We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not a bad hotel but extremely misleading!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Caporal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Caporal
Ranked #9 of 9 Minori B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not a bad hotel but extremely misleading!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

I was very disappointed in this place before I even got here. I booked through the venere website, which lists a number of amenities one of them being a shuttle from the airport or railway station. I called several times to ask about this service without answer (so much for 24h reception....) It is the local SITA bus (1 hour journeynfrom Salerno), not a private shuttle as advertised. There is also no laundry, it refers to laundromat down the street.
By all means it was a lovely hotel, family run. Rooms equiped with heating, tv, towels and hairdryer. Pillows very uncomfortable ( and for someone with back and neck problems isnt the best) showers are TINY! Also sound travels in the building, early mornings expect to hear the grandkids playing in the lounge.

If your expectations are tru to what the hotel is, this place is great! But for me, having seen all the amenities most of which are false and misleading was very disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaitlinBailey190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    20
    12
    6
    16
See reviews for
17
26
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Every person that I had the pleasure of dealing with was helpful and informative. The hotel is a short walk to the coast, restaurants and bus stop. The breakfast was a typical for the area. My room was well appointed and very clean. The hotel claims to have wifi but it's only in the lobby. I would recommend Hotel Caporal to anyone traveling to Minori.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura_Hand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, Europe
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Very well located, Very Clean and Helpful Staff. Me and my girlfriend went in February and We loved it. I suggest that you don't rent a car as it will end up being more expensive that using the public transport and more stressful aswell as there aren't many places where you can park. But the Hotel was great.

Room Tip: I had a room over looking the front of the hotel and it was really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clyde A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
79 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed here in Feb 2013 and were very happy with the hotel. It is close to the beach, shops, cafe's etc. There are good walking trails all around in the lovely countryside. The room was spacious and comfortable and had a balcony with mountain views. The staff were very kind and friendly and even gave us a bottle of wine as it was my boyfriends birthday! It is a bit isolated in terms of transport, a car is a must and parking is a big problem all around this region. With a car there are so many interesting places to visit, but traffic and dangerous winding roads are a hazard. The hotel is not far from the main attractions and the best are : Vesuvius, Solfatara, Herculaneum, Pompeii, and Cumae.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fjane84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed at this hotel very recently. Typical Italian with very pleasant and helpful hoists. Our room was very large with a balcony to the rear and spacious ensuite shower room. Continental breakfast was more than adequate. Handy for sita bus to Amalfi and Positano - get the ferry from Amalfi to Capri - not to be missed. Plenty of places to eat a short stroll from hotel. Good value.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LounikYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Hotel Caporal is a simple, basic hotel offering B&B. We were on a half-board basis, so Caporal had arranged for us to have our evening meals at a super local restaurant, a' Ricetta (see seperate review). Caporal offers a good continental breakfast in the spacious ground floor lounge or on the adjacent street-front terrace. The rooms are large, cool in summer with heating/air conditioning for use when required. Our bathroom was vast, with freshly supplied towels every day.

The hotel is 30 yards from the sea-front and 50 in the other direction to the Minori Roman Villa and the SITA bus stops. Around the corner (20 yards) is the main square with its cafes and bars. A few more yards is the Cathedral. The footpath and steps up to Ravello start across the road from Caporal.

Caporal has been in the same family since 1890. They care for their guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyIOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minori
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Lucia
Hotel Santa Lucia
#1 of 7 in Minori
4.5 of 5 stars 476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 7 Bello
Hotel 7 Bello
#4 of 7 in Minori
4.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Romana Hotel
Villa Romana Hotel
#2 of 7 in Minori
4.0 of 5 stars 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#7 of 7 in Minori
3.0 of 5 stars 356 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Vingius
Palazzo Vingius
#3 of 7 in Minori
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maison Raphael
Hotel Maison Raphael
#5 of 7 in Minori
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caporal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caporal

Property: Hotel Caporal
Address: Via Strada Nuova 20, 84010 Minori, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Minori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Minori
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caporal 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Caporal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caporal Minori, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing