We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gentile

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Gentile to your Saves list
Hotel Gentile
Square Paolo Capasso,50, 80051 Agerola, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Agerola
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Moved here from Naples to Amalfi in order to walk the Path of the Gods and other local sights, hotel is very basic but that just adds to the charm. Friendly staff, who appear to either be related or just all live nearby! Hard to distinguish. The place has a feel to it like staying with relatives. The rooms are comfortable but very basic in decoration and certainly no mod cons.

Best thing was the food. We all (20 of us) ate here each night and the food was tremendous, home cooked and very tasty...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mintmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    18
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
portland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We did not stay here but did have a wonderful homemade dinner our second night. The son and mother took good care of us. He speaks good English. Also, they saved us. We left our bag in the square and did not remember until an hour later. When we returned they had found it and kept it for us. Very gracious people.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neswstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The warmth and hospitality we experienced exceeded all expectations!
What an absolute gem. Comfortable, clean accommodation. Italian home-cooking at it's best. Perfectly situated for hiking the Amalfi coast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our family staid 3 nights in the Albergo Gentile as part of a walking holiday booked through a travel agency. We were half board and staid 3 days around 15/08 which is a big festival in Italy. Staying at the Albergo Gentile is like stepping back in time, somewhere around 1950's in Italy. The decoration of the rooms has probably not changed much since then but the bathrooms are up to modern standard. It is very clean and family run, so there is a special feeling about it. The half board option was an excellent surprise, with honest and plentiful good family food for the set dinner and 4 courses dinner the Italian way, starter (always including excellent bruschetta), primo piatti (homemade pasta), secundo piatti and dessert! The drinks are relatively cheap and there is a good choice. Our party of 5 was extremely hungry after the day of walk and we never left the table hungry anymore, quite the opposite. We add the additional benefit of being part of the local festivities as the Albergo is on the church square. We had a free concert of local music one night, a small firework another night. On 15/08 we had a problem as our program included taking coaches to and from the start/end points of the walk. Mario was extremely helpful, checking for us the coaches times and when we saw that there was none (!) he phoned a local taxi and help us to book our return trip for a very reasonable price. The albergo is otherwise very well placed for the walks but not at all on the seaside (30 to 40 min bus to the sea!) but there is a cheap daily shuttle to and from it.
If you want a fashionable place, the Albergo Gentile is not for you but if you want a simple, authentic place, with a family feeling you should definitively give it a go

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylfla01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Thank you to Mario and his father and uncle for a great holiday. The hotel is clean and comfortable and set in a lovely little village, away from the glitz of Amalfi and Positano.

The food was brilliant, and my strange diet was well catered for.

The home-grown wine was brilliant.

A truly great Italian experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Like others we stayed as part of a walking holiday for 4 nights. The hotel is really nice. Set on the town square which was always busy with people. Our room overlooked the square and sitting out on the balcony in the evening watching local life go by was so relaxing. Food was good, breakfasts simple but filling, dinners featured local produce cooked excellently, we looked forward to each course. Walking was good straight from the hotel door, but to really explore get the Agarola hiking guide book from the hotel or information shop opposite, it features brilliant maps and descriptions in English. Mario has been mentioned in other reviews, he's very good, and nothing is to much trouble for him. Overall great hotel, great location, we'd return anytime.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 12RPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Like many other reviewers we too stayed at this family-run hotel for 4 nights as part of a self-guided walking holiday organised through Walks Worldwide. On our arrival there was only my wife and I and 2 other guests, who were leaving the next morning. For the next 2 nights my wife and I were the only guests which felt a little odd but strangely amusing, especially at dinner in the evening when the Italian "Deal or No Deal" was on the tv in the dining room, watched avidly by the family. For our last night we were joined by a large group of walkers and other guests which boosted the atmosphere of the hotel and the staff even donned waiter/waitress style uniforms. Mario, who is the only English speaker in the family was very helpful and I see he has been mentioned positively in other reviews as well.
The hotel really grew on us and it is ideally suited for a number of fantastic walks in the area, including the "Path of The Gods" and "The Canyon of Furore". Access to Amalfi is easy by bus and there are ferries from there or Positano for Capri. Doesn't seem to be much in Agerola itself but after a days walking you are quite happy to settle into the hotel for dinner. Food is plentiful if not particularly exciting and breakfast is "continental" with delicious oranges and kiwi fruits which we usually took with us on our walks.
Overall we enjoyed our stay at this hotel, after initial reservations it turned out to be just perfect for our needs.

Room Tip: Front rooms with view over the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SonoftheDesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agerola
1.5 mi away
Beata Solitudo
Beata Solitudo
#3 of 6 in Agerola
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rabbit
Rabbit
#2 of 6 in Agerola
4.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel  Due Torri
Hotel Due Torri
#1 of 6 in Agerola
4.5 of 5 stars 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holidays Fico D'India
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bacco
Hotel Bacco
#4 of 5 in Furore
4.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Rocce
Hotel Le Rocce
#4 of 6 in Agerola
4.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gentile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gentile

Property: Hotel Gentile
Address: Square Paolo Capasso,50, 80051 Agerola, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Agerola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Agerola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers comfortable and hospitable rooms;with all the comforts needed to spend a peaceful and relaxing holiday. They are all very bright thanks to large windows, overlooking the garden (annex building) or the town's main square. beginning of the path of the gods.Choose your room type depending on what type of holiday you are looking for and how many people you are traveling with . For families or groups, we also have family rooms with 3 or more beds. All the comforts and facilities for relaxation of families traveling with children. All wooden finishing and furniture transmit to our customers our area's warmth and friendliness. Some rooms are reserved for smokers to allow everyone to maintain their habits.Our large bathrooms with jacuzzi are equipped with a hairdryer and toiletries for maximum wellness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Gentile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing