We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad hotel but extremely misleading!!”
Review of Hotel Caporal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Caporal
Ranked #9 of 9 Minori B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I was very disappointed in this place before I even got here. I booked through the venere website, which lists a number of amenities one of them being a shuttle from the airport or railway station. I called several times to ask about this service without answer (so much for 24h reception....) It is the local SITA bus (1 hour journeynfrom Salerno), not a private shuttle as advertised. There is also no laundry, it refers to laundromat down the street.
By all means it was a lovely hotel, family run. Rooms equiped with heating, tv, towels and hairdryer. Pillows very uncomfortable ( and for someone with back and neck problems isnt the best) showers are TINY! Also sound travels in the building, early mornings expect to hear the grandkids playing in the lounge.

If your expectations are tru to what the hotel is, this place is great! But for me, having seen all the amenities most of which are false and misleading was very disappointing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaitlinBailey190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 92 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

Every person that I had the pleasure of dealing with was helpful and informative. The hotel is a short walk to the coast, restaurants and bus stop. The breakfast was a typical for the area. My room was well appointed and very clean. The hotel claims to have wifi but it's only in the lobby. I would recommend Hotel Caporal to anyone traveling to Minori.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura_Hand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Very well located, Very Clean and Helpful Staff. Me and my girlfriend went in February and We loved it. I suggest that you don't rent a car as it will end up being more expensive that using the public transport and more stressful aswell as there aren't many places where you can park. But the Hotel was great.

Room Tip: I had a room over looking the front of the hotel and it was really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clyde A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed here in Feb 2013 and were very happy with the hotel. It is close to the beach, shops, cafe's etc. There are good walking trails all around in the lovely countryside. The room was spacious and comfortable and had a balcony with mountain views. The staff were very kind and friendly and even gave us a bottle of wine as it was my boyfriends birthday! It is a bit isolated in terms of transport, a car is a must and parking is a big problem all around this region. With a car there are so many interesting places to visit, but traffic and dangerous winding roads are a hazard. The hotel is not far from the main attractions and the best are : Vesuvius, Solfatara, Herculaneum, Pompeii, and Cumae.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fjane84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed at this hotel very recently. Typical Italian with very pleasant and helpful hoists. Our room was very large with a balcony to the rear and spacious ensuite shower room. Continental breakfast was more than adequate. Handy for sita bus to Amalfi and Positano - get the ferry from Amalfi to Capri - not to be missed. Plenty of places to eat a short stroll from hotel. Good value.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LounikYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Hotel Caporal is a simple, basic hotel offering B&B. We were on a half-board basis, so Caporal had arranged for us to have our evening meals at a super local restaurant, a' Ricetta (see seperate review). Caporal offers a good continental breakfast in the spacious ground floor lounge or on the adjacent street-front terrace. The rooms are large, cool in summer with heating/air conditioning for use when required. Our bathroom was vast, with freshly supplied towels every day.

The hotel is 30 yards from the sea-front and 50 in the other direction to the Minori Roman Villa and the SITA bus stops. Around the corner (20 yards) is the main square with its cafes and bars. A few more yards is the Cathedral. The footpath and steps up to Ravello start across the road from Caporal.

Caporal has been in the same family since 1890. They care for their guests.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyIOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnDKaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minori hotels
169.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Lucia
Hotel Santa Lucia
#1 of 7 in Minori
561 reviews
162.5 mi away
Hotel 7 Bello
Hotel 7 Bello
#4 of 7 in Minori
323 reviews
169.1 mi away
Villa Romana Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
169.1 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#7 of 7 in Minori
439 reviews
169.2 mi away
Palazzo Vingius
Palazzo Vingius
#3 of 7 in Minori
236 reviews
169.1 mi away
Hotel Maison Raphael
Hotel Maison Raphael
#5 of 7 in Minori
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caporal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caporal

Address: Via Strada Nuova 20, 84010 Minori, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Minori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Minori
Price Range: $80 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caporal 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Caporal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caporal Minori, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing