We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveler rating
81
26
11
8
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
26
11
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsminute walkamalfi coasttownsvillagebalcony
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 128 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2015

Amazing views from this hotel, however, that's about it. I agree with some previous reviewers, the staff are not customer orientated....in the slightest! Not particularly welcoming, could not advise us re bus times, routes etc, in fact seemed put out that we even asked them the question! We stayed a few nights and on our last day they informed us of incorrect bus time to our next destination - as a result we missed the morning bus and would have had to wait hours for the next - we called a taxi for which we were quoted EUR150 - however the hotel staff member offered to give us a lift for the 'discounted' rate of EUR120 (!)

It seems this hotel is geared solely towards weddings - there were 2 taking place in the few days we were there - and are not bothered by any other 'incidental' guests who may be staying. Aside from weddings there seemed to be no other guests (and we stayed in peak season - August) at breakfast we were literally the only people in the vast restaurant....

Room - whilst it had a fantastic sea view - was basic. As for the food at breakfast - a joke - plastic cheese and packets of crackers. Seriously, this is Italy?! If you wanted a coffee you had to traipse upstairs to reception in search of a staff member and then feel you had put them to great inconvenience with your request.

Not recommended.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank ajej2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2014

If there is a hotel higher up on a cliff on the Amalfi Coast, I don't think I saw it! Amazing views of the coast in both directions and the sunsets were stunning. As a member of a tour group, I did not have any input into the choice of this hotel and, to be honest, I would have preferred a location closer to sea level. The daily bus rides up and down the mountain got to be very trying! However, the hotel manager and staff bent over backwards to make sure we all enjoyed our stay - we were the first North Americans they had ever had as guests! The rooms are comfortable, if a bit spartan by North American standards and there is no WiFi! We were taken to the village square (a 2 minute walk) for "free" WiFi, although encouraged to buy a drink from the local cafe. Breakfasts were monotonous - I would have given my right arm for scrambled eggs or peanut butter! But the dinners were fantastic. Given that we were eating much later than we were used to (and having to get up early for each day's hiking tour), the portion sizes were perfect; fresh caught fish, house-made pastas, and antipasto buffet most nights. Fresh fruit or gelato for dessert. They need to learn to make coffee "Americano", though! The bar area is not conducive for after-dinner drinks so it was awkward to meet with friends after dinner. This hotel hosts over 200 weddings a year. In the 5 nights we were there, there were two weddings, both ending in fireworks. When you need to sleep because you've been hiking all day, and will be hiking the next day, this was NOT a good thing.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea, but you want to be on the 2nd floor or higher.
  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank letsgoMissy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I spent a week at this hotel in September 2012. I will agree with previous experiences "The view is GREAT"....BUT the people are NOT. If you approached some one that works in the hotel, they expect you to step aside, NOT THEM. They are NOT customer oriented. They don't know when the buses run, and they dont care. (I wanted to ride a bus to an another village...They didn't know the time buses ran, and they didn't care if I ever found out)..They need a chef (NOT A COOK) All of the vegetables were drasticallu over cooked (Who likes brocolli or cauiliflower in sort of falling apart mash). There was no chest of drawers to place your undies, socks or anything you didn't hang up...for clothing you brought for a weeks stay...AGAIN the view is fantastic, BUT that is all I can say for the hotel...Other than the fact they mentioned they were supposed to have a swimming pool, (But didn't) and the fact they had spent 12 years updating the hotel...Seems a shame they couldn't have trained their people better for their customers.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the biggest balconey overlooking the water.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank bfgregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed today via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews