We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place, but it could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Agriturismo Luna d'Agerola
Ranked #7 of 38 Agerola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We did stay three nights and food was available only one of these, for the other days we have been told to try some of the restaurants in the village (which by the way was a good advise).
The rooms are nicely decorated and very clean. The place was packed, so a bit noisy. We could hear everything our neighbors were doing or saying, so much for privacy. The "sound effects" were particularly highlighted, by the otherwise very quite environment around the House. The owners were friendly enough and there is nothing to claim, though I would have expected a more
cosy family type of hospitality, same as I have experienced in many other B&B or Agritourist in Italy. The bus time schedule was outdated and we lost the only bus that was leaving at mid-morning, having to rearrange our day and were finally forced us to take our own car, which is not exactly relaxing giving the type of roads, which are incredible for the view but very, very narrow.
All over it was an acceptable stay, but I would try another place next time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Armando O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 160 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed recently and found the accommodation and facilities good as was the location. The room was clean comfortable and reasonably spacious although a second chair on the balcony would have been good. There was plenty of hot water which was good after a long days walking.
The accommodation was booked largely on the basis of the largely positive reviews regarding the food indicating that it was good Italian home cooking using fresh local produce. I regret to say that this was not our experience for most of the week. We found the cooking was unimaginative and often too
reliant on processed food.... not sure when I was last served tinned peas! I am sorry but this was not good Italian cooking and I was left wondering if there had been some changes in the kitchen given many of the positive reviews in the past. The food was adequate but not a highlight of the trip I am afraid. The walking is great though

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snowden39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed at Luna d'Agerola with Explore on a walking holiday. The family that run it are friendly and helpful. The Italian home cooking was fantastic and made me feel very at home. It was fresh, large portions and very varied. The families own wine as great and light and went down easy. The room was exceptionally clean. The room did not have any heating or air conditioning, but a small hairdryer that that explore did not mention. The farm has geese and a donkey, although the geese numbers declined towards the end of the week and they tasted great.

Room Tip: My room was on the ground floor and far away from the donkey. I was near the geese, but they did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freddie7790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

My first time at an agritourismo place, organised by EXPLORE as part of a walking holiday week in the hills around Amalfi. Run by a family, Joanna, Frederico and Valentino are excellent hosts and do all they can to make your stay there enjoyable. Despite not really understanding the concept, they managed to ensure that my vegan partner was well served throughout the week (my advice to vegans heading here is to ensure you bring supplementary items with you) and were very good at combining her own ingredients with the meals each day.

And on that subject, the food here was really rather good. On one specific day we had an arrabiata pasta course, foll0wed by a fantastic veal escalope with mushrooms and topped off with a superb hazelnut and chocolate torte for desert. With home-made wine at 5 Euro a bottle you can certainly have a great home cooked meal here.

The accommodation is of a high standard too, with our room absolutely spotless, containing one double and one single bed plus en-suite, and with a balcony looking out over to the sea. Water pressure can sometimes get the better of the shower if many people in the same block all shower at the same time, but otherwise there are no gripes whatsoever about this place.

In terms of location, San Lazzaro is set deep into Agerola so if hill walking is your thing, then you're good to go. However, if getting to Amalfi or Positano are on your "to do" list, then you may end up relying on the local bus service - good luck getting a timetable - so be prepared for an hour's journey . . . and the return buses late in the afternoon are packed to the roof.

If you've not done agritourismo before, do this one. It'll hook you.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor of the block to the sea-side are excellent, with great views from the bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sionel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

The family here is very hard-working and put a lot of effort into the "farmstay" side of their business. Rooms are immaculately clean. Breakfasts are hearty, although I was really disappointed to see processed, plastic wrapped cheese - kind of ruined the "country farmstay" image. If you go during off-season or shoulder months when weather is iffy, be aware this place is cold and damp. The heating system does not keep up with cold weather, and all of us in a hiking group of 15 were cold and wet a lot. Bring extra clothes/shoes, because your clothes will NOT dry out overnight. Avoid the rooms in the annex building in cool weather - they had NO heat, as opposed to anemic heat. You can walk to some coffee bars, restaurants and shops in San Lazzaro in 10 minutes - also catch the bus there to Amalfi and Sorrento.

Room Tip: Avoid the annex in cooler months - it is VERY cold, as opposed to merely chilly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I am sure this can be a very nice place during summer, spring and autumn. But I don't recommend You to go there in february or march. This time of the year it was a very cold hotel, we were the only guests and I don't know if the owners wanted us there at all...

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaManta80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Stayed as part of an organised tour over Xmas 2011. Arrived in the dark and was amazed when I woke to sunshine and a fabulous view if the sea from my balcony. Rooms were comfortable and spotlessly clean, however due to the time of year and a sudden drop in out side temperature very cold and the heating system did not always work. Breakfasts good with great coffee and homemade jams as well as usual bread, cheese, ham and sometimes homemade cakes!. Dinner was always good with great pasta dishes and salads. The family were very flexible in catering for vegetarians in the group. Great location for walking including the brilliant walk of the Gods to Positano.

Room Tip: If you go in winter take a hot water bottle and cosy nightwear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agerola hotels
1.4 mi away
Rabbit
Rabbit
#2 of 6 in Agerola
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Agriturismo Mare e Monti
0.2 mi away
MiraMare Bed&Breakfast
MiraMare Bed&Breakfast
#9 of 38 in Agerola
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Agriturismo La Baita
Agriturismo La Baita
#4 of 16 in Agerola
65 reviews
1.4 mi away
Agriturismo NonnoTobia
Agriturismo NonnoTobia
#11 of 38 in Agerola
179 reviews
1.6 mi away
Nido Verde
Nido Verde
#1 of 38 in Agerola
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Luna d'Agerola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Luna d'Agerola

Address: Via Radicosa 42 | San Lazzaro, 80051 Agerola, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Agerola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Agerola
Price Range: $70 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Agriturismo Luna d'Agerola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing