We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Gentile
Nearby Hotels
$164
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Beata Solitudo(Agerola)(Great Value!)
$102
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$84
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Pendola(Agerola)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mamaral(Agerola)(Great Value!)
$87
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rabbit(Agerola)(Great Value!)
$95
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valle degli Dei(Agerola)(Great Value!)
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveler rating
6
27
19
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
27
19
5
4
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 61 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Like others we stayed as part of a walking holiday for 4 nights. The hotel is really nice. Set on the town square which was always busy with people. Our room overlooked the square and sitting out on the balcony in the evening watching local life go by was so relaxing. Food was good, breakfasts simple but filling, dinners featured local produce cooked excellently, we looked forward to each course. Walking was good straight from the hotel door, but to really explore get the Agarola hiking guide book from the hotel or information shop opposite, it features brilliant maps and descriptions in English. Mario has been mentioned in other reviews, he's very good, and nothing is to much trouble for him. Overall great hotel, great location, we'd return anytime.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank 12RPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Like many other reviewers we too stayed at this family-run hotel for 4 nights as part of a self-guided walking holiday organised through Walks Worldwide. On our arrival there was only my wife and I and 2 other guests, who were leaving the next morning. For the next 2 nights my wife and I were the only guests which felt a little odd but strangely amusing, especially at dinner in the evening when the Italian "Deal or No Deal" was on the tv in the dining room, watched avidly by the family. For our last night we were joined by a large group of walkers and other guests which boosted the atmosphere of the hotel and the staff even donned waiter/waitress style uniforms. Mario, who is the only English speaker in the family was very helpful and I see he has been mentioned positively in other reviews as well.
The hotel really grew on us and it is ideally suited for a number of fantastic walks in the area, including the "Path of The Gods" and "The Canyon of Furore". Access to Amalfi is easy by bus and there are ferries from there or Positano for Capri. Doesn't seem to be much in Agerola itself but after a days walking you are quite happy to settle into the hotel for dinner. Food is plentiful if not particularly exciting and breakfast is "continental" with delicious oranges and kiwi fruits which we usually took with us on our walks.
Overall we enjoyed our stay at this hotel, after initial reservations it turned out to be just perfect for our needs.

Room Tip: Front rooms with view over the square.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SonoftheDesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Hotel Gentile as part of a self-guided walking tour of the area.
This is a traditional hotel where the whole family take care of the guests. We were well looked after. I have many food allergies and the breakfasts and dinners provided catered very well for my problems. They took the time to check what was suitable.
We had a large room with a sunny balcony overlooking the town square. It was a quiet location- we quite enjoyed having the church clock nearby.
This hotel is ideally suited to local walks and is close to bus connections to Amalfi and the coast.
Unfortunately the weather was mostly cold and wet whilst we were there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the square to get morning sunshine.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We spent four nights at Hotel Gentile on our "self-guided walking tour". Agerola is central to several key locations and a nice family town. Our travel package included breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was 'continental' and the same every morning--no meat or cheese. Dinners all had almost the same appetizer and fruit for dessert. The primi course was the best--very good pasta dishes. TV's in rooms minimal and wifi only in central office area. Rooms were basic but very clean and we stayed in the back through the grape arbor. The church bells made you very aware of the time.
That said, we liked Mario very much and the location on the central square was a great window on the local scene. The hotel was steps away from the "Path of the Gods", truly a lovely walking experience overlooking the coast although it was not a long path and if you do the 1700 steps into Positano at the end, good luck. The bus is an option to descend.
I think two or three nights would be a good length stay at Hotel Gentile.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Contessabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

A large group of us enjoyed our stay here.
We had rooms in the annexe at the rear - pretty basic but fine.
Breakfast offered little in the way of choice but was filling enough.
Evening meal (part of our package) was really good - simple, local food - delicious and plenty of it.
Staff friendly & quirky - good fun.
Bomerano is not a buzzing place - but the location is excellent for walks from the hotel, and there is a decent bus service (just watch the one-way return into town).
A truly family-run hotel.

Room Tip: The main hotel block in theory has better rooms. In the annexe - east facing rooms look out onto the hotel/gardens, and the top floor has a balcony.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NormES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews