We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A room with a view of Paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Tirreno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Tirreno
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Parghelia
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A room with a view of Paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We travelled in mid-September and had a great stay at this hotel - with an ocean view room, beautiful grounds, friendly staff and a great breakfast who could complain?
The staff went out of their way to make you feel comfortable and provide you with information about the area and events. The hotel is in a convenient location with access to Tropea very easy (a 20 min walk) or a quick shuttle ride.
The pool area is a great place to relax and watch the sun set. The beach club, about a ten minute walk down the hill, is very nice with loungers and umbrella's all set up and ready to go on a great stretch of sandy beach. Water shoes would be a good bet for entering and leaving the ocean - the ocean floor itself has much larger rocks but the little ones wash up on the shore of the beach making it a trick to get in and out. FYI there is a restaurant on the beach but it might be a good idea to bring you own cooler bag.
Rooms - nice - comfortable - we had a full apartment so it was great having the use of a stovetop and full fridge to save on the cost of eating out all the time. There is a great grocery store just to the left of the hotel on the main road - the owners are so friendly and they offered free samples of local cuisine and even a glass of wine - a good way to break the ice would be to talk about the 1982 World Cup squad - the owner of the grocery store is a huge fan of Tardelli, Rossi, Zoff and crew!
You won't be disappointed with this hotel - all of the reviews are true - it is a clean, friendly and well maintained place - it isn't the waldorf but it should suit the needs of most. I think we were paying in the ballpark of 80 euros ($100+ Cdn per night)...and felt we got full value for our money.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the mountains are nice too and likely more peaceful - but there is nothing like sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    107
    13
    8
    1
See reviews for
143
194
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Hotel Residence Tirreno is situated closeby to both Tropea and Parghelia train stations and boasts stunning views across to Tropea town and Stromboli. An excellent shuttle bus service is provided by the hotel to collect guests from either station and also makes trips to and from Tropea and the beach. Our room was located on the 2nd floor and had a beautiful sea view.

The food served in the restaurant is delicious, we only ate out in Tropea on one of the four nights we stayed in this lovely hotel and this was to try a restaurant listed in Lonely Planet. However we could have happily eaten in the restaurant every night!

The pool area is immaculate and very well maintained by Daniele, the resident lifeguard. There is a very pleasant pool bar, which provides light lunches, snacks and drinks most of the day. It's also a very relaxing place to have a few drinks in the evening too. We found it to be a welcome escape from the busier and more touristy town of Tropea.

The staff at the Hotel Residence Tirreno are fabulous and couldn't have been more friendly and courteous during our stay. A real hidden gem of a hotel with a lot to offer!

Room Tip: Request a sea view - the views of Stromboli are breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay_123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at the Residence for the second time in consecutive years and totally recommend this very well run place.
It is family owned and it felt almost like home after a short time.
The entire staff is very nice and helpful, most of them speak English quite well.
A private part of the beach is just about 10 walking minutes away.
The rooms are fair sized and always clean, we had one with a cute balcony overlooking the Mediterranean sea. The mattresses are a bit firm for our taste.
The pool is kept very clean and has a bar area where you can order some snacks and a variety of drinks.
Breakfast buffet with local cheese, salami, ham, bacon, scrambled egg and sausages, fruit juice, coffee, cappuccino (tip: order a fresh one from the waiters) and much more.
Make reservation for the dinner, otherwise you might be disappointed by not getting a table.
The cuisine is simple Mediterranean taste with changing specials.
Parghelia has some very nice and affordable restaurants as well and we recommend to try the Gelati at Pepe's. The Hotel gets their ice cream from there and we assure you that the flavours basically will explode your mouth.
Tropea is not far and if you are good by foot you might take the challenge and walk there in less than an hour. The night life there is quite lovely and restaurants are a bit higher prices than in Parghelia but still affordable.
Have a nice trip!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

The hotel is situated with a beautiful view on Tropea and the Stromboli. Tropea is a 10min ride by car. The beach is a 10min walk or 2 min car ride. At the beach you can rent a boat for resonable prices.

The rooms are comfortable and clean. There is a safe and everything you need.

The pool is particularly nice. There is a pool bar where you can buy drinks and snacks and it's very nice to sit there in the evening.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eitsch723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

This hotel is not great. The only reason I am not giving it a terrible review is because the food at the hotel restaurant is fantastic- and the waitstaff is lovely and accommodating. The gentleman who maintains the pool is lovely as well and was very gracious to our group - and the pool is spotless. The drivers with the hotel car service were also great. Now for the negative: The room I was originally given was infested with mosquitoes. I know this because I moved rooms and I was no longer bitten extensively all over my legs. There was also a party of ants forming in my original room which also sent me fleeing after a sleepless night. And I received no follow up from management regarding my room issues despite the fact that we were a party of 11 and spending a lot of money at this hotel collectively. If I had, I would not be writing this review. Seriously, that's all it takes in the hospitality world. I get this is not a 5 star property but my original room looked out on a concrete slab (I'm not kidding). No landscaping whatsoever. The rooms by the pool - while at least looking out over the pool- are depressingly appointed and poorly lit resembling a dormitory from the 80s with fluorescent lighting. If you are a clean freak this is not the hotel for you. Bottom line: It may be a tolerable choice if you can forgive the lack of aesthetics and overall shabbiness of the rooms. The salmon farfalle at the hotel restaurant is incredible! But bring bug spray with you. And beware of hotels that require full payment upfront. There's a reason for that policy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank antoniakf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele P, Direttore generale at Hotel Tirreno, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel during your recent visit to Tropea and taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.
I would like to reply about some points of your review that you don't consider so terrible but they are from us that every day working for our Guests satisfaction.
With reference to the mosquitoes that unfortunately bit you in the outside terrace of our restaurant and in your room as well as you wrote, I would like to let you know that we monthly do a disinfection, not from our self but from a specialized company, in all our garden and inside as well: for sure we don’t expect to solve the problem at all but consider also that we can't do nothing anymore and like us, all the other summer resort worldwide that normally having this problem due the humid weather of some period of the year.
Also, you wrote that despite the fact that you were a party of 11 people you didn't get any follow up from the management: and what do you think about your changing room? For sure our reception staff is not able to assign a Triple room in front of a Single room rate. Then the consideration about the room close to the pool: I would like to remember you that it's your idea and for sure we don't expect that every single Guest likes our room furniture also if they are completely renovated in the 2009: every single person has their own style about everything and making an own idea about everything.
Last thing but really important to be clear first to you then also to other people looking for a stay with us: we do not require any payment in advance as you wrote; if you booked our Hotel with a US travel agency that is not partner of us, and they require the full pre payment from you, it's absolutely wrong to say that we require payment upfront. In fact, as clearly stated in our policies, payment in our Hotel is at check out, then every single travel agency can apply different policies.



Kind regards

Dr.Michele Piccolo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

I left the hotel for some weeks ago and I am still thinking about the courtesy of the staff, the exquisite food, the excellent service and the elegant and clean environment which all contributed to make my stay just perfect. I had one last minute request (I wanted to celebrate my dad’s birthday) and the staff was very helpful in organizing a little surprise for him, always with a smile and a professional attitude. Even before arriving in Parghelia I was surprised by the fact I always received a prompt reply to my e-mails and I felt welcome and at home from the very beginning of my stay.
Very convenient also the coach service the hotel offers its guests to reach the nearby town of Tropea if you want to experience some evening “action”. Should you instead prefer to spend a relaxing evening with a drink or two, I think the bar in the pool area is the perfect choice.
If you would like to alternate lazy days on the beach with more active ones, please talk to the reception where you will be informed about several exciting excursions and where you will be helped to book the tickets.
If you are looking for a quiet vacation surrounded by the astonishing nature of Calabria, spoiled by superb food and service, well I strongly recommend Hotel Tirreno. Should you have any particular wish for your stay, I am sure they will help you to find the right solution.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ele246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We went to Tirreno for a wedding and there was about 24 of us from Canada & the USA. It's not a 5 star but it is very clean, neat, and the surroundings are beautiful. Let me start by saying they did a beautiful job with the wedding. The ceremony was on the roof top which was stunning. Then the cocktails and apps where by the pool which was also stunning. The dinner was done in another spot of the hotel which was done up like fine dining restaurant. The servers were professional and prompt. The food was fantastic like usual. Needless to say, the wedding was one to remember. Now the rest of our days there, the food was amazing there as we opted for the full board with breakfast and dinner included. Breakfast is typical but fresh and delicious. We all stayed for about 3 -4 nights and the food at dinner was always delicious! The pool is very nice with a beautiful view of Tropea. Their private beach is very nice and there is a amazing restaurant there with homemade pasta that was out of this world. Food in the south is very cheap...and amazing! You will not go hungry that's for sure. They have a free shuttle into Tropea which we used often and was very usuful. The wedding planner Miguel was so nice, helpful and accomodating. So if you are planning on visiting Tropea, instead of spending $$$$ you can stay 5 mins away for half the price. And trust me, it will be the same accomodations but wonderful service from Miguel and his family that run the resort. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Need2Explore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parghelia
3.3 mi away
BV Borgo del Principe
BV Borgo del Principe
#1 of 11 in Zambrone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Rocca Della Sena
Hotel Rocca Della Sena
#2 of 21 in Tropea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Residence
Hotel Piccolo Residence
#6 of 13 in Parghelia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel  La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#1 of 19 in Capo Vaticano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
4.8 mi away
Villaggio Club Baia del Sole
1.6 mi away
LABRANDA Rocca Nettuno Tropea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tirreno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tirreno

Property: Hotel Tirreno
Address: Contrada Cervo Snc, 89861 Parghelia, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Parghelia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Parghelia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Parghelia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Parghelia
#2 Family Hotel in Parghelia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tirreno 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is situated in the district of Parghelia, just 1 km from Tropea and with a splendid view of the Tyrrhenian coast and the Aeolian Islands (Stromboli Vulcano). The resort consists of Hotel Rooms and Suites, both surrounded by voluptuous greenery. Some of the services offered: swimming pool with baby area and Jacuzzi area, private beach with umbrellas and sun beds, shuttle service to/from the private beach and Tropea city center, inside car parking, transfer from the railway stations of Tropea and Tropea and from Tropea harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tirreno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Tirreno Hotel
Residence Tirreno Parghelia
Hotel Tirreno Italy/Calabria - Parghelia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing