We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Da Gigino

Da Gigino
Ranked #5 of 35 Restaurants in Agerola
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed in the Il Principe resort just up the road from this and we stayed a week on the Amalfi Coast. This was the best restaurant we ate in....nothing special to look at but the waitress (daughter of the chef) was superb and couldnt be more helpful and the food was sublime! Try the lemon veal and finish off the meal with the home made lemoncillo....yes I like lemon but they excel in this!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paulofessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    110
    16
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“A nice family run place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

San Lazarro is a small town in the hills of Agerola, and you don't go there expecting fine dining experiences. However, if what you do fancy is a decent, local trattoria serving good Italian food, then you will get it at Gigino's.

Not the most inspired menus but the food is of a good quality and excellent value. Pizzas in particular are huge for the price you'll pay.

The service was also very good - the restaurant managed to deal with a large crowd of people, few of whom had any Italian, and get everything right twice in the space of a week.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sionel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Family run and hospitable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Very nice staff and good hearty food. Mussels and the fried potatoes were very good.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janet1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stelladelsud063, Direttore at Da Gigino, responded to this review, September 24, 2015
Dear Guest
thank you kind review.
We hope to have in our restaurant in the nearest future.
Best regards
Gigino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn
Level Contributor
72 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent food at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Being a little bit of the beaten track and away from the amalfi coast, the prices here are very reasonable and the food is of excellent quality.
One of our favourite restaurants during our 7 day stay in Amalfi region.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Floppy_chip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stelladelsud063, Proprietario at Da Gigino, responded to this review, September 4, 2015
Thank you. We are waiting again in Agerola
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Just Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

First, I must admit, I actually went here in April 2010. I never found it on Trip Advisor until now to give my review!

Gigino's was just wonderful. Delicious, home-style food and the house wine is GREAT! I was so surprised the first time we ordered and they just filled up a bottle in the back and brought it out! My husband and I ate there twice and although they didn't speak a word of english, we managed just fine. I can't recommend this restaurant enough. The cost was extremely reasonable as well!

  • Visited November 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lilion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stelladelsud063, Proprietario at Da Gigino, responded to this review, September 4, 2015
Dear Guest
thank you.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Gigino also viewed

Agerola, Province of Naples
Agerola, Province of Naples
 
Agerola, Province of Naples
Agerola, Province of Naples
 
Agerola, Province of Naples
Agerola, Province of Naples
 

Been to Da Gigino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing