati
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Ville

Property: Hotel de la Ville
Address: Via Giovanni Palatucci 20, 83100 Avellino, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Avellino > Avellino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Avellino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de la Ville 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel de la Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing