We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marcello!!!”
Review of Bar Antares

Bar Antares
Ranked #9 of 24 Restaurants in Minori
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Marcello!!!”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We were passing through in the morning without any intention to eat in Bar Antares. However we were spotted by Marcello who made us to stop back there for a meal in the evening just by the small chat and old school gentleman manners. Amazing and rare :)))) Food was very good, especially huge portion of squid/sea food. Again, than you Marcello for unforgettable welcome and looking after us.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Magda_lena198029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    100
    30
    11
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Service with a smile! :)”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We arrived in Minori after a long journey and while looking for our hotel we saw the friendly face of Marcello at bar Antares. He was very helpful and friendly and gave us directions to our hotel. We were back there the next day for dinner and it became a regular favourite of ours during our holiday with a superb location right opposite the beach. We stopped here for coffee, lunches and dinner as well and all were good value. We enjoyed the mixed seafood one evening with a bottle of house white from Ravello, very nice. We enjoyed every visit and were treated like friends by the waiter Marcello, would recommend.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LizPol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
248 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Breakfast fine, lunch disappointing”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Our coffee and croissant for breakfast was good, so we went back for lunch. Our salads looked and tasted very dreary, one pizza was ok, but the other was underdone. Perhaps we made the wrong choices, but we did not enjoy the lunch food.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank chapyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“super place”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

we loved the short man with mustaches very funny and we loved the food we have eaten shell fisch very tasty

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ciccillo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
251 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,153 helpful votes
“I guess you pay for the view”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Hi,

Had lunch here in Late September after walking to Minori from Maiori and then walking all over Minori throughout the morning. This restaurant-bar combo is located in a little plaza. The plaza is right along the main Amalfi Coast highway and just across this 2 lane road is a promenade and then the beach. This puts this restaurant in a prime tourist area.

It has some indoor seating but most people who are eating choose to sit outdoors under large square umbrellas that are placed edge to edge making for a nice cool area underneath. Usually we don't choose restaurants in such "high tourist" areas but as we were quite hungry after walking from Maiori then traipsing all over Minori for the entire morning and were starting our trek back to Maiori we decided to chance it.

Well, I guess every now and again you have go against your standard approach to things and take another shot at something you've been avoiding. In this case, restaurants in prime tourist areas. In that sense, I guess it lived down to our low expectations. The service was fine up until bill paying time. It seems that only the manager (owner?) is allowed to deal with payments and he was no where to be found. Eventually a waiter went off to find the manager who came and took our credit card, only to disappear for another 5 to 10 minutes or more. Maybe he wanted his restaurant to look more popular by keeping tables filled longer.

The menu was as expected since we saw it outside before we sat down. The menu prices appeared to be only slightly inflated compared to the more off the beaten track establishments. So, we said 'what the heck' and gave it a try. As it turns out rather than inflating prices they deflated the quantities. I had some sort of grilled chicken and to be honest I have never in my life seen such a small piece of chicken. Maybe I misread the menu and it was really grilled sparrow. Well, when you factor in the portion sizes, the effective prices go from slightly higher, to significantly higher. I wanted lunch, not a snack.

The food was so so. I mean it was cooked OK and looked fine but it definitely had a "I don't give a darn" feel to it. Very plain, simple, small and bland. Maybe it's like this all the time as they know they'll get plenty of tourist business no matter what they serve and the repeat business is not expected or sought. Or, maybe as it was the last day of September and September is the end of the tourist season they'd just had enough and couldn't wait to change to their off season endeavors. Either way it was not up to par. But the view was nice and watching people come and go along the highway and through the plaza was nice to watch.

Dan

PS: If you found this information useful in your decision making process, you gleaned information you may not otherwise have discovered, or you just enjoyed reading it and appreciate the time I put into writing it, please give me a "helpful" vote. If you'd like to ask me questions about this restaurant or area contact me through danhartfordphoto.com

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Califdan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Antares also viewed

 

Been to Bar Antares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing